We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Rockton, PA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My mother in law is in her 80's , her and my late father in law often vacationed in Cape May, and she wanted to come back to the place that held so many memories for her. When she asked my husband and I if we would bring her back, we started looking for places to stay. A balcony looking over the ocean was on her wish list. My husband phoned the Montreal and the lady helping him made sure we had fourth floor rooms with balconies! our rooms had queen , COMFY beds, two burner stove, full fridge/freezer and micro in the kitchenette, table for 4, couch and a TV in the living space. the bedroom also had a TV, and the bathroom was nicely done, and more than met our needs. it was nice to see the kitchen was supplied with basic pots and pans, etc. Made our stay soo easy! having Harry's right on the premises was such a bonus, just wish it would have been open every day! the staff was great, and yes, as other reviews pointed out, parking is TIGHT!!! So glad we had a Subaru!! even that was difficult to maneuver in and out! the only other down side was the hot tub only was working one day, and it was being monopolized by one group..my aching back was longing to try that out. Great beach access, and..I know control of the weather is not up to the Montreal, but from October 3 to the 7, it was in the 80's every day, and we sure made the most of the beach! This was a perfect "birthday get away " for my mom in law and I, and she even remembered the original owners from being there in the '70s! my husband, mother in law, and myself enjoyed our stay very, very, much, from the process of making reservations to the sad time we had to check out!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockton_PAGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. As per your comments, we still have some challenges ahead and will try to resolve them by your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    203
    55
    28
    20
See reviews for
253
284
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Montreal has newly-renovated rooms which are really nice. We stayed in room 419 which is oddly-shaped and a tad small but very nice. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom is huge. There's a nice 4-drawer dresser and a decent-sized fridge. It only lacked a table to eat lunch on and some shelves or a little more counter space. There were also no shelves in the shower so there's really no place to put your shampoo, razors, etc. The bar is below the balcony and was pretty loud Saturday night but we put on our white noise machine and were ok. But if you want a very quiet place, this might bother you. Overall it's very nice and the staff is great. I've stayed here before and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 419 which is oddly-shaped and a tad small but very nice. It's at the very end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. After the renovations we realized we missed a few things and have scheduled them for this coming year.
I hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 3 day thoroughly relaxing stay at this lovely inn. We enjoyed our 2 room suite on the 4th floor w/balcony which was spacious and very clean (a must for this fussy person). The restaurant is excellent, in fact, we found it to be better than most of the restaurants we dined at. The hotel and restaurant staff are helpful and accommodating. We walked to many places of interest eliminating the need to find parking. Hope to return in the Spring!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 07016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you.. we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is now the third year that we have stayed at the Montreal Inn. We have decided that this is now the ONLY place we will stay in Cape May. It feels like home away from home! We have stayed in the same room all three years and know exactly what to expect. Fourth floor is the absolute best for the view. The hotel is perfectly located across from the beach, so the view is absolutely wonderful. As far as getting around, we basically leave the car parked there (except for the trips to the lighthouse and whale watch) and walk everywhere. It's nice to have a restaurant on the premises as well. Food and service are quite good. I look forward to staying again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor offer a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjgin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you.. I hope to see you the next time when you visit Cape May; but make sure you stay longer!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is usually very booked, but at the last moment this past weekend we got the last room on the 1st floor. When I called, management was honest in telling me that this room is right near the resturant and there would be music till 9pm. The music actually was lovely, and it did not bother us at all. I always like when there is truth involved when I ask specific questions regarding a room, as I am fussy. Like others have said, the property is right across from the ocean, there is the beach club, resturant, etc. The management in particular Lee, the resturant manager really went out of their way for us with advice of where to go and eat. Also the patio is dog friendly. The room was modern and had a lot of drawers for a hotel room, plus all the tolitries that one needs (good for us ladies that like to dress), and the mirrors are terrific (yeah!) with GREAT lighting (yeah again!). The bed was very comfortable also. The one caveat that is not quite right is their paper system for charges to your room. We were given a slip of paper authorizing charges for beach amenities, food, liquor, etc. Alas, we lost it within an hour of checking into our room, and when we went to the front office, we were told they could not replace it. We never did find it. So it was a tad annoying, given that this is quite a modern property with other aspects that are up to date. But we got the R&R that we needed and to say goodbye to the summer.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and book way in advance. This is SERIOUSLY popular, and much repeat business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed. Our staff know that it's important to share information about your accommondation prior to your visit. You need no surprises.
Our Restaurant mgr Lee is a great guy and has been a true asset to Harry's
I noticed that our staffed failed to handle a lost card. I'm sorry that happened. We will follow up on that to assure it does not happen again

Thanks for staying with us, I hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I booked through AAA travel and got a great price on a 2 room efficiency suite. Great view of the beach from my balcony. The only downside was my room was overlooking the restaurant/bar. Though it was quiet with my windows I was uncomfortable sitting on the balcony. All in all I would definitely stay there again. Great value and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for visiting the Montreal. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Should you plan to return to Cape May, may I suggest that call us a directly and tell the agent what location you would like.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great place to stay. Can't beat it for the price (for Cape May, which is a little pricey for the Jersey Shore). The Montreal Inn is right on the beach. The bar and restaurant on-site are so convenient. It's not directly in the heart of the historical district, but it's not very far either. The Beach Club is great. Shaquille was a tremendous worker who was friendly and accommodating getting us our chairs, beach umbrellas, etc. He does a great job, as did all the employees we encountered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Each year we take pride in providing our guest with our Beach Service. I will certainly pass on to our attendant you complimentary comment.
See you soon!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#7 of 37 in Cape May
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing