We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfortable”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint and Comfortable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel last year during the Easter Holiday. We have been coming to Cape May for 30 years every July, but wanted to see what it was like during their off season. Our usual hotel was still not open for the season. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly. We had booked the King Charles Suite - One Room VIP Efficiency, and headed towards our room for the next few days. We took the elevator up to the top floor. To get to our room, you had to walk the length of the hotel because of where the elevator was located. Thankfully, our grandmother who just had a knee replaced didn't join us because it was quite the walk. Additionally, we were glad it was the off season and we didn't have beach chairs and accessories to lug down the halls. Once we got to the room, there was a stair case leading up to our suite. Again, we were glad of the circumstances of our trip. Once we got up into the room, however, the walk was worth it. It was a gorgeous little efficiency with a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. The kitchenette was functional and had a small selection of cooking ware. The room was clean and the staff were always polite. My only other qualm was that there was not adequate parking, even in the off season. I'd hate to think what it would be like during peak season. We had an excellent mini-vacation and enjoyed the solitude of Cape May in its off season.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice but a long way from the elevators (and most have some stairs you have to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    378
    211
    113
    118
See reviews for
461
394
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel has some definite good points. The pool is clean, the little pool bar is fun, it is across from the beach, the hotel is in a great location, and it is reasonably priced. However, the rooms are a gamble, some of the rooms are updated and some are not. We stayed here twice; The first time our "townhouse" was very dated and smelled musty, the second time our room was more aesthetically pleasing and quaint. The building is in need of some major TLC overall. The main lobby smells like mildew, the elevator in the main building also smells like mildew, the pool is missing tiles, the lobby bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. And the lobby attendants could be more friendly and efficient. Overall this hotel is a score on a budget and we would definitely book again, but we would love for them to give this hotel the attention it needs so we could love it instead of just like it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O2968HZjcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just got married at The Grand. They did such a wonderful job. The staff was so helpful. The room they provided us was perfect! They really helped in making our special day perfect. We couldn't be happier. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had remove my family at 1130 at night to a new room that wasn't close to original room and was also no finished be renovated..Was locked out of new room cause keys were inop. Also new room the tub was blocked. A/C sounded like a jet engine. 3 days and counting and was not contacted by a manager.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My son and his new wife had the reception here Memorial Day weekend 2014. It was spectacular ! Food was awesome- staff was attentive and courteous !! Thank you for making there day special !! Thank you to all the people involved !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGrace61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broad Brook, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there mid May. Very nice place, directly across from beach. We stayed in room 311 which was in the main building. Our balcony looked over a side street but still provided a pretty good view of the beach. Very good location, walking distance to outdoor mall area. Short drive to Brewery and half a dozen vineyards. Wildwoods was next town over so you can make an easy day trip for "excitement" there but come back to Cape May to relax. Good restaurant on premises (Hemingway) but only real negative was poor/non-existent continental breakfast...possibly to drive business to restaurant? Might be only place in area with indoor pool which was nice in May. All in all would recommend to others and would consider staying here again which I guess is really the bottom line.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank adamfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had average expectations and we were happy that they were met or exceeded. We stayed on the newer side, the room was nice, we needed a replacement bulb and someone came very quickly although it was 9:00 pm. The view is nice , restaurant is. Pretty good and in general we are enjoying our stay!

Room Tip: Pick newer side or rooms without kitchenette unless you need kitchenette, the kitchenette comes with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing