We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memories made here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield
2 reviews
“Great memories made here!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My family has been coming to the Montreal Beach Resort for over 20 years. We still get the same great service and uninterrupted views of the ocean. The rooms have been remodeled recently and everything you could need is within walking distance or a short drive away. Make your reservations well in advance as they will book up quickly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you this summer and making your stay memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    197
    54
    25
    18
See reviews for
240
276
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

When I pulled up to the building I thought I had the wrong address and kept looking around for the actual Beach Resort. But once I was inside the lobby, the staff was nice. My ocean front suite was small, however it was newly remodeled and beautiful and had a spectacular slider/balcony view. They have on site parking which is golden around here so another big bonus and they are a short walk to food and shopping. Other than outside appearances, this place is a gem

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
The view is grand. Shortly you will be able to watch the view 24/7 on our new webcam. As we speak, we are installing a webcam with great views in front of the Montreal. So, even when you are not with us, you can still watch and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Every year in July for the past 28 years, over 100 of my family and friends visit The Montreal Inn for a 7-10 day vacation. The family atmosphere created by the Hirsch's is evident and welcoming at every turn. The pool is amazing, the rooms are comfortable and modern, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is ideal - just cross the road and you are on Cape May's beautiful beach. Also very convenient is Harry's Restaurant which is attached to the hotel, as well as a fully stocked liquor store. The pool side bar makes excellent drinks to enjoy on your own private balcony.

If going to Cape May, make sure to stay here! It's the best place in town with the most amazing staff and family owners!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are great because you are literally 10 steps to the pool, but the higher floors ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just makes ur vacation easy relaxing and everything was so convenient. Whatever u wanted or needed was right there. The rooms were clean updated lots of space for all ur stuff u can store ur beach cart right outside ur door without having to load or unload into the car u can watch ur kids in the pool right from ur room

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaMannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My sweetheart and I enjoyed a "suite" that felt like home away from home for a long weekend. It had a bedroom, mini-kitchen, living room with balcony looking over the beach and a very well-appointed bath. Everything was in perfect condition, meticulously clean and well-maintained. An adequate breakfast in a common room is included, and the woman who checked us in was exceptionally helpful.

The Montreal Inn is off the main drag of Cape May, but it was still easily walkable to everywhere if you're even a bit of a walker, and we appreciated the ease of access and parking.

We learned at the end our two-night stay that the hotel typically requires a four-night minimum, so that's a consideration if you're just visiting Cape May for the weekend. We got our two nights though booking.com, but I bet we could have done better by telephoning direct. Neither strategy is likely to score a shorter stay high season, but we visited in November, and they had plenty of availability at $145/night, including the breakfast and taxes. For essentially a small apartment on the ocean, this struck us as a bargain even by off-season standards.

In fact, the only drawback we found was that the room and view were so comfortable, we barely budged at all one full day, preferring just to curl up with reading and the sound of the waves.

Room Tip: It appears that every room has an ocean view and a balcony, but it would be worth asking to make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORGIA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Motel was clean and front office was very nice with a few things that came up during our stay. Staff seemed to be glad we stayed with them. My grandchildren joined us one night and enjoyed the continental breakfast. Our stay was three days.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor. View is better. Fourth floor south end has a large patio. might be more pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

About once in a decade we get to go to the beach long after the season is over and encounter perfect weather. Our recent visit to Cape May this past November happened on two such days. Blue sky....high 68 degrees, no wind, and to top it off, a wonderful stay at the Montreal Inn. This large four story property is located right on Beach Road, just across from the great Cape May beach. It was very clean, very quiet, parking was easy and most attractions were within walking distance. Even off season the room was fresh and bright, well maintained. The heat, when we needed it, worked fine. Our two room suite with kitchenette and two queen size beds was located on the second floor just off a large sun deck. Due to the warm temps we were able to picnic on our balcony and spend time watching the ocean and beach from rocking chairs on the sun deck. A free breakfast was offered but we slept too late to make it. Instead we went for delicious pancakes down the street.

Much of Cape May closes down by November but there is certainly enough open to make a nice weekend trip of it. So, if you can time the weather, we recommend Cape May off, off season and highly recommend the Montreal Inn.

Room Tip: Best beach views are from southern end of the hotel, third and fourth floors. There are elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing