We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We took the family the grandkids are 3 1/2 and there was everything got them when it Came to entertaining them. Face painting, Magician a indoor and outdoor pool. The adults had pool service at all times we have traveled last year to Disney and decided to go to cape may this year. Not a mistake highly recommend the grand the only negative on the service at the grand the desk service were not to helpful in dinner tips of restaurants For family one service desk person never looked up at all to notice there there were people waiting for help or check. courtesy is what is important we are paying good money just a " will be with you in a minute "show she knows acknowledges people. Training is needed

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toridom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have to say it was an amazing time. Loved the pools and the ocean views. Joey at the front desk was so professional and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. He truly is an asset to the Grand Hotel. Thanks for everything. Sincerely, James and Suzanne Nestor.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The experience we had at the Grand Hotel was a good experience. The best experience was the BED. It was huge and very comfortable. My family all stayed at this hotel for our reunion, and they ALL said the same thing about their beds too. The cleanliness was also notable. My girlfriends loved the colors and the decor. she also liked the double sinks that allowed two people to wash at the same time. The outside porch was nice too. The view was not the best, but it was there. We would stay here again. Our only problem was one of the sinks was slow. We asked them to fix it and after we got back to the room, it did not seem to be fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philly-In-Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Way over priced for what you get. Out dated room, damp carpet and rusty fixtures in the bathroom. Nice outdoor pool and has an indoor pool and restaurant. Staff was nice. You can rent bikes on the premises. Good location near the beach. Cost was double of what it should be.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AliannuZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I would like to recommend this hotel to everyone, who enjoy peaceful, bucolic stay at the seaside. Rooms are very comfortable and due to Martyna’s work always clean. She seemed to be very solid worker.
Moreover, there were a lot interesting facilities, indoor and outside pool included.
I am convinced that I will be back there soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrycja189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hi, I generally do not write reviews but I have to compliment this hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing and filling. Great dinner at Hemingways Restaurant. The indoor pool was a nice size and plenty of space to swim. I liked the fact that most of the pool did not go over five feet. The outdoor pool was great and I liked that I could order lunch right at the pool. I stayed in a room on the 4th floor, the C Room with King Size Bed and semi private balcony. Plenty of space and the balcony chairs were super comfy. Great view of the ocean also. Just wanted to say thank you again. I will definitely be coming back. Robbie

Room Tip: The C Grand Rooms are great and have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My sincere thanks to Sherrie Hannagan (Group Sales Manager) and the staff at The Grand Hotel for yet another smooth and enjoyable stay. My group, the New Jersey Region of the Antique Automobile Club of America, spent the weekend of May 16-17, 2014 at the property.

This was our 4th year at The Grand Hotel and, although we only had 15 participants this year, the hospitality room for our social gathering on Friday evening was arranged exactly as anticipated, as usual. Our dinner the following evening was perfect; it included a wonderful meal at the Hemmingway restaurant!

Our members, myself included, are thankful for the efforts of Sherrie who, once again, ensured our visit was a pleasant and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing