We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay...year after year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay...year after year.”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We've been coming to the Montreal Inn for over 35 years. One thing I can say, is that it is always enjoyable and always has something for everyone. We've seen improvements taking place constanty here, and have many times witnessed a real concern for their customers' satisfaction and have strived to make things right for them. The owners, the Hirsch family, have always put the customer's concerns before all else and have continued to improve and make this inn the place to enjoy Cape May at its best. I started coming here when I was 11 years old with my parents, continued all through my teenage and young adult years, with my new husband and now with my husband and 4 children, presently now ages 12 thru 18. Through all these stages in our lives, there has always been something for everyone and every age here. The hotel's amenities cover a wide scope of activities, popular restaurant and outdoor bar, wonderful heated pool, ping pong, shuffleboard, wifi, sundeck, just to mention a few, all in a wonderful setting with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean, and walking distance to the center of town. This hotel is kept immaculate, and as updated as possible. My family and my 2 brothers' families along with my parents, just recently stayed for a weekend to celebrate our parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary. Between the four rooms we reserved, we had a combination of the newly renovated rooms, which were beautiful with hardwoods and granite, and also had the old style room which will be renovated this coming winter to complete their entire renovation process. Even the old style room was immaculate and kept in the best condition possible. We were all so excited to go back and celebrate together at our home away from home in Cape May and as always, were not dissappointed. The staff was as friendly and helpful as always and were equally as excited for us all celebrating such a milestone in our parents' lives. It was truly a very special weekend for all of us, thanks to everyone there at the Montreal Inn. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we all decided to try and do this every year from this point on. Thanks everyone there for your thoughtfulness and hospitality and for making our stay ( as always ) a very special one. We would and have many times to friends and family, recommended this hotel for their stay in Cape May.....truly Cape May's best kept secret.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    192
    52
    24
    18
See reviews for
234
267
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is an update from my review last year. While I still believe this to be a solid value for the money I have noticed the following changes from last year:
1) the newly renovated rooms (including ours) are absolutely beautiful. The bathroom is far more user friendly and spacious. The decor is far more sophisticated This is the good news
2) the level of housekeeping during our stay was significantly and noticeably worse this year than last year. We stayed 7 days and quite frankly it was a crap shoot from day to day as to whether it would be well cleaned, somewhat cleaned, or beds made but no real cleaning. There were at least 2 days where, "post cleaning" there were hairs still in bathroom sink and tub. Not sure if the staff aren't properly trained or that there simply aren't enough staff. Either way the difference from last year is very noticeable in a negative way
3) my son became physically sick one evening and I needed to get new linens for his bed. I went to the front desk around midnight and also asked for a plastic bag from one of the two attendants to gather up the dirty linens. It took a full 30 minutes for them to find a plastic bag for the sheets, this after their somewhat bizarre suggestion that I simply leave then in the tub. Really?? Leave sheets with vomit in the tub of the only bathroom all of us need to use???

Again, I do still believe this is a well run place overall, nicely appointed, conveniently located BUT management should pay closer attention to their housekeeping needs and overall customer service, especially the "overnight" crew

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KinnelonKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are truly concerned about your experience and have taken all necessary measures to bring this to the attention of our staff to assure this will never happen again.

We are working hard to make improvements to our property and appreciate that you mentioned this in your review. While we regret seeing negative comments like this one, we use these reviews to impress our staff of the importance of what they do and how they do it. Your comments will go a long way towards helping us reach our goal of 100% Guest Satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you next year and to sharing with you the magic of Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Where has this place been hiding? I just had a blast in Cape May!! The beach was great, the shopping spectacular, the beautiful homes, a site to behold, but what separated this trip from other recent jaunts was the great stay that we had at The Montreal Inn!!! From the time I walked into the front office to check in and saw those friendly smiles I knew this was the place to be! We had a patio room which had a a kitchen, and 2 separate rooms. It was soooo comfortable. The on site restaurant had a great bar and provided entertainment near the pool all afternoon. Our stay was fantastic and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidMP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This past Friday I embarked on a 3 hour drive to Cape May for a weekend with friends. I was very pleasantly surprised by the friendly, courteous staff & the newly gorgeous renovated rooms. Loved the high end, rich decor of the granite, wood & carpeting. The room had the option of a compact effieciency with fridge if I chose to cook as well as Harry's Restaurant on premises.
Both days a singer/guitarist regaled us for hours with popular tunes at the poolside bar & Saturday night we danced to a great in-house local band. I couldn't have had a more enjoyable weekend & will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nanesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visit Cape May, NJ every year and it keeps getting better and better. when you arrive, you go and check in at the front desk.(you can als rent beach tags there) The staff is wonderful. Connected to the main office is an office. You may use it if you ask. (this is a great place to go if you have work because it is sunny and nice, but also quiet. :) The rooms are great! They are very clean and are being remodeled so they will be even nicer. Right across the relatively quiet road is the wonderful beach. (there are storage boxes there you can rent so you dont have to carry your stuff back and fourth) Once your done with the beach, you can take a dip in the large pool that has a jet area. There is also a gated baby pool. At night, cross the road to the boardwalk.Take a short walk on the classy board walk raised up next to the road. As you walk, it seams as if your in broadway. Once your done with the walk, theres... a nut house, a huge arcade, ritas ice, put put, a candy store, a nail and massage place, and so much more!!! all next to or near eachother ( i love Mars nut house) on the walk back to the hotel, the sky is beautiful. also, you can stop by the beautiful star lighted indoor/outdoor hotel. they also do room service. i highly recomend the Montreal Inn.

Room Tip: the first floor is where all of the fun and action happens. live music :) the higher floors have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Took my wife here for 3 days to celebrate her birthday. Stayed in the "Meridian Suite" which is advertised (and priced) as their best & most desirable room. Have to admit that the views from the Meridian Suite were fantastic: panoramic view on 3 sides of the room, from north to east to south. But there were aspects of the suite's condition and location (within the overall facility) that were a bit disappointing. The carpet is worn/stained and in dire need of replacement (management assured me new carpet is on order). One small area of the ceiling in the bedroom had a slight mold & cobweb problem; I mentioned it to management upon checkout and, presumably, they will have dealt with it by now. The couch in the sitting area (across from one of the TVs) is upholstered with some type of rough fabric which is pretty abrasive to your skin if you sit on it for any length of time, making it quite uncomfortable. There is no easy or short way to get to/from the Meridian Suite which is located in the corner of the 3rd floor. Whether you're coming from your car, the pool, the adjacent restaurant, or the beach, you have a bit of a hike to get to the suite... and it's far enough from the one elevator, that using it doesn't help much either. So be prepared for some great exercise -- with or without your luggage! :) The staff is very nice & professional. The pool area is well maintained, attractive and convenient to the outdoor bar of the on-site adjacent restaurant (Harry's Grill). There is a small Exercise Room with limited equipment; but, the one TV is a small & older unit on a rolling utility table, and neither of the A/C units in the room were operable -- so you had to have the windows open even if it was extremely hot & humid. The hotel construction is that of a "Days Inn-type," meaning that access to all rooms is from outside walkways of raw concrete (no carpeting/matting) -- i.e., not fancy but functional. Same holds true for the vertical stairwells, which are all exterior units. If you're not looking for a "suite" type arrangement, I understand that several of the other rooms have been recently renovated and are very nice, but I did not see them myself. A beautiful stretch of beach is right across the street. Overall, we had a great time and will consider returning to the Montreal Inn, but probably not the Meridian Suite -- unless they lower the price for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms with an easterly ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DakotaBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We regret you were not totally happy with your accommodations and have taken the necessary action to resolve the issues. The new carpet arrived and has been installed and other details have been addressed. We are confident you will like the new look and feel of this luxurious suite.

As you had mentioned, we are currently in a major renovation project that will be completed this winter. We have spared no expense in providing a spacious, redesigned decor that will rival any property at the shore and look forward to your next visit.

Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Inn and will probably go back. HOWEVER, the Meridian "Suite" will not be our choice of rooms. While the view from the room is great, the condition of the room itself was disappointing. The rug is so stained my wife would not walk on it without slippers. The windows are covered with vertical blinds that never properly closed even after the very accommodating maintenance man tried to fix. The room is located in a a very isolated area of the Inn so getting your luggage in and out is not all convenient. Maybe if this room was not priced at the top of the rates I would not be so critical but management should really consider my complaints so that future guests in this "Suite" will not be equally disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the Meridian Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie46365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We acknowledge your review and appreciate that you took the time to contribute. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations and assure you that we are aware of the challenges regarding this room. Our property is in the midst of a three stage, full scale renovation and the Meridian Suite is slated for a full makeover this winter as part of the final phase of our accommodations improvement project. The Philadelphia based interior designer under contract for the renovations has wonderful plans for this suite to make sure there will be nothing nicer or more upscale in the Cape May area. We are pleased that you plan to return to our property and hope you will allow us to show you the NEW Meridian Suite when you return.

Once again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Montreal Inn and to share with you the magic of Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing