We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our third year staying at the Montreal Inn. It has always been a great experience. It is very clean and modern. The owners are always on premise. They have made improvements year after year to the hotel. It is walking distance to the mall where everything is happening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Thank you for your feedback. I know this response is a bit late, but we do appreciate when we hear from you. I look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Montreal beach resort is a wonderful hotel right on the beach in beautiful Cape May. We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days, and could not have been happier. The food and drinks at Harry's on the property was fantastic. The beach service was very good as they set up chairs and umbrellas (extra $10) for you. The manager of the property , Stevan was very accommodating and even helped us book an extra night!! The bartender, Matt at Harry's makes strong drinks. Everyone else was friendly and extra accommodating. The rooms are all very modern and new which is a major plus compared to a lot of hotels down the shore. I would recommend this hotel for families, or for couples looking to get away for a few days. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you.. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cape May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

For the 2nd year in a row now, we decided to stay at the Montreal Beach Resort. Fantastic experience again all around. We stayed on the 4th floor this time around and it was great. We even stayed a bit longer this time. If we didn't have to work, it would have been even longer. This place is truly the place to stay in Cape May. Well worth the money and the staff is just too friendly. Awesomeness having their restaurant right downstairs. Food isn't the best we've had but definitely far from the worst. Definitely worth it to eat here, especially if staying here. We will more than likely stay again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank irish_padraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We thank you for your review and appreciate that you stayed with us. Everyone at the Montreal takes pride in doing the their best. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The Montreal beach resort is a one stop vacation destination. I went with my five bestie girlfriends and we had a blast . We didn't have to go off grounds for breakfast , lunch or happy hour as the onsite cafe was delicious with great service . A few short steps lead to the beach , a white soft bed of sand with our stay we were entitled to beach passes and comfy beach chairs and food service from the Montreal beach resort cafe. I especially liked the room with 2 tv s and a mini kitchen. The hosts are warm and gracious .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malkiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you. We try to bring everything into one resort. Each year we investigate on how to improve and ensure that your next stay gets better and better. See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This year was especially great. We really liked having a room that opened onto the sun deck where we could just walk down the stairs to the pool and bar. The owner Larry and his adorable son are amazing hosts. The room was terrific, renovated nicely, and this one had a full kitchen and 2 tvs which was great as we were 5 girlfriends. The hotel has many repeat customers and is a very good location on the strip. The business office was also a convenience when I needed the internet.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms off the lower sun deck, like 218 or 219. These are bigger suites but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lmotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you on behalf of my son and myself. I know each year you all come down, you have a blast. I look forward to seeing you and your girlfriends soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room on the third floor had a nice view from the balcony, however there was a bright overhead light that stayed on almost all night, so you couldn't leave the door open to let the ocean breeze in at night. There were small windows along the outside corridor which opened right at the head of the bed, there was also a bright light outside there which shone into your face almost all night (3:00?), we had to stuff pillows in to try to darken the bed. There was garbage in trash cans outside the door the whole time we were there, we complained when we checked in and they said it was only that day as someone was out sick.(NOT). The towels at the pool and beach were absolutely threadbare. When we stayed at the ocean club next door last year, when you went to the beach, all the chaises and umbrellas were all set up in a row with beach service to everyone there. At Montreal, you had to go to their beach shed to show all your paperwork and they would take them out where you wanted. Unfortunately, the first day we had to wake the attendant up, who then got something to eat while we stood there, then he helped us, we then had to deal with the neighborhood people coming in all around us and squeezing us out. The food and waitstaff at Harry's was good, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the local stuffed flounder was. Breakfast was also good. In summary, although the front desk and staff was nice( except for the lie about the garbage), it was not a resort in feeling or services.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank pmp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are concerned that you were disappointed during your visit to our hotel. Your comments are very important to us to review and take action to correct any shortcomings that are within our control.

Your encounter with our Beach Boy was totally unacceptable per our standards and we have taken measures to assure that will never happen again.

Your other comments are being investigated and we hope to have you back soon to demonstrate the power of comments from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Always enjoy my stay at the Montreal. Rooms are clean and comfortable with great views of the ocean. Staff is great, you can clearly see the TLC this family gives to this beach resort. I have been a customer th or over 40 years and have never been disappointed with the services.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leica706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lhirsch, Owner at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you.. for all your friendship and patronage! Each week it's like "home coming" here at the Montreal. We are so excited to greet all of you when you arrive. My best to you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £100 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing