We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old-Style Hotel”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Visited Cape May for the first time in October and thoroughly enjoyed the Virginia Hotel. I found the staff to be professional, courteouse, and helpful. The valet service is a nice touch and the continental breakfast brought to you on a silver tray (either in your room, in the lounge, or on the porch) is very nice indeed. The restaurant was nice but pricey. The location in Cape May is dead center and very close to the beach. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, if you can afford it, especially 'in season'.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimo6229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Traveled in late October with a friend to photograph the bird migration. We went during the week so it would be less crowded then on a weekend. But at this time of year it felt more like a ghost town...which I happened to like. Really liked the character of The Virginia, an old beautiful Victorian style mansion, well decorated. We had gotten a double bed room, very quaint, clean, comfortable beds. The only issue was that our windows didn't open (we were on the second floor) and my friend has sinus issues so we couldn't put the AC on, so it got a little stuffy. There is a restaurant there, continental breakfast included, really nice little bar and lounge and a great front porch to just relax.

The location is great, half block from beach and in the center of everything...to shopping and restaurants.

Just a warning...as this is an older building, we could here the guests above us when they showered...pipes are loud. And this not handicap accessible...no elevators that I saw. There is also Valet service, since there isn't any long term parking on the street...so prepare to tip a lot.

I would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you stay on the upper floors, have the staff take your bags. Our second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank like_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've had the pleasure of staying at The Virginia in Cape May many 4 times. Their valet service is especially welcoming. This boutique hotel is immaculate! Rooms are fresh, sparkling clean & attractively decorated. Staff is courteous. Their restaurant, the Ebbitt Room, is a wonderful experience with a fabulous menu! Location is ideal ~ 1/2 block to the ocean & 1/2 block to main street mall shops.

Room Tip: I don't believe The Virginia has a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddiebMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I disagree with most of the reviewers. I realize most people visit Cape May as tourists, but I was there on business. I choose it for its price, its location, and its good reviews. I found the service poor (nice people but couldn't tell me anything including where to get coffee and a bagel!). The breakfast is included, but it doesn't start until 8 so I couldn't get anything except self-serve coffee. The room I had was a nightmare...room 209 (and 211 and 309 and 311) are next to a gigantic, LOUD outside heating unit with a motor that ran all night. Next to my room was the ice room which ran off and on. I couldn't sleep. Parking is off premises which wasn't clear to me when I booked. The restaurant, although pricey, was excellent. I would eat there again even if I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teejay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear TeeJay86,
I am sorry that you did not find your stay to be satisfactory. We do strive to keep each guest as happy as possible but it sounds as though that was not the case during your stay. It seems as though noise was the major factor in your disappointing stay and although the Front Desk tried several alternative options, it seems we could not solve the problem. Please accept my apologies. In the future if you were to give us a second chance I would recommend asking for a room on the ocean side of the building which has far less noise. As for breakfast, unfortunately because our breakfast pastries are delivered fresh daily and do not arrive until approx 8am. This makes serving breakfast prior to that time very difficult for us unless it is old product we are serving and that is not an option for us. Again my apologies and I do hope you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife booked the Pink cottage for my 40th. We were there in April which is off season. The cottage was very clean and beautifully decorated. The building was aging a bit as the old wood windows were clanking during a storm. Although this could be distracting on a normal night - we stayed during a severe thunder storm and the clanking window actually added to the mood and was almost mystical. I think the adult beverages contributed to that. The thermostat didn't seem to work and we had difficulty controlling the temperature. Even though the building is aging it is an excellent cottage. Those who frequent shore towns see the classic beautiful older buildings being torn down with cardboard boxes that all look the same being put up. I say leave the older buildings in tact. They are a charm and give towns like Cape May their distinction. I'll take an older clean building over those cardboard boxes every day. If you need the best and newest of everything stay away and more importantly skip Cape May. This hotel and town have charm that can't be found in many places. The beach is a few steps away and the shopping and restaurants are right up the street.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HB92397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We actually live in Cape May, but had a night away from our children. We met up with some friends who also stayed at this hotel. We stayed in the Red Cottage across the street in the Jackson room. The place was beautiful and they were very accomadating. Would definately recommend this place. The restaurant is also excellent (Ebbit Room). We have eaten here many times!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at this fine hotel. It is nice balance between Victorian charm and elegance and contemporary style. The hotel was booked solid, but you did not feel cramped. The intimate bar and dining room were busy each night. The food and drink quality and quantity were excellent. We have utilized this lodging for the past 15 years and we continue to return, not only in the summer, but also in the fall for Victorian Week and the very beautiful Christmas Season. Our favorite rooms are 203 and 205. If you are on a tight budget this may not be for you. We firmly believe you only get what you pay for. At the Virginia you get a lot. The staff are very competent and paid attention to all our needs. The rooms are well appointed and the furniture and bedding are comfortable. It is centrally located and the shops and restaurants in Cape May make any time spent there very enjoyable.

Room Tip: 203 and 205 have their own private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josephkT5875PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaManager, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Dear JAEK,
Thank you for your response. It is always nice to hear from our long time guests that have been with us through all of our changes and still find our service and standards to exceed expectation. Thanks again for the years of loyal patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £94 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing