We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have been staying at the Montreal Inn Beach Resort for the past three years. Always outstanding and friendly service, clean rooms, reasonable rates, nice amenities such as Beach Towels and Chase Lounges(just started in 2014), etc. We look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: We prefer the 4th Floor because it has a wonderful view of the Beach and Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you.. We look forward to our guest sharing their experience with us. We look forward to providing the "consistent quality" that you expect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June and had a great experience! This was our first trip to Cape May and we had no idea what to expect. We took the ferry over which we would highly reccomend if possible. Our room was on the 4th floor, two double beds with a full ocean view and balcony. It was wonderful to wake up with a cup of coffe on the balcony and enjoy the views each morning. The room was nice size, quiet and very clean including the bathroom. Two of the mornings we were there they served complimentary continental breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. It saved us from having to go out somewhere and gave us more beach time. I think that was due to Harry's being closed while we were there though so I can't comment on the restaurant or the tiki bar. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful! We had an issue with our room safe and when I reported it to the front desk the gentleman immediately came back to the room with me and fixed it. While searching on line for a place to stay I narrowed my search down to two resorts. The other ended up being 2 hotels away and $$$ more money so I'm very glad we decided on the Montreal. We were at the opposite end of the street where most of the shops and restaurants are located, still within walking distance though and that was fine with us. We don't like to be right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle when we are on vacation. We were there when it was still off peak so not sure how it is during the busy summer months, still somewhat quiet I would think. I agree with other reviewers, try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor if you want the ocean view and preferably in the middle of the hotel for more privacy if you are on the 4th floor. The Montreal will be our go to resort on future trips to Cape May. Thank you for making our first trip to Cape May so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor towards the middle of the hotel of possible. There are roof top balconies that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaturtle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We understand value and try to provide our guest with the best possible amenities at a reasonable price. The "shoulder season is such a great time to visit Cape May. We hope to see you again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Montreal Resort Friday - Monday for a wedding at a nearby hotel. Room rates were reasonable for the area, location and season. We had an efficiency with a bedroom, kitchenette, living area and bathroom. Rooms are on the small side, when using the living area for the pull out sofa there is not much room to move around. But its only for sleeping, so its workable. You won't be spending that much time in the room anyway! Just across the street from the beach, beach badges are included with the room, as well as chair rental from the beach club. There is an onsite bar/restaurant and attached liquor store. Very convenient and the restaurant will deliver to your room. The bar entertainment shuts down about 8pm, so it did not disturb us at all. In fact we found the place to be very quiet at night overall, and we had a first floor room right outside the pool. The first floor rooms offer much more patio space vs the balcony and you can always head up to the sun deck if you want the view. We spent most of the time at the hotel outside on the patio which had 2 chairs, 2 lounge chairs and a table with and umbrella with four chairs. This certainly made up for the lack of space outside, especially if you are travelling with all adults or teenage children. Pool was heated and very clean. All staff were very friendly, front desk, maintenance and managers. Very helpful with recommending local things to do or places to eat. Parking was convenient. Overall it was a great stay and i definitely would return to the Montreal on our next trip to Cape May.

Room Tip: If you would like more outdoor space, try a first floor room. Even though the patio is open to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are proud of the people that serve you at the Montreal. They know you have a choice and fully realize what it takes to make your vacation a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location is great and hotel is nice and clean, really liked the restaurant and the outside bar and pool. the first floor is not recommended if you like to sit outside and view the beach, you feel like you are sitting at the pool, and cannot see the beach. our room was 321, VERY TINY ROOM!!!, shared balcony was awkward and had air vents in the wall blowing directly on the bed our room did not get cleaned on our second day there, when I complained on the third day, it still took a few hours to rectify, only after complaining again. Some rooms have awkward views with a walkway past your bedroom. So be carful what room you book, I would stay again but would request a room with full ocean view, above the pool, on the third or fourth floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments but are concerned that you were not happy with other aspects of your visit. We will attempt to address each of them in this response.

The first floor rooms, all but one of which are suites, are some of our most popular rooms for families with children or groups of couples that are travelling together. Because they have fully furnished patios, they are great for socializing, sharing conversation and cocktails and are wonderful for fresh-air dining. Granted, you cannot see the beach from these rooms, but they do offer an ocean view... and the ocean and the Victorian "flavor" are the main attractions here in Cape May. Many of our guests request these rooms, year-after-year.

Room 321 is a deluxe room (not a suite) and popular with couples that love the idea of awakening in the morning and watching the sunrise over the ocean while they sit on their balcony and sip their complimentary coffee.

Housekeeping is performed daily, without fail, and our housekeepers are famous for providing that "personal" touch with our guests. One thing our housekeepers also do is to respect a Do Not Disturb sign that is hung on the outside handle of their door, as was the case during your stay. Once in a while, our guests forget they have it on the door. Once it is removed, our next available housekeeper is happy to clean the room.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed on 2nd floor- when you make reservations request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor for better view, even though you might not get that room. Our room was clean, oversized, and had a good view of the ocean and ocean ave. There is a nice pool, even though we didnt get to enjoy it since it wasnt that nice out when we were there. Harrys Bar and grill is located on the property and has good food with an outside bar and outside seating. There is also a sun deck on the roof top with chaize lounges and rocking chairs so you can enjoy the ocean view also. Overall, the hotel is very nice and we would return.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor in the center of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are proud of our resort and all that it has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend staying everyone is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are large with large bathrooms Staying here gets each guess a free beach chairs during your stay and free beach accesses. Would stay there again my next visit

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaPetitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

And why shouldn't the beach chairs be part of the experience. We know that part of the attraction of Cape May is it's "world renowned" beaches. Thank you for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This was me and my husband's fourth year vacationing in Cape May and our second year staying at the Montreal Beach Resort and we have no desire to stay anywhere else!

The staff is amazing and so are the amenities! The rooms are nice, clean and updated. The restaurant and outside bar are outstanding!

Very convenient beach access! Nice size pool! Not a single complaint!

We've found our "spot" for years to come! We can't wait to come back!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your continued patronage this year. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £141 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing