We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Virginia Hotel in Cape May”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The Virginia Hotel in Cape May”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I just enjoyed another terrific stay at The Virginia Hotel in Cape May, where we have been guests for the past ten years. As usual, we welcomed back warmly, had a beautiful room and enjoyed the amenities that make The Virginia so restful and special: bed turn down service; clean towels twice daily; on-beach chairs, lounges, towels and umbrellas to name a few of our favorites. We also liked the new choices added to their breakfast menu and had fun trying out the new items.
We are looking forward to returning in 2013!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building may be quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dephalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    140
    50
    30
    15
See reviews for
51
391
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Not sure what these other guests experiences were like who are bad mouthing but I just returned from a weekend away with my sister and found it to be lovely. Yes the hotel is small as someone else mentioned but it adds to the charm. During my stay I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and right in the center of everything. The staff was friendly and courteous although somewhat hurried but professional none the less. The beach service is fantastic and we loved the breakfast...I recommend having it on the porch if the weather permits. Overall we found the Virginia to be first rate and have already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: We found the 3rd floor to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We found reception a bit brusque on arrival and had to prise details of self parking – not sure what the motivation for that was. Our room was on the third floor so we needed help with bags which was supplied by pleasant young man (no elevator).

Bedroom (308) was a reasonable size with comfortable bed and pillows. However the bed was extremely bouncy – made me feel that I was in a waterbed anytime my wife turned in the night! The bathroom seemed to be above the ice machine on the second floor and consequently tended to vibrate from time to time! The sleeping area was nice and quiet though. Deciphering the instructions for operating the television was a challenge.

Breakfast did not impress – one had to make a choice each night from a pretty limited selection which was then delivered on a tray in the morning to room, reception area or front veranda. Website does say “continental breakfast” and it certainly was that.

Hotel is in a great location downtown but is certainly not cheap. I’m not sure what I actually got for the premium I paid (a character building??). If I were visiting Cape May again I think I would probably shop around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El_Timon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I made our first visit to cape May last week and stayed at the Virginia Hotel. Our room and especially the bathroom were too small. the Ebbitt room food was good BUT the atmosphere was too loud. we won't be returning.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PattyZannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small and the dining room too noisy. I am disappointed to hear that these factors, in an otherwise flawless stay, would cause you not to return in the future. I do admit the lively, upbeat atmosphere of our dining room can be too much for some who maybe used to more tranquil settings. Please know we are working on solutions to control the acoustics so as to avoid noise issue moving forward. If you were to change your mind, I would be happy to assist you in personally overseeing your reservation to make sure that you received a more spacious accommodation. I hope you reconsider and I hope to one day welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My partner and I have stayed here a couple of times even though we own a summer home in the area. We faithfully have patronized the Ebbit Room and the bar at the hotel for their happy hours. This past summer, we ordered drinks and food and sat on the front porch. Upon receiving our check, we noticed they charged us full price for our wine. When this was brought to the servers attention, she said they no longer did happy hour prices on Sundays. When we told her the sign outside said it did, she told us this was a mistake.

We emailed the hotel and never received a response. We then wrote to the corporation and CEO and never received a response. We use to own an innin Vermont and prided ourselves on outstanding customer service. Even when the customer was wrong, we listened and addressed concerns. We feels this hotel along with the Blue Pig, Congress Hall and the Rusty Nail have slipped on customer service. We guess now it is all about the buck!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank villaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaMGT, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry for the lack of correspondence. I can not speak for the letters but I was unaware of any email sent to us regarding your stay. Please know, that it is of the greatest importance for us to not only listen to our guests feed back but acknowledge that feed back in a timely and professional manager. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly, I would like to discuss the issues you experienced during your stay. I may be reached directly at jmogavero@virginiahotel.com or at 609.884.5700. Again, my apologies for our delayed response and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Virginia this summer and have for a few years now..This time the hotel is starting to show its age and I have read in previous reviews that the hote managment is aware of it...that being said we stayed in a room with 2 beds and as preparing to sleeping my husband noticed the sheets on one bed were "dirty" like someone rode a bicycle over them...and of course we stayed in the other bed and notified the front desk the next day and they were promptly changed..headboard on bed falling off but we fixed that..bathrooms could use.updating...some wifi issues with ipad but eventually ironed out...they changed the breakfast from the previous summer..not as good...that all being said..we will most likely return because the pros out weigh the cons..love beach service and all the other charm of the hotel of course the location!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youwhoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just came back from a weekend getaway with my wife and we had a blast! The hotel is pretty much in the center of everything so once you valet (free-parking!) you can walk to everything. Beach service was excellent although the weather was not the greatest, the desk and housekeeping staff was polite and always right there if we needed anything...which we did. Loved our room. It was a cool mix of Victorian with a little retro. I will say we stayed on the first floor and at night you could here some noise but nothing to keep you up at night. My only regret was not eating in the restaurant as I heard it is wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langmike249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing