We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelete weekend getaway”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excelete weekend getaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at The Virginia Hotel! The hotel is centrally located in Cape May, a quick walk to the beach or cute shops. Hotel staff and (complimentary) valet service was courteous.

In the evening, we stopped by the Ebbitt Room Lounge for dessert and drinks. The drink selection was top shelf, as were the wait staff, and the dessert, a fresh strawberry rhubarb personal-sized pie with house-made vanilla bean ice cream was simply divine! Sitting on the hotel’s front porch was very relaxing, at any time of the day.

Breakfast the following morning was superb for a “continental” breakfast. Note: we did not receive sugar/sweetener with our morning coffee and there is nowhere to indicate that on the request card, so you may want to write it in as a request.

Our room (303) was nicely appointed and quiet, though some aspects of the room were very mildly “frayed” around the edges (e.g., bathroom rug, dresser paint job). The heating/AC system was a little clunky to work, but adequate. Despite these, few (minor) quirks we would most certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was very nice; we did not find the stairs daunting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    139
    50
    30
    15
See reviews for
51
390
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding at congress hall, only a block away. We had to bring our 11 month old along, so we stayed in the grey cottage and it was perfect for us. Two bedrooms upstairs, one for us and the baby and one for my mother in law who came with us to watch him while we went to the wedding. And a good size living room area downstairs to play. Very close to beach and all the cute shops. Classy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchmidtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Easy valet parking, speedy check-in, beautiful foyer and gorgeous bar/restaurant. The hotel was very clean and the staff professional and easy. Our room was a standard, so it was small, but roomy enough for a a very comfy king size bed, side tables, pretty cabinet with tv and side table with chairs. the bathroom was also spacious. the furnishings were traditional/contemporary. and there were plenty of toiletries as well as an ice bucket and wine glasses. room service for breakfast was an option at no extra fee, with a few choices for breakfast. the hotel was about a block each from the beach and the stores. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcmPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Rented the Pink Cottage annually three times with a group to celebrate the Christmas season. Although the rental process seemed challenging in previous years,(management did not seem to want to lock in to a price for future reservations) this year possed no problem and we were able to book for our next year trip. During our stay the first years, we enjoyed complimentary breakfast delivered directly to our kitchen; this feature has, to our dismay, been discontinued. The location is ideal, directly midway between town and the beach. The decor is modern yet the atmosphere quaint, with a seasonal Christmas tree adding a nice touch. If you're traveling with a group, renting the entire house works out perfectly with plenty of sleeping and bathroom facilities and yet providing the accomondations of a first rate hotel. Although there is only parking for one car, the hotel does have valet parking for additional vehicles.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We drove to Cape May without a reservation. We were thrilled to find the Virginia Hotel. Our room was beautiful, very comfortable and clean. We had a large balcony facing the street with a table and chairs, and lounge chairs. Just perfect.

Staff was great and very friendly. Short two blocks from the beach.

Room Tip: As I mentioned above, the front room with the big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5familymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia area
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hi, let me start my review by saying that this was a Living Social deal that was an excellent deal. The room was only $89 and included a $30 dining credit at the Blue Pig restaurant. Ok, besides the fact that the deal was 5 stars, the hotel experience itself was average. I often break down my reviews by giving the good, the bad and the ugly. So here goes...

The Good: The room was on the second floor and was the "biggest suite in the cottage." The bed was a nice king size bed with fresh, soft linens and pillows. There were nice robes in the room, and my favorite part was actually the bathroom. It had an antique looking sink and was very spacious. They had high end sundries, but the best was the shower. It was a large walk-in shower, easily fit two well-sized people and had good water pressure. Lastly, the breakfast which was included that we had delivered was very good indeed. The fruit was fresh, the breads very soft and tasty and the juice was fresh squeezed. The location was very good as well. It was a short walk to the beach as well as a short walk to town.

The Bad: The cottage was old and quaint, but more on the old side. The furnishings were older and looked like they were painted over to look newer but you could see the poor workmanship. This was true throughout the cottage and in our room. The "sitting room" which really had nothing in it slanted. It reminded me of my first apartment in Scranton, PA. If you placed a ball on one side of the room, it would likely roll to the other side or center. My wife loved the room but again b/c it probably reminded her of the old apartment. Lastly, there was no real security. I didn't put this in the ugly section b/c it doesn't get much more safe than this part of NJ. However, we were given a combination to the front door, and you couldn't even lock the door that had the combination.

The Ugly: I think someone else mentioned this too. The room had no AC. We were there the day before the holiday weekend. The entire cottage was cool except for our room. It was about 80 degrees outside and the room was just beyond hot. I tried to call the hotel across the street and no one would answer the phone. My wife and I left and stopped over and were told they would fix it immediately. Hours passed and it was not fixed. We finally went to dinner and someone entered our room while we were gone and installed a wall unit. This did eventually resolve the problem but it ruined a good part of our day as I was concerned about this non-stop.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmcalabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My Wife and I celebrated our Wedding Anniversary there. The staff were great and very personable, however late at night we had a horrific experience with the pests in the room. The room was filled with gnats when we returned from dinner due to a ragtag repair job done on the window where there was a small crack open to allow insects to enter the room. I did my best to kill as many gnats in the room as possible, but I'm sure there were more that entered the room as we went to sleep. We also knew the hotel was booked up, so we didn't even attempt to make contact with the staff, plus no one would be available after 10 pm. Two weeks later and we have a pest infestation in our home because we believe that some of the pest decided to travel back home with us. Now, we're spending several of hundreds of dollars paying exterminators to rid our house of the infestation that we brought back from the Virginia Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for alternative room availability in the case in the case you are experiencing insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaManager, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Christian,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am surprissed to hear that gnats ,which are an outside pest, would cause an infestations indoors. either way, I am very sorry to hear about the troubles that you are now dealing with. I would like to assure you that we take every precaustion in keeping our rooms pest free including matress/box spring encasements, routine spraying and monthly inspections by a professional exterminator. I only wish the managment had been made aware of the situation sooner so it could have been corrected in a timley manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,152 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing