We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible unless you are 20!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Sewickley Heights, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horrible unless you are 20!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Checked in, room on third flor. No parking, no luggage racks, carried luggage across entire building to elevator and then 1/2 mile down the hall. Came back with groceries, again NO luggage racks., Offered three different employees 100.00 to take groceries to room. No takers. WiFi not working, called desk. Told to "stand by the window". No go! No Ice in machine on our floor, little kid down the hall went downstairs for us! At. $422.00 a night for a townhouse on the beach, I certainly expected more! Thinking of moving with three more nights to go! Oh and may I add, can only eat in restaurant with reservations! Horrible experience so far!

Room Tip: Don't come here unless you are athletic and do t need wifi or ice! At 422.00 per. Ought for a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    368
    204
    112
    112
See reviews for
449
374
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been traveling to Cape May for seven years now. We stay at The Grand every trip. We just came back to PA from a two week honeymoon staying at The Grand. We stayed in the King James suite and we can not say enough about the hotel staff and our room. Thanks to Katelyn, she gave us a great honeymoon package that was out of this world! Also thanks goes out to the Hemmingways restaurant that is located in The Grand. Their food was wonderful! Every night we had the best food and the staff was wonderful. Our vacation was wonderful and our every need was met. We would recommend The Grand to everyone, you will not be disappointed. Families, couples, friends, you will love The Grand as well as Hemmingways. The Grand also has a place to rent bicycles as well as sureys, that was fun! They have a great indoor as well as outdoor pool. The outdoor pool has a bar that will fulfill every need for a drink or a meal. Thanks to Gary for taking care of us at the bar! The Grand is the only place to stay when you travel to Cape May!!
Many thanks to The Grand, they have made wonderful memories for us every year!! Thanks you! See you next year! Janene and Joe, PA.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe and Janene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our quilting guild planned to have a retreat at the Grand. We had such a fabulous time that we returned, and plan to do so again. Sherrie Hanagan did a fantastic job of getting what we wanted. Her organization skills are unsurpassed. Bedside our nice rooms and great food she made sure we had enough electrical outlets and ample room for our sewing machines. Every organization should have a Sherrie Hanagan.
Truly Svenska14

Room Tip: Make your reservation early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenska14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had our wedding here because of the price, the staff, the view! And what a great choice We made! Our wedding coordinator Katlyn was amazing!! We are still friendly to this day almost a year later! She helped me all the way through, whether it was planning little details or calming me down! It was an experience for her too with the amount of people we had, but she made it work! The honeymoon suite is awesome! We would stay there every night if we could! Can't wait to get back there for our first anniversary, and hopefully every year after!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheanna_Jimmy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willingboro
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our church planned our Women's Retreat at The Grand Hotel for the second time. We found the meeting rooms to be great for our purposes and the food and atmosphere were enjoyed by all. Sherri Hanagan was a great help to our retreat coordinator during all the planning stages of the weekend. We would recommend The Grand for any retreat, conference or just a getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaCel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The stay in the Grand Hotel was amazing. Despite the fact that it lasts only three days, I cannot write anything negative. The venue, the quality and the services were outstanding. Especially, I want to praise Martyna – the housekeeper. She took care of my room every day very reliably. Moreover, Michał – the “towel guy” makes my entertainment on the pool awesome, right from the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am a local Cape May County, NJ Tour Operator, and have had the pleasure of working with 'The Grand' many times in my 24+years in the industry. This past June we had a brand new group travel with us to Cape May, I had the pleasure of working the Sherrie Hanagan the Group Sales Manager there, as I have in the past, although this time it was different, after a very tough Winter 2013-14 the Spring Groups were having problems with filling their motor coaches, as well as collecting money from their groups. Although, we know all Hotels have deposit policies as well as cancellation policies Sherrie Hanagan literally jumped thru hoops to make this trip happen for both Suncoast Tours and The Grand Hotel of Cape May, NJ. Not only was the group thrilled with accommodations, but food, and hospitality were at their best, my thanks to Sherrie Hanagan, and the entire staff at The Grand Hotel Cape May, NJ. J. Flynn

Room Tip: Ask for a full description of accommodations, there are quite a few room types and location, our gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneatSuncoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing