We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but not a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room on the third floor had a nice view from the balcony, however there was a bright overhead light that stayed on almost all night, so you couldn't leave the door open to let the ocean breeze in at night. There were small windows along the outside corridor which opened right at the head of the bed, there was also a bright light outside there which shone into your face almost all night (3:00?), we had to stuff pillows in to try to darken the bed. There was garbage in trash cans outside the door the whole time we were there, we complained when we checked in and they said it was only that day as someone was out sick.(NOT). The towels at the pool and beach were absolutely threadbare. When we stayed at the ocean club next door last year, when you went to the beach, all the chaises and umbrellas were all set up in a row with beach service to everyone there. At Montreal, you had to go to their beach shed to show all your paperwork and they would take them out where you wanted. Unfortunately, the first day we had to wake the attendant up, who then got something to eat while we stood there, then he helped us, we then had to deal with the neighborhood people coming in all around us and squeezing us out. The food and waitstaff at Harry's was good, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the local stuffed flounder was. Breakfast was also good. In summary, although the front desk and staff was nice( except for the lie about the garbage), it was not a resort in feeling or services.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank pmp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are concerned that you were disappointed during your visit to our hotel. Your comments are very important to us to review and take action to correct any shortcomings that are within our control.

Your encounter with our Beach Boy was totally unacceptable per our standards and we have taken measures to assure that will never happen again.

Your other comments are being investigated and we hope to have you back soon to demonstrate the power of comments from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Montreal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Always enjoy my stay at the Montreal. Rooms are clean and comfortable with great views of the ocean. Staff is great, you can clearly see the TLC this family gives to this beach resort. I have been a customer th or over 40 years and have never been disappointed with the services.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leica706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you.. for all your friendship and patronage! Each week it's like "home coming" here at the Montreal. We are so excited to greet all of you when you arrive. My best to you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Excellent place!! Been going for 21 years!!! It is family run where the owners are super friendly and personable! They make everyone feel like family . We love it and would nit go anywhere else. We go every year in August and are so looking forward to going in 3 weeks!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Roe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you..after all these year, you're family and we know what we have to do make sure our Family" remains happy. Look forward to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved this hotel! Rooms were extremely clean, loved the shampoo, conditioner, shower gel right there on the wall. Pool was clean. Beach passes and chairs are provided (with umbrellas for rent). Great location. Restaurant on site. Very friendly employees! Excellent place for families.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more privacy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank meow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you.. your enjoyment and continued patronage is what makes our job so fulfilling. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

our recent stay, June 28-30, at the Montreal was fantastic, no complaints at all !! The room was clean, updated, and extremely comfortable. The hotel is located directly across from the beach, (which was clean and not crowded), and just a few blocks away from many shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel restaurant and shop was very good. This hotel is highly reccommended, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Wow...thank you so much. It's so exciting to hear such nice things about Cape May and the Montreal. We will continue to strive to ensure your next visit will be memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family has been staying here every year for over 30 years and we always have a good time. It is one of the better hotels in Cape May and the location is great being on the beach but not in the middle of busy area on the promenade. The beach service is a nice amenity, but is a little costly to get extra chairs or umbrellas. The live music in the afternoons creates a great atmosphere and the talent is usually surprisingly good. Bartenders are particularly good and friendly as well. The pool is clean but always too cold for a heated pool.

Rooms are a bit tight but all updated and clean upon arrival, however, they always have a problem restocking the items in the room during the stay (shampoo, sugar, toilet paper, etc). We have never had a stay where we didn't have to run to the office to get something overlooked in the room. The wifi has been terrible from the beginning and every year management says they are improving it for next year and its always the same. We end up using the wifi in the office or using a computer in their business office. Hopefully, they got the wifi running properly this year! We have always said that if it were our hotel, we would do something special as a token of appreciation for repeat loyal patrons like us. I hear there is a rooftop bar to look forward to this year! Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: First level rooms are great if you have children. Upper level rooms are quieter if you don't.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

In this business, there is no compliment more important than return guests, and your return, year after year now for 30 years, is the true legacy left behind by our founder, Harry Hirsch.

Your comments are also very much appreciated. We use them in our operation to continuously engage our staff to improve and to assure our guests' satisfaction. Your comments will be shared with our team and we are confident you will always see an improvement, year after year, for the next 30 years.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Montreal Beach Resort, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed June 9-12. The resort is nice. Rooms are clean. There is a nice little gym. The location is directly across from the beach and about a 12-15 minute walk to restaurants and shopping. The only thing we weren't ready for was that the Tiki bar and Restaurant were only open Thurs-Sun that time of year. We were there Mon-Wed, so we just went to other places and had a good time. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Top floor will provide the best (sort-of) privacy on the room balconies. We were on the third floor...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delgriffith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay last month. The "shoulder season" is a wonderful time to visit. I hope when you return, Harry's will be open to experience and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £102 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing