We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at The Grand Hotel from December 27 to December 29th. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly. *** Special thanks to Jill. She was very helpful with our booking and went out of her way to get us the best rate possible. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel during the NJ Audubon Autumn birding festival weekend in late October.

I understand the rooms vary a lot, but we were in one that was recently renovated and very nice. There was a front living room area with shared balcony outside, a small kitchenette area with refrigerator and stovetop, a bathroom with an extra wash sink outside the bathroom itself, and a separate bedroom. I could easily see staying here for several days with lots of room.

Access is a bit tricky - you have to go along the balcony to inside the hotel and then find stairs or the elevator. The stairs on the other side of the balcony only go down one level and then there was no way out - best to check ahead of time what direction works.

The hotel does provide included parking, but it is very limited - we had to circle all over the place on Saturday afternoon until somebody finally gave up their spot. Be careful of the small underground parking - if you can't find a spot you have to back out and there is little room.

Location - the hotel is about a ten minute walk from the town which has the convention center, shops, restaurants, etc. The beach is across the street. View of the ocean from the balcony could charitably be described as partial.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinationMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to the Grand Hotel for their Splash Weekend. We chose this offer as an early Christmas present for my husband and I.This was a great deal for the weekend. The cost included our two night stay with a delicious breakfast buffet both mornings. We had a nice room with a comfortable king sized bed, it was clean and cozy. Our room had a balcony with a beach view. The indoor heated pool and jucuzzi were wonderful. We were very fortunate to have great weather for a weekend in December. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas which added to the festive atmosphere of the town. This was out second stay at the hotel and will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean but overlooking the outside pool. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Visiting the Grand around Christmas time has become a tradition for our family now. This time we booked one of the townhouse rooms (room 163) and were very pleased. The kids were really excited to see that we had an upstairs and downstairs. With five of us, it was also very nice to have two bathrooms. The rooms were very nice, clean and up to date. We had a good view of the ocean from our upstairs balcony.

Much of what I've said in previous reviews of the Grand remains the same. The staff are courteous and friendly. The rapsody weekend specials are a good value. The only con I noticed this time was there was a musty smell that hung on our clothes after staying there. It wasn't so noticeable in the room, but definitely there on the clothes when we stepped out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleysville_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On behalf of the Collingswood High School Class of 1963, I would like to say "thank-you" to the entire staff of The Grand Hotel. Our 50th Reunion was outstanding because of the attention to details provided by Katlyn, Sherrie and Glenn. The dinner buffet was excellent. The staff, food and even the weather could not have been any nicer. It was the best reunion that we have ever had and the feeling among the class is to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked the Thanksgiving package on line and called to verify is was true. When we got there we found the package was not included and we would have to pay another 300 to get it. Also they could care less that our parents could not make it due to the storm. They had to pay for 1 day even though it was not their fault .The hotel itself is in bad shape and needs repairs. The kitchen is not good quality and not nice to cook in. The heaters are very loud and disrupt sleep. The hot tub is broken but they have it open anyway. The whole pool area is very slippery and outdated. I wish I would of booked anywhere else then there.

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

So the Grand Hotel is one of those older beach get away hotels that built a new wing with an indoor swimming pool, work out room and Hemingways Restaurant. The older (white) section where we stayed, needs some more updating. The bed was not all that comfortable and I think this section is where the online bookings end up if looking for a room for a couple of nights.
The food was excellent for an onsite restaurant ! This made up for the stiff bed.

Room Tip: I suggest booking in the newer wing and your stay will be above average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metrocountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing