We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel showing wear and tear but will still return!”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Virginia this summer and have for a few years now..This time the hotel is starting to show its age and I have read in previous reviews that the hote managment is aware of it...that being said we stayed in a room with 2 beds and as preparing to sleeping my husband noticed the sheets on one bed were "dirty" like someone rode a bicycle over them...and of course we stayed in the other bed and notified the front desk the next day and they were promptly changed..headboard on bed falling off but we fixed that..bathrooms could use.updating...some wifi issues with ipad but eventually ironed out...they changed the breakfast from the previous summer..not as good...that all being said..we will most likely return because the pros out weigh the cons..love beach service and all the other charm of the hotel of course the location!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youwhoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just came back from a weekend getaway with my wife and we had a blast! The hotel is pretty much in the center of everything so once you valet (free-parking!) you can walk to everything. Beach service was excellent although the weather was not the greatest, the desk and housekeeping staff was polite and always right there if we needed anything...which we did. Loved our room. It was a cool mix of Victorian with a little retro. I will say we stayed on the first floor and at night you could here some noise but nothing to keep you up at night. My only regret was not eating in the restaurant as I heard it is wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langmike249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

While the website advertises beautiful food and gorgeous accomodations, the hotel itself is tired and shows a great deal of wear - the toilet seats are scratched up and disgusting looking. Ew! Service is incredibly slow and not particularly cheerful, as if we actually annoyed them with our presence. Breakfast was meager and our picnic lunch was SOGGY by the time we received it on the beach. There was also a hair in the cheese, which looked like leftovers from the night before. The room was relatively clean, but had major stains on the sofa and walls..not worth the high rates charged over Labor Day weekend..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Spent a week at the Red Cottage which is part of The Virginia Hotel and was very happy with the room and amenities. Went to the beach daily where we enjoyed lunch served at our lounge chairs. Enjoyed the pool and spa at Congress Hall. The Virginia Hotel and Red Cottage decor were modern and clean, refreshing for someone who doesn't care for the old fashioned Victorian decor that most bed and breakfast's offer in Cape May. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This includes the beach staff who help with chairs and umbrellas, pool servers, wait staff at the Blue Pig Tavern, girls at Tommy's Folly, front desk upon check in at The Virginia Hotel and can't forget the valets at The Virginian Hotel. Rented bikes and rode to the lighthouse. Enjoyed the 4th of July picnic and fireworks. Enjoyed parasailing, shopping, touring Beach Plum Farm and long beach walks. The only reason I didn't give this property an excellent rating was due to issues with cocktails. We attempted to have drinks on the porch at The Virginia Hotel. The server was extremely busy (not his fault he needed help). We waited a long time for him to take our order but that wasn't too bad because the porch atmosphere is relaxing. My excitement for a pricey drink quickly faded when it arrived with a sad old strawberry and mint that was rotted. When I mentioned it to our server he quickly became frazzled. Again not his fault. Shame on the bartender for serving it that way. The fruit tray from the kitchen came out with gorgeous strawberries I guess they don't use the same fruit for the drinks. During the 4th of July picnic at Congress Hall we wanted to order one of the three patriotic cocktails that were featured on a lovely brochure promoting them for the 4th. The bartenders didn't know what we were talking about when we tried to order one, that seemed odd. The food and beverage manager had a smart remark that they couldn't possibly serve 2000 people those drinks and it was for later in the week. We never saw the drinks offered later in the week. In the evening we went to the Brown Room with guests that stayed at another hotel. We wanted to show them a good time and the wonderful amenities of the resort. The wait for a cocktail was unbearable and the bartender made no attempt to smile or make eye contact to simply let us know he'd be with us soon. Needless to say we left after one drink and our friends weren't impressed with the service. Since this is considered the week of the summer that everyone should shine we felt that the beverage situation fell short. We will return because this really is one of the most upscale resorts on the Jersey Shore. The town offers many wonderful restaurants and the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed at The Virginia for a number of years. It was always top notch in every aspect. The staff friendly and helpful, wonderful bedding, & great front porch! Unfortunately, this past visit had some disappointing aspects. The breakfasts served had less food items and 2 people in our party had hair on their trays. (loss our appetites) The young men caring for the beach services work very hard. However, they are allowed to give only 2 umbrellas for 4 people. We had 4 separate rooms and each couple needed the shade. The chairs and umbrellas are removed starting at 5:30PM. So if you intend on enjoying early evenings on the beach, it is best to bring your own chairs and umbrellas. We tipped these young men, and then find that we were charged $41 beach service on our bill. Our opinion is that the CapeGroup has spread themselves too thin with all their properties. The Virginia is an expensive hotel, and we expected the same attention to detail it had years ago. Sorry, this has changed.

Room Tip: First floor rooms small and near kitchen. Also, lighting from next door restaurant shines in easter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would ask that you please contact the hotel directly so we may investigate the beach charges you incurred. Our Beach Service is complimentary so you should not have been billed for anything outside of Food or Beverage purchases.

Please accept my most sincere apology for the issues with your breakfast. Each try is inspected for quality, cleanliness, and correct fulfillment of each order prior to delivery but clearly we did not do a good enough inspection with your party.

Again, thank you for your comments and for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We always stay at the Virginia because we know it will be a wonderful experience every time. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff treats you like VIP. Its a wonderful stay, do not think twice about booking this enchanting hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I booked The Virginia Hotel as a "babymoon" this August at the recommendation of friends. When we made the reservation in the spring, we requested a quiet room on a lower floor. I'm about 6 months pregnant with twins so these were two important factors to us. Unfortunately, management put us in Room 102...which is lobby level and directly across from the kitchen door to the Ebbitt Room! Not exactly the peace & quiet we were looking for, especially since we could clearly hear glasses and silverware being clinked and clanked until midnight every night. Thankfully we both were able to sleep with the TV on, which muffled the sound.

Check in was average. We arrived just before Noon on a hot, sunny, BUSY day on Jackson St. and wanted to valet our car. The valet rudely told us right off the bat (before we even gave our name!) that our room was not ready. He then disappeared for a solid 10 minutes while we waited at the curb with our luggage as the car idled. Finally we got some assistance with our luggage, checked in, got the car parked and then stored our luggage for the remainder of the day while we headed to the beach.

The beach set up is very nice. We had some issues that very first day with the guy who was handling the chairs/towels...he apparently had set up some chairs from The Virginia for his buddies and was more interested in hanging out with them that that afternoon than attending to the guests! It was also VERY windy that day and one of The Virginia’s umbrellas dislodged itself and hit a woman in the head…this poor guy didn’t even know to stop what he was doing to check on the guest. The husband of the injured woman was practically screaming for this guy to get some ice. That to me is just poor training. The other issue we encountered was that the "Lifeguard Olympics" were being held right on our beach later in the week...apparently the reservations team didn't think to tell any of the guests that this would be going on. It made for an incredibly crowded beach and at one point, we were told we couldn’t go into the water for an hour. Not exactly a relaxing way to spend the day. Would have been nice to get a head’s up about that!

Our room - and the rest of The Virginia - was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The housekeeping service was great and for the most part, the staff friendly enough. We ate one night at The Blue Pig at Congress Hall and the food was mediocre while the service bordered on terrible. We experienced the same thing at The Rusty Nail. However, we had breakfast on the porch most mornings and it was very nice. I also had a massage at Congress Hall and loved it – great staff, excellent service.

Overall, fabulous ambiance at The Virginia, which seems to be the hallmark of Cape Resorts Group: great style, but very little substance. They seem to be doing everything right on the surface, but I think they have a long way to go in terms of staff training to really achieve the level of service their website, brochures, and in-room literature promises.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mepb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
269 reviews
0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £95 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing