We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, basic hotel with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel with a view!”
Reviewed 28 March 2007

We stayed for 2 nights last week while we were in Cape May to attend my son's US Coast Guard graduation (SEMPER PARATUS!) there at the base.
Decent hotel, very clean, a balcony with ocean view. 2 rooms, bedroom with TV, living room with sleeper and TV..also table and chairs with small counter and frig. Worked for us as we needed the space and privacy for the 3 of us. It is a good value if you are a Coast Guard family..they give a discount and it is 5 minute drive to the base. (Two restaurants I would reccomend in Cape May are The Blue Pig Tavern (upscale American) or Lucky Bones ( pizza, salads, ribs, burgers) We took our grad to the Blue Pig for dinner and it was excellent.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — Pillows were like rocks!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treetops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    192
    52
    24
    18
See reviews for
234
267
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2006

Stayed here for an extended Thanksgivinh holiday. Called and asked for a crib, it was in our room when we arrived and the heat was turned on for us and the room was very comfortable. The wireless internet was very easy to connect to and used quite often by the family. Overall it was a pleasent experience and we will stay here again.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — small parking spaces
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly suburbs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We had a 4th floor 1-bedroom suite, and the views of the ocean were amazing. I was a little concerned about being on the 4th floor because we have toddlers, but the balcony was safe, and we never had to wait for the elevator. The kiddie pool was the best - gated separately from the big pool, and we often had it all to ourselves. It was also right next to the tiki bar, so mom and dad could enjoy a drink. Great location across from beach, convenient liquor store right on the premises. Nicely renovated balconies and pool area. We will return!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very tight parking in lot
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwinMomPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

If you want a nice experience try the Montreal Inn in Cape May. This was our second stay and we found everything to be above average. The room was a small studio efficiency. It was clean and neat. The staff was friendly and helpful. The ocean view was breath taking. It was quiet. Don't know if it was because it was the off season and not many children because of school. But the quiet was heaven. Only sound was the waves of the ocean. It is located in a nice section and easy to get around town. The only problem we encountered was parking. The hotel was full and the lot was full. We did find parking on the premices but a little tight if you have a big car. The rates were very reasonable and I would definitly stay there again, next time i'm in Cape May.

  • Liked — The cleanleness and quiet
  • Disliked — small parking spaces
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank frrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

Just had a great 3-day weekend in Cape May. Stayed at the Montreal Inn and its even nicer than our last visit. Beds are really comfortable, with loads of pillows. Recent bathroom redo. Clean and everything promised was there and worked. Housekeeping staff is excellent. Even the oatmeal soap was nice. Not only coffeemakers in rooms, but the coffee, sugar, tea, creamer were supplied. This in addition to free continental breakfast in the Meeting Room each a.m. Their Cafe Promenade restaurant is good and very reasonable. Not in the same league with some other Cape May dining establishments, but a good value with a spectacular view. We plan to go back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, amenities, comfort
  • Disliked — Only 1 elevator for 4 floors
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead and ask about room type and location in the inn
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphinviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

If you are looking for a romantic getaway in a posh hotel, the Montreal Inn is not for you. If you are looking for a basic hotel that is very clean with a friendly staff, good location and a great oceanview room, then you will enjoy your stay here. It is across from the beach and for most, walking distance to the shopping area and restaurants. They do have a restaurant and liquor store on site if you need something to drink or rather not walk, bike or drive to a local restaurant.

We found the room to be your basic hotel room but very clean. The room was a small efficiency and the bedding, appliances and bathroom were immaculate. I know some reviews said the rooms were not clean but we did not find this to be the case with our room.

My only suggestion would be not to have a room across from the elevator. The walkways separating the elevator from the rooms are narrow and we were awaken a few times from the luggage cart banging against our door as guests tried to navigate it off or on the elevator. Unfortunately the hotel was booked so it was not possible to change rooms, but thngs did finally settle down.

We had one other problem and unfortunately it is not confined to the Montreal Inn. We had a non-smoking room and the first night at the hotel we were unable to enjoy the balcony or the fresh ocean breeze because the people in the next room were smoking on the balcony. The smoke was blowing into our room. We went to the front desk and told the night clerk our diilemma. She immediately called the room next to ours and explained to the guests that the area was a non-smoking area and would they please smoke in the back walkway so that their non-smoking guests could enjoy a smoke-free atmosphere. They do have smoking rooms and areas for those who wish to smoke. We were pleased at the quick response to our problem and she apologized for our inconvenience. It made our stay at the Montreal Inn a very pleasant one.

We would have no problem going back when we need a place to getaway for a while. The staff was great and we found the room to be very comfortable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room near elevator and would have preferred our room to be on the highest floor
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay away from the elevators due to the noise of people coming off and on
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2006

The Montreal Inn in Cape May has a spectacular view of the ocean. The staff and employees are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The rooms are up to date and most have microwaves and refrigerators. The outside has a beautiful heated pool and whirlpool and the outdoor furniture is brand new and very comfortable. The location is convenient to town and the boardwalk. We will continue to stay at this A+ hotel.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing