We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I actually enjoyed my stay here, and wished it could have been longer, but those prices! I realize it's Cape May in prime season, but still! We paid about $280 per night for a small room with two queen beds. We fit the four of us in there but it was tight, and really easily could have used two rooms, which would have been more appropriate, but then - $560 per night! and the room was small, and the facilities old. It looks like they're refurbishing, but I'm sure the prices will be even higher then. If we stayed again, I would like around for a better deal for Cape May, or at least stay at a "better time."
That said, the ambiance of the place is nice in terms of the people staying there, and the beach access across the street - but does that have anything to do with the hotel? Basically, I felt that there was a bit of taking advantage of the desire to stay in Cape May, and that the hotel could try "a little harder."

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leijsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I booked this at the last minute so the only room available was The Meridian which I believe is their high end room. We stayed four days/three nights. It's featured as a room with a three sided view of the ocean - which it is - it's just not panoramic as we thought. It is beautiful though and even though the room was a bit expensive it had everything you would want in a seaside vacation. Directly across from the beach, beach tags and chairs included in price, pool on premises (which was open until 10 pm - I don't know about the other reviews), restaurant on premises and close enough to town with just a short walk. We felt it was adequately priced for the time of the year and for the location of hotel. We had no problem with the staff and the room was very clean. During our stay, the owner offered us an additional night at a reduced rate since he hadn't booked it but unfortunately we couldn't stay. Only problem I had was that the pillows were very uncomfortable which is a problem I never had in a hotel/motel and our room was cleaned- both days - very late in the day. This was just a bit inconvenient since the housekeeper walked in on us while we were in the room. Otherwise, very nice hotel - would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This is my second time I am writing a review for the Montreal Inn. We just got back and had a wonderful vacation. The location of this hotel is perfect! It is a great place for families of little ones or older ones.....our kids are 19 and 21 now and we have been coming here for over 20 years! The hotel is very clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. We find the staff to be very friendly and very accommodating. Harry's restaurant was new this year.....we loved it! The pool is clean and they always have clean towels poolside for you. It's a great family vacation and you could tell the Hirsch family takes pride in their business! It's a family tradition that we hope to continue for the next 20 years!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trici47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The view is great and the private balcony is nice, but things behind the balcony were disappointing. The room felt cramped, the bathroom even more so. Wall mounted soap and shampoo dispensers belong in a highway rest stop, not a resort hotel. The hallway was too narrow for two people to walk side by side, and cleaning carts frequently blocked all traffic.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fastspinecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Montreal Inn is at a great location, clean, and with great staff, but the price just keeps going up. Including taxes, we spent $350.00 a night for a one bedroom (twin beds, which is nice for the kids vs. one double bed as you would find at most hotels), but the pull-out sofa bed was so uncomfortable--my husband and I had lower backaches for 2 days afterwards. And we are not 'high maintenance' people--we are used to camping in tents--but the pull-out sofa was horrible. I was surprised, as we had stayed here before and didn't experience this, so maybe depends upon the room. This hotel is at a great location and the restaurant is good, but for $350/night we can get a larger condo (at a cheaper price) right on a beach in the Carribean, with clear turquoise water and fantastic snorkelling right at our doorstep. No wonder so many others are starting to feel the same--the Jersey shore is just getting too expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Wedding Kitchen (photo, video and entertainment company) stayed here for a "wedding in Cape May". The place was big, clean and great for our purpose. Beach passes and chairs included. Nice pool / deck and let us stay on property after check out. Helped us since our wedding was at The Grand Hotel a block away and I started at 6 PM.
Mixed pleasure and business this weekend and loved it.
Good all around. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at the Montreal Inn this year over the Fourth of July Week, and had a wonderful time. It's really the combination of location & ammenities, but above all the caring service of the management and staff. The place just keeps getting better - they have really been making more and more improvements over time.

This year, the complementary celebration included a barbecue, concert and fireworks on the barch (see photos). Pool is great, beach is so convenient, (and the beach food service really fun), staff is frinedly and the Hirsch family that runs the place really cares about their guests, willing to address anything that might arise.

This year we had a room on the 2nd floor facing the sundeck which worked out well for the concert the hotel had on the sundeck the night of the 4th - like a sky-box.

This is probably our 12th stay over the past 17 years, and any year we cojn't go there, we really missed it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulLVNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £141 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Montreal Beach Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing