We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Getaway!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Wenonah, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Little Getaway!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We spent the weekend. check in was very quick and our room was very clean and ready for us we than had a couple of cocktails in the Hemmingway Lounge where we met Jenna and Chris who are 2 of the best mixologists at the shore. The Grand Hotel in Cape May had everything right on site, Restaurant, Bicycle rentals, Indoor / Outdoor pools great little getaway.

Room Tip: They have rooms and townhouses to accommodate any family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    377
    208
    113
    113
See reviews for
456
386
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We love The Grand! The rooms are really nice, and the staff is great (especially Mike at the pool,and Ryan at the bar). Love the coffee in the lobby in the morning, and Hemingway's restaurant. This is our third year in a row.. Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynngalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Donna a server was very pleasant and knew the menu well. We were met up front and were seated quickly and professionally. I'm here on a business trip and appreciate the quick time frames provided. The bar here is nice and large. It's right across the street from the beautiful sandy beach. Again ask for Donna if you're dining here. You won't be disappointed. As I write this she's discussing a home with two sisters that have been coming here a Long time aparently. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryebonti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Me and my family decided to rest on new jersey shore and we picked The Grand to stay in for 5 days. Tomorow we're leaving but I have to say that I'm enjoying my days off in a perfect place. Our room is kind of a penthouse and it's really comfortable and cosy. Every day we appreciate the houskeeper's job because it's very clean so it makes us satisfied. It seems like our kids forgot about the ocean because they want to spend all their time on the pool :-). We met there a polish guy who is very kind and nice for us every time we show up there. His name is Michal and he told us a little bit about Poland. I appreciate his work and I really don't want to check out tomorow. See you next time here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob9877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I love Cape May more than any other place in the country. The Grand is very affordable and our room had an awesome view of the beautiful ocean. Nathan at the front desk was very nice and helpful and our cleaning lady was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

my family and I had a great time on vacation this year. we stayed at the grand for 5 days and loved it. clean room, excellent staff. Nathan at the front desk was very pleasant. Will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Can't really judge value when it comes to summer at the jersey shore because everything is pricy. The rooms were larger than I expected being a two room suite with sleeping space for 8 and a small kitchen. Room was ready upon check in and clean. There was no available parking although they provided a permit. I parked in the street upon returning to the hotel each night. Housekeeping never came on out second day and we had to call the desk for towels. Common areas were nice and well kept. No musty smells at all.

So, some good, some bad. So, average.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing