We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. I have to say, it is not a resort though. (It used to be called the Montreal Inn which is more accurate.) It is a very nice, affordable hotel with an oceanfront balcony or patio with every room. All staff were lovely and helpful. We walked to most restaurants which was great because we didn't have to deal with traffic and parking issues.

I agree that the wi-fi needs upgraded. I would also like to see them add a small kitchen table to each room. Whether you want to eat a sandwich or play cards on a rainy day it would just be helpful. One reviewer mentioned the "noisy pool". Our room was on the third floor. I would imagine the higher the room, the less you notice any noise from the pool. It was not an issue for us at all.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have noise from the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lgastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review. As mentioned earlier, we are presently making changes to improve our recently installed WiFi. We hope your next visit will be most enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Montreal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I can be very picky when it comes to hotels and this place was just what we were looking for! Our room was comfy and very clean and updated. We loved the ocean view and relaxing on the sun deck! The staff was so friendly and helpful. We traveled with our two little ones and they didn't want to leave! I loved the convenience of not having to lug our towels chairs and umbrella to the beach. We also utilized the food and drink service on the beach! The live music that played every evening was relaxing to listen to from our porch. We also were close enough to walk everywhere but far enough from the hustle and bustle! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mct1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We try to offer the best experience we can for our guests. Whether it be our beaches, the entertainment or just a friendly chat; we want you to know you are appreciated!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I will admit that it's a bit expensive but this place is perfect for a stay in Cape May with kids. The rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. My son loved swimming in the pool. The best part is ordering drinks by the pool and relaxing on a private patio facing the ocean.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jenkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We want to assure you that we continually monitor our services and amenities to be of the best value. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Overall, this motel was above average. The staff were very nice and accommodating, the maid service was excellent, the place was clean and the location was great. I shopped around and found this to be one of the more reasonably priced resorts. The only things that stopped me from giving an excellent rating was the Wi-Fi (could not connect from our room), there was no microwave (I had a standard room) and the beds were hard. Even with those issues, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMason225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We installed a new WiFi in the spring and found that it failed to meet our expectations. As we speak, we are making the changes that will improve our WiFi for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

love having 2 rooms with tv..one in bedroom and one in living area ....great for those of us who don't always sleep thru the night(especially when away from home)...balcony off living room over looking the pool area and the beach and ocean beyond is lovely!..second year visit coming up in September..we will make this a yearly vacation spot...and for those who do not know, September is the BEST month at any Jersey shore..all the children are back in school, weather is still summer like and water is warm!! ...
ps. the rates drop in September also!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitepatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

thank you for that grand review. We look forward to seeing you in September!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have been staying at the Montreal Inn Beach Resort for the past three years. Always outstanding and friendly service, clean rooms, reasonable rates, nice amenities such as Beach Towels and Chase Lounges(just started in 2014), etc. We look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: We prefer the 4th Floor because it has a wonderful view of the Beach and Ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you.. We look forward to our guest sharing their experience with us. We look forward to providing the "consistent quality" that you expect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June and had a great experience! This was our first trip to Cape May and we had no idea what to expect. We took the ferry over which we would highly reccomend if possible. Our room was on the 4th floor, two double beds with a full ocean view and balcony. It was wonderful to wake up with a cup of coffe on the balcony and enjoy the views each morning. The room was nice size, quiet and very clean including the bathroom. Two of the mornings we were there they served complimentary continental breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. It saved us from having to go out somewhere and gave us more beach time. I think that was due to Harry's being closed while we were there though so I can't comment on the restaurant or the tiki bar. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful! We had an issue with our room safe and when I reported it to the front desk the gentleman immediately came back to the room with me and fixed it. While searching on line for a place to stay I narrowed my search down to two resorts. The other ended up being 2 hotels away and $$$ more money so I'm very glad we decided on the Montreal. We were at the opposite end of the street where most of the shops and restaurants are located, still within walking distance though and that was fine with us. We don't like to be right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle when we are on vacation. We were there when it was still off peak so not sure how it is during the busy summer months, still somewhat quiet I would think. I agree with other reviewers, try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor if you want the ocean view and preferably in the middle of the hotel for more privacy if you are on the 4th floor. The Montreal will be our go to resort on future trips to Cape May. Thank you for making our first trip to Cape May so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor towards the middle of the hotel of possible. There are roof top balconies that...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaturtle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We understand value and try to provide our guest with the best possible amenities at a reasonable price. The "shoulder season is such a great time to visit Cape May. We hope to see you again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £101 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing