We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a PLEASURE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Always a PLEASURE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I continue to check The Virginia prior to booking with any other hotel in Cape May. We have yet to experience anything but relaxation, EXCELLENT food from their restaurant (The Ebitt Room), and top notch staff. The location is great, the rooms have always been spotless, and very well prepared for us upon arrival. The charm, atmosphere and continued positive experience we have had will make us repeat customers anytime we are looking to stay in Cape May! Book with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonD804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    133
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
48
377
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
old bridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We always loved staying at the Virginia Hotel but noticed the last time service has laxed as follows:

We stayed the hotest days in June and our room had little/no air condition. We called the front desk and they sent up a "bell boy" to check it out. He said he can hear the air blowing out of the vent but he couldn't feel it b/c it was too high for him to reach (apparently he knew nothing about repairing it). He then proceeded to tell us that it was b/c it was so hot outside that the air conditioner would take longer to "kick in". We got ready for dinner (try using a hot blowdryer in a room that felt like 105 degrees), we went out to dinner and returned to a hot, uncomfortable room. We went down to the front desk, once again, and they told us there was nothing they could do. The day we checked out we were asked if we had any problems and my husband told the person at the desk about the air condition, he immediately sent up an air condition tech but we were already checking out. I proceeded to tell the front desk person about what we witnessed during our stay and he said they should have never sent up a "bell boy" to check out the air conditioner, it should have been the a/c tech. We were never offered any type of compensation.

As far as The Ebbit Room restaurant, we ate there the past few times we stayed, the first time it was great, second time - just ok, and at this last stay it was terrible. Our server was very cold/not friendly. My husband's chicken came out very tough so he asked for it to be replaced with crab/shrimp cakes which came out half cooked (he ate some of it b/c we just wanted to get out of there at this point). We were celebrating a special occasion but they did not make it special at all.

I have to end this by saying that Lance/front desk was very nice but he wasn't there during our ordeal. The Virignia Hotel/Ebbit Room has always been our favorite in the past so we hope that the service to their customer's will improve.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barbara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The personnel were very nice and helpful. The room was great and the location is perfect. It's also nice that you have the option to use the pool at the Congress, which is across the street. Cocktail time on the porch was quaint and relaxing. I would definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times in three years. The first time was amazing--it's a beautiful place, great location, and the rooms are very comfortable. The food in the Ebbitt room is high quality for a beach town. The second visit was thanks to a gift certificate and we were happy to return. Upon arrival, the desk could not find our reservation and said their computers were giving them trouble. This year I received a special deal email from the Cape Resorts group: rooms on weeknights at the Virginia were $149, plus meals at the Ebitt room were 20% discounted. I reserved a room for three weeks later. When we arrived, the desk could not find our reservation. I handed them a print-out of the reservation, which I had thought to bring after remembering the mix-up during our last visit. Eventually they "found" the reservation under my fiancee's name, even though I had made the reservation. When it came time to check out, the bill showed a completely different price for the room. We also did not receive the discount for our meal at the Ebbitt room. We brought this to the manager's attention and he said he would take care of it. The next week when we received our credit card statements, we discovered that I had been billed for the room when I made the reservation and then my fiancee was also billed for the room at a non-discounted price on his card. When I called to sort this out, there was no manager available to help and we're still waiting for some resolution. Although we love staying at this inn, we are pretty sure we will never stay there again. It's a shame. Virginia Hotel billing/ management, please get your act together!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JenaO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Jenna,
I am sorry to hear about the mix up with your reservations. Sometimes mix ups such as your being under your fiancé' name will happen due to duplicate profiles from a past stay. We use these profiles as a way to track our repeat guests but sometimes the system can have its flaws as was the case with your reservation. We have implemented a merge system to help avoid this issue for all of our repeat guests moving forward. I am glad to hear that the Front Desk was eventually able to locate your reservation and get you placed in a room. The double billing that you are referencing is actually an authorization for incidentals, which is a very standard industry practice. Our Front Office Manager should have made that more clear when he spoke with you while the dinning room credit was being issued. I hope that you would reconsider staying with again in the future. We would love another opportunity to prove our dedication to excellent customer service and guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Pink Cottage . We had no electricity in the bathroom the first night. We were informed by the front desk at 9:30 pm that it could not be repaired until morning because maintenance quits at 5:00 pm and the fuse box for our room 1 was in room 2 and it was too late to disturb the guests in room 2 !!!! We never had the correct number of towels to match the number if registered guests in our room. We also had to make many calls to the front desk to get ice, towels, and other repairs completed. We found the Valet and maids to be very pleasant and apologetic. The hotel needs to hire more staff or maybe a separate staff to manage the cottages. Having worked at resorts while in college, we understand the challenges of maintaining quality service at busy resorts. Please take this entry as constructive criticism to improve. You have potential!! This was our first trip to Cape May. We really enjoyed the town and great restaurants. We hope to return. Location is everything, but so is service. Please pay attention to the Cottages!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stushmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Stushmar,
Please accept our apologies for the mishap with the electricity in your bathroom. You are correct, the fuse box was in another guest’s room however fix it was not a matter of being too late but rather that we could not reach the guest for permission to access their room. I realize this provided an inconvenience for you and I am truly sorry but we have to respect our guest privacy and ultimately the NJ lodging law as it pertains to entering an occupied room.
We have since taken measure to completely by pass the adjoining guest room to correct this issue moving forward. Again, our apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We love the Virginia and have been staying there for long weekend getaways for many, many years. I noticed with this stay (June, 2012) that things are getting a little shabby and worn - the rugs are showing signs of wear, stains on the wallpaper in the room, handle broken on the nightstand, paint chipping and wear on room furniture, etc. I do hope that this excellent hotel will invest in the necessary upgrades that are needed to keep it on the top of the list of great places to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notgenesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaManager, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Our guest’s feedback is always a valued tool to help us improve our business. To speak on the repairs you have mentioned, we are in the process of replacing and refurbishing many of the items you mentioned and even some other items that you did not mention. We are working diligently to have everything completed by the end of the month. I hope you will be pleasantly surprised with the upgrades/changes upon your next visit. Again, thank you for feedback and choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at The Virginia Hotel! The hotel is centrally located in Cape May, a quick walk to the beach or cute shops. Hotel staff and (complimentary) valet service was courteous.

In the evening, we stopped by the Ebbitt Room Lounge for dessert and drinks. The drink selection was top shelf, as were the wait staff, and the dessert, a fresh strawberry rhubarb personal-sized pie with house-made vanilla bean ice cream was simply divine! Sitting on the hotel’s front porch was very relaxing, at any time of the day.

Breakfast the following morning was superb for a “continental” breakfast. Note: we did not receive sugar/sweetener with our morning coffee and there is nowhere to indicate that on the request card, so you may want to write it in as a request.

Our room (303) was nicely appointed and quiet, though some aspects of the room were very mildly “frayed” around the edges (e.g., bathroom rug, dresser paint job). The heating/AC system was a little clunky to work, but adequate. Despite these, few (minor) quirks we would most certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was very nice; we did not find the stairs daunting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing