We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BIG Night”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A great experience. Hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The hotel, bar, restraint and valet staff was attentive, friendly and extra helpful.

As good as the hotel was the Ebbitt room was a terrific dinning experience. We had a large party (24) for dinner on a Saturday night and things could not have gone better. The food was top notch. The service was efficient and friendly. The manager was extremely helpful in setting the event up and was totally hands on during the event.

We are usually kind of picky but the Virginian and the Ebbitt room exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend going for the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for The Virginia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is our second stay at The Virginia, but this is the first time at the height of high season. It's a lovely small hotel with pleasant, spacious rooms, nice furnishings and a great location, just half a block from the beach. This hotel is part of Cape Resorts, and I was delighted to get a call from a concierge named Dan a month or so before we came down here. He was great about setting up whatever I wanted, including Stand Up Paddle Boarding. We love this place for its peace and quiet.
Be aware that it is a historic building and it has no elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We came to the Virginia Hotel for our first time during the 4th of July week. My wife and I were never there before and good friends of ours told us what a wonderful time they had. I would say that it has a Bed and Breakfast feel to it. It is a smaller hotel with a very good restaurant inside, but better make reservations because they fill up fast. Our room was very pretty, clean and everything we expected. The town has so many things to do and all within walking distance. Parking was valet (nice young men!), but our car was never need. The staff was so nice and I must say very tolerant...watched some other guest act just crazy about their bill at check out, such a shame people develope amnesia about their charges (this hotels has other properities where you can charge to your room I guess), the young lady at the front desk (pretty dark haired gal) on that Thursday deserves something for how she handeled those folks, she had a smile to last a mile. Because of the guest in front of us acting so irate, it took forever for us to check out...our car was waiting for us and traffice was backing up the street because of these folks, not sure what to suggest for that! Use the beach service they offer, that it a treat, all you do is walk down the street and the ocean is a half of a block away!!! They have food service on the beach and again, that was really good. Did we have a great time....yes we did. Will we be back...yes we will. Would I recommend this hotel to my friends and family...I SURE WILL! Thanks Staff at the Virginia - See You Again Soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As local residents & business owners in the Cape May area, The Virginia Hotel provides a true escape from the "real world" right in our back yard! My husband and I spent a weekend in May at the hotel and truly felt like we were a world away from home. From the valet to the breakfast served on the large veranda to the spacious, airy corner room, our stay far exceeded our need to escape! The Ebbit Room restaurant was over the top...5 star for sure! The staff was excellent and very personable! When we desire a quick, relaxing local escape, The Virginia Hotel is top on our list!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabejreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Virginia is small and quaint, but large on luxury and service. Room was airy and clean, the bed much more comfortable than most. Staff was polite and extremely helpful and the in-house restaurant, the Ebbitt Room, was five star. Hotel is also convenient to activities and the beach, providing chairs and umbrellas to guests. Unassuming and peaceful, the Virginia is all that Cape May is about.

Room Tip: Front rooms may be a little noisy since they face the street. Beware, also, of all the taxes that ar...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harradexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Virginia at the end of June. The hotel is lovely. Every afternoon after spending the day at the beach we would sit out on the front porch and have drink before heading up to the room to get ready for dinner out. The location of the hotel is perfect. Its close to the beach, the pedistrain walking section and some of the most charming houses in the Cape May.
The Virginia makes your stay easy with providing breakfast, which you get to select from a small menu everyday. And they have a station at the beach with someone at the ready to set up beach chairs and unmbrella - all included with the stay!
We had a bit of a snafu with the package that we selected which included a packed lunch everyday. My advice would be to always keep your confirmation email handy in case of question. That said, our issue was graciously followed up on by the general manager. The Virginia prides itself on customer service and rectifying any complaints. I would definately stay again and reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderlust1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at the Virginia in May while in Cape May planning our wedding. The service was excellent, the room was beautiful and we had a very relaxing stay. The breakfast delivered to our room was definitely a plus!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £114 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing