We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Excellent Location”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Other than the relative affordability of their room rates and the excellent beachfront location, the Grand Hotel is a very average hotel. Service was OK but that's to be expected given the room rates. No issues with the cleanliness of the hotel but it seemed that there were a number of rooms that were in the process of being repaired/ upgraded so there was always a bevy of maintenance folks about. Downside is there is no room service but the abundance of eating places around the hotel made up for that. Sleep quality was average - we had a two bedroom efficiency room that supposedly sleeps 6. There were four of us and the second bed is really a sofa bed which wasn't too bad. The hotel however does have a very nice indoor pool. Another downside is that with the inhouse restaurant, you do not have the ability to add the cost of meals to your hotel bill, even for breakfast. In fact, for the buffet breakfast, you actually pay at the register before even being seated which seems quite unusual - particulalry if you tip based on the service you receive at the restaurant...despite all of this, we would likely stay at this hotel again on future trips to Cape May as the room rates are probably very competitive in the area for hotels of a similar class and at the end of the day, the room is just for sleeping! I would recommend this hotel for couples with young kids looking for an affordable getaway to Cape May as a family vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAIR46767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

I liked this hotel. I needed a quiet place convenient to the beach for a solo trip. The room was very spacious and overall pretty comfortable. Decent view of ocean although roof top as well with small balcony. There was no coffeemaker in room so I requested one and it was provided. I brought coffee since I knew that hotel did not provide. Parking was scarce at times and walks from car were far when carrying luggage. The elevators in the hotel were slow and seemed to be insufficient for number of guest. Usually took stairs from 3rd floor down because it was much quicker.

Overall it was a nice stay in a decent hotel with large rooms. Parking and elevators were biggest drawback. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoS1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We come to Cape May a few times every year and like try our different hotels! The Grand Hotel is located on the waterfront, there is an indoor and outdoor pool! The beach is just across the road! Compared to other hotels we had stayed before The Grand Hotel is good for its value! Don't expect your room or the lobby like The Four Seasons since you are not paying that price! The room is clean and parking is ample! What makes the different is the service. We arrived on a day when there was a 50 year highschool reunion, the hotel was busy but our receptionist, Mark(after serving numerous customers before us) greeted as with very welcoming smile and professionalism! Mark was very efficient in arranging our room and catered to our needs! Made recommendation to our dining options, not many people in the service industry serve their customers with such initiative! This made us feel very welcome and great first impression of the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is our second time here in 2 months and it has been great! You cannot beat the location and there are indoor and outdoor pools in case you need a change from the beach. When we stayed here in July they had a kid friendly activity each afternoon. They brought in magicians, facepainters and people from a nature center with a touch tank. Debbie (the asst manager-I believe) was very helpful and friendly to make sure we were comfortable. When we did encounter an issue in July with the a/c they were quick and happily addressed the issue by moving us to a new room. Sometimes things go wrong that are out of their control and it's the way the staff handles it thats important - that alone is why we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sppags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year - great value. Ocean view grand room was immaculate and nicely furnished. King pillow top bed was comfortable. The pull out sofa bed was nice above standard. Balcony was ocean view and comfortable. You cannot beat the value in comparison to the rest of cape may. I would recommend this hotel! It's beautiful and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefiremommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a special promotion right after Labor Day. Received one meal in the restaurant (Hemingways) and 3 days of breakfast buffet. The buffet even included Eggs Benedict.
Room ok - and balcony with ocean view. Air Conditioner vent made carpet wet, but that was my only complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The room was very clean but the a/c unit was very dangerous if you have young children. The mattress was uncomfortable. No room service. The bathroom had no fan so it was like a steam room. Lastly, the nauseating garbage smell at the pool was very unbearable. We had to leave to pool because it was so bad. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVelez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £85 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing