We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Grand Here!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Bergen County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Grand Here!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Booked hotel room via telephone. Had much difficulty with parking. Called Front desk to complain. Response was snotty and unprofessional. Went downstairs to speak to manager and that response was "what do you want me to do about it?" Nice! The people skills are amazing! Note the sarcasm. If you choose to stay at this hotel(which I wouldn't), be prepared for unprofessional treatment with a bettter-than-thou attitude. They over book the hotel and can care less if you can find parking. So, bring plenty of quarters to pay at the metered parking on the street.

Room Tip: make sure they don't have weddings booked or you will be treated as if your not a guest of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proactive6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    367
    204
    112
    112
See reviews for
449
373
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Read many negatives regarding the Grand Hotel in Cape May, but found a very well kept, moderately priced, up-dated facility Beach front. The Kitchenette was well stocked, had a two burner electric cooktop plus a microwave. Beds were comfortable, plenty of towels. We were in model "F" room . The only thing I would have liked is a comfy sofa for relaxing other than the bed. Next time we'll rent the one Bedroom for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orrnret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Upon check in I asked if I had a view of the ocean, I was told if I look on the side I may be able to see the ocean. When I walked onto the enclosed balcony, the windows were screwed shut(This had to violate fire codes) and had two rocking chairs with a view of air conditioning ducts. The only ocean was an ocean of air conditioning units. This room should be used as a laundry room. The shower went from hot to cold. Wi-fi was available for an additional fee. Luckily I had only booked the room for 2 nights and decided to spend the rest of our vacation in Atlantic City.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teach924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We usually rent in Cape May, but this year our visit to Cape May was rather short, just Labor Day weekend, and we opt fot a hotel. grand hotel met our expectations and gave right value for the price. Room was enough for a family of 4. It was tolerable for a couple of nights, I doubt I would survive longer in this space with my 2 energetic boys. Based on the previous reviews I was afraid of bugs and was looking for them everywhere. No one was found. Swimming pool were nice and boys had a lot of fun there. Beach is right across the road. Ocean view was promised and we certainly had a glimpse of it. We didn't use the balcony, too opened for small kids and neighbors are seating right next to you, no privacy. Hotel personal was rather neutral, not very friendly and welcoming, but helpful when we needed them. Overall, we had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We made reservations at the Grande Hotel, and they took a $279 deposit in advance. Unfortunately Hurricane Irene hit that weekend and Cape May was closed. The day before we were to arrive, I called to cancel our stay, and the Grande Hotel has refused to refund our deposit, and instead gave us a credit towards a stay at their hotel, which they say is good for a year. I have no intentions of everr staying there, and I guess I will have to take them to court to get my refund back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank OldJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

First, after reading some of these reviews I was scared out of my mind to get to the hotel I had already gave deposit. Any way heres the real deal with this place , 425 a night yeah anywhere else in the USA is plush rooms and service, but this is Summer in Jersey. Over priced for what you get. The hotel was dated but clean.Our room was the townhouse room.Yeah it did have that kinda "wheres that smell coming from" but is directly acroos from the beach. One of the few with an indoor(brand new) and outdoor pool. Daily evening activities for the kids. We picked this location because we wanted to drive to wildwood for our loud days and stay somewhere quiet at night. Worked out great. 6 bucks to park at beginning of pier. Keep in mind you will need to catch trolley out front to go 7-8 blocks to where the action is, but it brings you back from the gazebo at night.(all free if you purchase anything while out) Take your bicycles if you can, makes for some nice evenings and getting around. All in all dont be scared just prepared for an dated overpriced clean room and showers with a touch of beachy smells and enjoy your vacation, there aint any much better hotels in the area. 5 bucks a person to use beach over 11.Keeps the riff raffs out

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The location of the hotel is great. Right across the street from the beach. The pool is an excellent size, offering food and alcohol poolside. Nice touch there. The indoor pool is a nice option but the overwhelming smell of chlorine and the blazing hot temperatures inside are too much to handle. The rooms are clean and views of the ocean are very nice.
However, the staff was rude and obnoxious. By August, they are clearly tired of vacationers but considering they're the hotel's livelihood, they need to change their attitudes...and change management. Will stay somewhere else next time. There are better options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Twitlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing