We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time, good value”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I chose to spend a cold winter weekend at The Grand Hotel and take advantage of their heated indoor pool and hot tub. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff and directed to our large room on the 4th floor. The room was spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and view of the ocean. The hotel is across the street from the beach, and we could hear the waves crashing, even with the windows closed. There was a nice balcony with two chairs so that in warmer months you can take full advantage of the view. The room was also equipped with a mini refrigerator and microwave, and a pull out couch, which would come in handy if we were traveling with a small child or two. The elevators were small, but certainly not slow, and most of the time we took the wide and spacious stairway. The pool was fabulous, we could have spent the entire weekend lazing in the numerous comfy lounge chairs, but opted to get out and visit the nearby wineries minutes away. We enjoyed a delicious dinner of filet mignon and crabcakes at Hemingway's, the onsite restaurant that appears to be popular with the locals. The décor was modern and looked to be recently updated.There is a lively middle-aged crowd happily dancing the night away after the dinner hour is over and they clear away tables to provide a dance floor. The Grand Hotel is a perfect getaway for couples or families.

Room Tip: The second floor has an access door to a large rooftop area for sunbathing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhtsLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Beautiful when we walked in. A very welcoming staff. Rooms were clean. A little disappointed in that we had an ocean front room because it was actually positioned sideways - not facing ocean but you could go out on balcony and see it. Food and drinks are excellent. Location was very nice.

Room Tip: A room for four was either two standard beds or one king and a sofa bed. Turned out sofa bed was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a three day weekend. The Grand is awesome. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was spotless; beds very comfortable. The pool and hot tub area is outstanding, with plenty of comfortable chaise lounges. The Grand is the perfect getaway in the winter months.

Room Tip: In the winter it's best to stay in the main building. That way you don't have to go outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2tour55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hallways were very long and narrow. It was hard to navigate the hotel with all its stairways, and elevators were so slow. The rooms were nice and large, but the beds were not very comfortable. The atmosphere was sort of gloomy and there was definite need of some sprucing up.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kim30Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it was a nice clean hotel. The indoor pool and hottub were also nice. We had Sunday brunch in the resturant which was nice but we would have loved to have a Mimosa or Bloody Mary-even though we sat in the bar they didn't serve drinks. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here with my family this weekend. What a great value!! Three day stay with a breakfast buffet two of the days at a terrific price! Special value packages available on certain weekends. Our room had a beautiful ocean view and was very clean. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is very charming with a wonderful restaurant called Hemmingway's in the lobby. The food is very good and a relaxing atmosphere. There was a DJ with great music Friday and Saturday nights. It was freezing outside so it was great to have a pool area that was heated and a hot tube. There is also a small arcade and fitness room. Had a nice time and would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived there right before a snow storm. Our room was very nice with a view of the wind whipping the snow on the beach. They have an indoor parking area so we didn't have to worry about cleaning the snow off of our cars and the driveway was cleared so we had no problem getting around. The biggest plus was the indoor pool area. It is really large and really warm. The pool is heated and it was great to be in there. The hot tub was also great and very warm. It was so relaxing. Also, having the bar and restaurant (Hemingway's) there was a great feature. They did have a DJ on Friday night and a number of TV's to watch the football game on Saturday night. The only problem is that it was cool on the first floor including the bar area. We did not eat dinner there but did have snacks and some drinks. Great escape after the holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £73 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing