We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I really enjoyed my stay in Cape May.. I have been there before many times but never stayed at
The Virginia Hotel.. Im so glad I did upon a recommendation of a close friend. This was a great experience and made my stay in Cape May wonderful! Everything from The staff, the service, and room the room was great. I loved the feel of this hotel, I will absolutely stay there again. A+ !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    140
    50
    30
    15
See reviews for
51
391
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Best trip i ever had, building was beautiful. The rooms were spotless and beds were to die for. "Pillows so comfy i had to buy one" Staff was amazing and went above and beyond any expectation i have and will ever have of a hotel staff and to top it off its a stones throw away from the beach and the local shops and restaurants. Once we got there we were a five minute walk away from everything. I cant wait to go back and would highly recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Book in advance because the rooms fill up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepthang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Rooms are very nice. Great service. Great staff! Everything was very comfortable. Will come back again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tarynEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

It was a great getaway destination. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel itself was very beautiful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great location, you can walk everywhere. Many great restaurants in the area. Overall it was a great getaway weekend. Would recommend it to anyone who is going to Cape May, for vacation or an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuno1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Room was very pretty! Georgeous Bathrooms and very comfy beds! The hotel was decorated nicely. A very nice breakfast was delivered to our room. The staff was friendly! Its right in the center of everything, walking distance to the beach, bars, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrikeith1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, IL
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We try to stay at the Virginia each summer to celebrate my birthday. A few years ago, they instituted a 3 night minimum stay, even during the week -- Well, we live only 20 minutes away, so that really doesn't work for us. But they will work with you to find availability for one or two nights, based on their bookings.
We were able to get 2 nights at the Virginia --
The first night we spent in one of the smallest rooms - nice, cozy, very clean....
The next day, the manager (Jason, I believe???) offered us an "upgrade" across the hall. He knew we were celebrating my birthday -- and although we had to move our stuff over... what a difference! The room was twice the size and the bathroom was stunning. It was more quiet and so much cooler than the other room. He didn't have to do that, and it just shows that the staff really pays attention to it's guests!
One of our favorite things to do is have a drink (or two) on the porch around 5 or 6pm before we head out to dinner.
This time, we brought our bikes along - and didn't drive the car for 2 and 1/2 days. Cape May on a bike is so enjoyable - even in the height of summer.
Having the Virginia as our "base" for these 3 days was the highlight. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (although I've been there and love it!) we enjoyed several great meals in town.
The continental breakfasts are filling and relaxing.
Looking forward to July 2011!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

A European feel. Small but very tasteful rooms. We looked forward to afternoons reading a book on the porch followed by a blissful nap. Really comfortable bed and pillows, nice linens. Discreet room service. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenrichardssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing