We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had a great visit, they were very nice and we enjoyed our room and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    131
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
46
372
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I booked the New Years Eve package, dinner with wine pairing and the room. When we made our reservations we requested a specific room. We have been staying at The Virginia for years and knew the room we wanted . When we arrived there was no valet parking available, they did not give us the room we requested, and during our 4 day stay the toilet backed up, the door handle to our room broke off...with us inside! New Years Eve they lost our dinner reservations. The only compensation we received was a free drink. I wrote a letter of complaint to the owner and never received a response. Every other stay there was thoroughly enjoyable, but don't know if we will be back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sueg721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. As discussed during your stay sometimes we are vulnerable to errors during the busy holidays as was the case with your room and dinner reservation. While these things do happen from time to time, it is something we need to do a better job of managing moving forward. If you decided to stay with us again I invite you to contact me directly so I may personally oversee your accommodations from start to finish.

Regards,
Justin Mogavero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

From reading the reviews, I was worried when first walked into our room but entering we were very happy in how the room was set up. The room was big enough and small enough to take care of our needs. The bathroom and shower were a big hit (3 head shower). The bed was very comfy and provided us with an awesome nights sleep.

If I was to be picky, the two shades were a little cracked but this did not provide us to have a negative time. I would note to all traveler due to the age of the place, if you don't like to walk the stairs (no elevator), then I would not stay there. This did not deter us from staying because we enjoy the history of where we stay. They did offer to assist with our bags, which was very nice.

The room was there take care of what we needed and it was a great place to stay. Looking forward to going back when we have the time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Being a usual visitor to Cape May in the summer, even with the crowds, we love to walk by the Virginia Hotel to "ooh and ahh" over their gorgeous flowers and plantings out front. Well, this time, thanks to a great TripAdvisor coupon, we were able to afford a one nite stay at The Virginia over New Years Eve weekend. I have to say, after a spin around town to look at all the Xmas lights, theirs was the absolute best of the bunch. Stuffed Santas galore climbing all over the outside of the hotel, all the way to the cupola! Giant shiny Xmas balls and greenery all around, lit up and visible for blocks. A real stand out in a town that goes all out for Xmas.(Altho I will say the Xmas lights are definitely not as spectacular as they used to be in Cape May. It was kind of sad.) This hotel's decorations are a "don't miss" if you're in town. We loved the hotel even if it did seem like things were winding down for the winter. We weren't able to eat in the Ebbitt Room as it was closed but were able to order some light bites w/ drinks at dinner time. We had calamari and mussels, both very good, as we expected.

Our room was very nice, definitely on the modern side, so don't expect any Victorian frou frou here. We loved the big fluffy pillows and bedding. Just so relaxing, you might not want to leave your room. Don't plan on doing any reading at night tho. Impossible due to the terrible lighting. The bathroom was nice, altho we found the dark flooring kind of jarring. The showerhead that supposed to be a "rain" type was on the tiny side and was very hard to regulate. Hot, cold, hot, cold. I ended up being more annoyed than clean and relaxed! Bulgari and Neutrogena toiletries were a nice touch and there were plenty of towels. Great terry robes too.

The Virginia Hotel is basically a big old Victorian that's turned modern. There's no big reception area but the small fireplace, with real wood logs that were thrown on regularly,added a real cozy touch. It was a nice place to sit and chat, even if a bit cramped. One note - they totally need to lose the white plastic cube tables in this same room. Totally tacky and not in keeping with the vibe at all. Plus it was tough to eat our assortment of appetizers that we had ordered on them.

Breakfast was included but it seemed kind of on the "wind down" as well. We asked for bread and they weren't sure if they had any. The fresh OJ was wonderful as was the small dish of fresh fruit. Also included was yogurt, a muffin and a bagel. Not a huge breakfast but enough to get you on your way to explore the town.

The only downside to our stay was a noisy bunch of guys out in the back patio/yard that I'm assuming were staying in one of the hotels' cottages. They were whooping it up to the wee hours and we normally like to hit the hay around 11. Not going to happen here. Also not too nice to have the police arresting someone in the room next door at 2 am!! Just some minor inconveniences (if you like to sleep soundly thru the night)!

I'd probably make a return visit but I'd be a little hesitant. If it's this noisy during January can you imagine what July would be like!!?!?

Room Tip: Ask for one in the middle, if there is such a thing. Also there are no elevators (this is an old Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have stayed at the Virginia many times, and have also stayed at the company's other properties as well. So when i saw a Living Social deal come through, i jumped on it. However, when attempting to book the room with Virginia only a couple of days afterward, they told me all of the "inventory" was sold out. Sucks, but I understand how coupons like this can happen. However the kicker was that Living Social will not refund the money, the will hold onto it as a credit to be used for a future deal! So I bought the deal on the name of the Virginia, but they washed their hands of it. Even when explaining that i stay approximately 20 nights per year at their hotels, still no dice.
I do like their hotels, and have had some good experiences, but this definitely gives me pause to book there again.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTraveler6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
I am very sorry to hear about your difficult situation with our Living Social promotion. I completely understand how frustrating situation like this can be. Living Social has recently changed their policy on the redemption of the voucher thus enabling us to accept additional booking under this promotion. I would encourage you to call our reservation office if you are still interested in redeeming your voucher. Again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I loved the Virginia Hotel. The decor is Victorian but hip and the cocktails are great even in the fall. If the hotel is a bit pricey for your during the summer, I recommend going in mid-fall; the rooms prices are very reasonable and the weather/water is still warm.

The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. The only drawback is the parking. The hotel does have valet parking but it is a bit of a hassle if you are going in and out of the hotel during the day. There is also no elevator so it may be hard if you or your guests have a hard time with stairs but the valet will help with your bags!

Room Tip: I would stick with the second floor if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
I also recommend that if stairs present a issue that you inquire as to the availability of our first floor guest rooms. In the even that stairs are totally out of the question, our sister property Congress Hall is equipped with elevators’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We wanted to post something to let everyone know what an awesome time we had at the Virgina Hotel in Cape May New Jersey! If you want to feel special, treat yourself to a stay at the Virginia Hotel. We had a beatifully decorated room (ours had a balcony and overlooked the street - a special request told to us by friends). The room was spacious and remarkably clean. We ate that the Ebbit Room which is inside the hotel and it was out of this world! The hotel is cozy and really cool, there is a fireplace in the lobby which really added to the decor, it was over 50 degress that weekend, but we still enjoyed stopping by to sit and watch it. Parking is off site, but no problem to get the car if you can wait a couple of minutes...watched another guest get crazy with the staff over this, such a shame some of us can't remember they are not the only ones in the hotel! Would like to mention the young lady at the front check in that Saturday we arrived, Melissa/ Marissa?, she was so sweet and took time with us, made us feel welcomed! They have a nice front porch that you can sit and watch the horses going by with the carriages and the beach is a half of a block away, great location. Just an overall great time! If you are on the fence about this one, push yourself over and go because you won't be sorry! We will see you this summer.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a balcony, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGi547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing