We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
phila, United States
2 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Montreal Beach Resort over this past weekend. We have already booked our next visit to the hotel. The ocean view was excellent. We stayed in adjoining rooms. One room had a small living room and kitchen area. The kitchen had pots, pans, utensils, plates, etc. Refrigerator was apartment size, not the normal mini fridge. Both rooms had small porches, each had two chairs and a table. Rooms were clean, we even saw housekeeping wiping off the porch furniture. We stayed on the third floor and the view of the ocean was amazing. The hotel is literally across the street from the beach. We ate at Harry's and had a nice meal. The staff was very friendly. The owner stopped to talk to us and was also friendly. Perfect location for a toddler. Steps to the beach and easy to go back to the room. The hotel has a small exercise room and a laundry area. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: rooms on the third and fourth floors have the best ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for visiting the Montreal. We are proud of our property and all the staff are here to serve you. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    202
    55
    28
    20
See reviews for
252
284
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our room was nice and the beds were firm. Housekeeping could be improved since no vacuuming was done at all during our 3-night stay. Also, the housekeeper should honor the guests’ request to reuse the towels as it was recommended by hotel.

This hotel is farther away from the eateries and the shopping places so the area (and the beachfront) is quieter. However, it means that you will have to drive and pay for parking if you want to visit the popular places in Cape May.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort and for your suggestions in some areas where we might need to improve. Your message is very important to us and we wish to assure you that your comments are helpful and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Checked in for Mother's Day Weekend and upon arrival we asked if there were rooms available for an additional night in case we decided we wanted to stay longer. We were told that we would be informed if there were any rooms because they were booked up. Not only were we never informed, but the hotel was not booked during the couple nights we were there, needless to say, beyond that point. The day we were checking out we asked for a late check out but was told that someone was checking into the room we were in. Mind you, our room was not special than any other room in that category, nor was it in a special location. But yet we were told that this room was specifically requested. Did I mention the entire hotel was vacant since everybody checked out on Sunday, the end of Mother's Day Weekend? There may have been 5 cars in the entire parking lot. We did check out but we stayed on the beach since it was a beautiful day. The hotel is right across from the beach so you can see it perfectly. We noticed housekeeping was wiping down the sliding doors of our room around 2:30 p.m. We were on the beach till 4p.m. and, still, there was no one in our room. I would have had more respect if we were told policy is policy and we do not bend them. But to be told something so ridiculous as the story we were told, with the hotel being wide open does not make for good customer relations. Furthermore, if you wanted to sell out your rooms, wouldn't you get back to your customer to let them know if the room was available for an additional night?

As far as the room, nice set up but our room had hair in tub and carpet had crumbs around. Mirror in bathroom was overlooked as well. If you do not like very firm mattresses, beware. Other than that, nice location but quite a few very nice hotels right along there in those few blocks. We stopped in Ocean Club next door which was very nice and Le Mer as well and front desk staff was great. Won't return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitzygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We have received your review and are, quite frankly, very concerned with your comments. Our primary concern is that you were not completely satisfied with your visit to our resort. The guest experience is our #1 job and it seems like we did not fulfill your expectations. Our second main concern is that the issues listed are just not the way we normally do business here. There is not one single issue that we could not have resolved. For these reasons we do indeed sincerely apologize.

I am personally investigating your message and want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Meanwhile I wish to assure you that you will have a totally different experience and impression the next time you give us the honor of a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohemia, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and i were extremely pleased from start to finish. We stayed 2 nights and the room was perfect. The room was freshly renovated and well appointed. I i had to find fault with something I would say the bed was too firm. Other than that it was a pleasure. Because it was the first week of May the outdoor bar wasn't open but it looks like a great place to enjoy happy hour. For the price this place is a bargain and in walking distance to all of the fun places.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for visiting the Montreal Beach Resort. You chose an exceptional time to visit and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came down from Upstate NY for a long weekend get away, after looking at a number of sites we decided on the Montreal Inn. It was a great decision. Nice, clean place, huge clean bathroom with wall dispensers of soap, shampoo and hair conditioner. Whta a nice touch. The room was big, we hade a King (room 110) on the 1st floor. Loved it. Sofa, chair, TV, Refrig, coffee pot, teas and coffee. All really clean and very nice. The pool wasn't open as this was the end of April and still way to cold out.

The only negative was the follows in the room were like rocks. They really need softer pillows.

We found the hotel staff to be really super nice and everyone we met in Cape May was friendly, warm and just very nice all together. We went to the new Italian Deli for lunch, loved the sandwhiches. Huge and reasonalbly priced. Great Pizza at Fish Bones and decent food from the Lobster house. We had a great time all in all.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed, we viewed other rooms while we were there for next time and they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiek00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It's our goal to provide the best service for our visitors. We understand personal preferences when it comes to sleeping needs for our guests. On your next visit, let us know and we will provide you with pillows more accustomed to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ok so we stayed at the Montreal Inn for a romantic getaway and it is our new favorite. The customer service from check in to check out was excellent. We stayed in one of the renegotiated rooms and we were not disappointed. The view was breathtaking. My only disappointed was that I second guessed making our reservation so I paid more for the room than I would have had I paid 24 hours sooner. All in all we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae_2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for making us your "new" favorite. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We returned to the Montreal Beach Resort because we enjoyed our time there, last time we went to Cape May. I saw online the rooms had been redone, but didn't expect to find such a clean, comfy, beautifully redone room. We had the type "G" room, which was almost like having a small apartment, with a lovely view. Kitchenette included. Since we went when the weather was still a bit chilly, it was nice to go back to the room and be able to relax either on the coach or the on the bed in the other room because it was very cozy and enjoyable. It's not far from the center of town and the view of the beach, you can't beat. We highly recommend The Montreal Beach Resort to anyone who would want to visit Cape May, and hope to return ourselves very soon.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with an ocean view, make sure you request it, because they do have a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieDR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are proud of our recent renovations. A lot of time and effort went into the planning and we are very excited about the outcome. Again, thank you, look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#7 of 37 in Cape May
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing