We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, So-so accommodation”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 31 August 2009

The service at this hotel was sufficient. Rooms were fairly clean and it appears they are renovating some of the more dated ones. Our view was horrendous (onto the roof of the ballroom facility), however the hotel gives you the option to choose a room with a view for a bit of extra money when you are booking. Furthermore, because our room was above the ballroom, we could hear loud music playing for a wedding reception until about 11:00pm. I imagine this would be troublesome to guests who bring young children. The location is right on the beach and near the boardwalk. This hotel is fine for folks who are just looking for a place to crash between sight-seeing and beach going ventures. If I return to Cape May, I will likely book earlier and spend more time looking for a place with better value. The Grand Hotel of Cape May was rather pricey for the level of accommodation we received.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegglesBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

Do not land here for any reason. The room we stayed in stinked, stank, stunk. There is mold and mildew growing in both HVAC units in our room. my wife got stuck in the bathroom the first day because the door knobs were so worn out, I almost had to kick the door in to get her out. We have been here for 4 days now and for the last 2 we have been looking to stay at a different hotel. The walls are so thin you should get a multiroom discount. It is sad to say I could go on and on but , I have to find another place to stay before I get a lung infection.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in Cape May, NJ in August of 2009. It was our family's first trip to Cape May. The area was quaint and old, different from the commercialized beaches we normally go to, mostly Myrtle Beach area. While the age and condition of the Hotel, and the whole area, were different from what I expected, we had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel. We loved their newly renovated restaurant, EJ Hemingway's!!! The food was fantastic, it really exceeded our expectations. We had dinner at Hemingways the first nite and then had a great buffet breakfast the following morning. My husband and I had a fantastic dinner of crab stuffed shrimp and a veal and seafood(shrimp,scallops and crab) pasta that was soooo good!! The second nite we ended up having dinner at Hemingways again because of two cranky, exhausted children and, again, my husband and I had a wonderful dinner of Porterhouse Steak. I am not a huge fan of buffet breakfast, but this is all they offer and it is GOOD!! You can place a few individual orders-eggs, waffles but this is not really necessary because they do a great job on the buffet with scramble eggs, Eggs benedict and sausage gravy!!! Our room was basic, recently renovated (except the kitchenette area) with a warm decor, the beds were comfortable-Our king was very comfortable. The indoor pool was great and had very nice patio furniture around the pool deck. The outdoor pool, in the middle of the parking lot, seemed odd to me at first, but again, this is an old seaside town, not a huge planned development in Myrtle. The pool bar was great, service was a little slow. The Hotel had something everyday for the kids, the first day it was a magic show and the second day it was a caricature artist. Both did a great job! Our last day, we watched dolphins swimming off the beach from the balcony walkway outside our room. Overall, we would stay at the Grand Hotel again. Cape May is a quaint old seaside town that, while has some commercial elements (all the beach stores selling tshirts and that genre that you typically find on the highways in Myrtle), has not flattened all their old quaint motor inns and built new state of the art condos. The proprietors of The Grand Hotel are doing a good job of renovating and updating their property while maintaining the old seaside feeling of this quaint town!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fanningfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I am lifelong fan of the Jersey Shore. In Cape May, I prefer to stay at the Grand Hotel and visit here a few times each year. I am very familiar with this town and my wife and I have stayed at both Bed and Breakfast Inns and large hotels and can say that the Grand suits our needs perfectly. Our most recent visit was with our two grandchildren, so I appreciate the hotel even more. We had a rainy day on our stay so the indoor pool and the game room were a godsend for us. Having a good restaurant right in the hotel is also a big plus. I am somewhat surprised at some comments that are posted as we have always had a good experience with the accommodations as well as the staff. The Grand has made some much needed improvements to it’s facilities over the last few years and continues to improve. Whenever we come here we always meet other guests who are also repeat visitors so they must be doing something right. I think if you check out other places in Cape May you will find that for the value and location the Grand Hotel is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank johnjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

260.00 Per Night
Room smelled of Mildew
Wifi Access Additional Fee Per Day (just greedy)
The outdoor Pool Was Nice but beers were 7.00 each
Parts of the place are new and looked nice, the older part where I stayed was very run down. Buckets catching water in the hallways.
Had washing machines which is cool. Some were broken
Had refregirator which was cool (dirty but cool)
No hot water in Sink. It had he knob for hot water but just cold water came out.
Rates seemed complely random. called several time got rate from 150 to 400 per night
TV was from the the 80's and got about 11 channels
Overall Creepy Place, I checked out a day early

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btravlin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Older reviews of this hotel were not very flattering so when we booked our trip we were unsure of what we would be encountering. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was everything other people said is wasn't. The room was VERY clean, spacious and we had a great view of the ocean! The staff were friendly and accommodating. Our room also had a refrigerator and microwave which proved to be beneficial for making a quick breakfast or lunch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pisces3attanasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Moldy, mildew, torn wallpaper all over, outlets that sparked, exposed, dripping pipes... this is what you get when you book a deluxe, oceanfront efficiency, folks. The rooms are nothing at all like they show on the hotel's website. We weren't expecting the Waldorf Astoria for the price, just a simple, clean oceanfront lodging. Instead, we thought we checked into the Bates Motel. This place probably saw better days in the 19th century.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HeartManJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1045 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £85 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanfront Grand Hotel of Victorian Cape May is one of the largest Resort and Convention Centers along the Jersey Cape. The Grand Hotel can accommodate everyone, from Business Groups to Wedding Receptions and Vacationing Families to Family Reunions. The Grand Hotel of Cape May is dedicated to recreating the grandeur of a by-gone era while providing all of the modern comforts and conveniences for a most enjoyable stay. The perfect place to dance, dine, relax, swim and sun in Victorian Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cape May
Grand Hotel Of Cape May
The Grand Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing