We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love this romantic hotel”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
wilm,de
1 review
“we love this romantic hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We have stayed here afew times and fall in love even more with each stay. Its a quiet and lovely hotel. The rooms are really modern 40's with all the admenities. Plasma tv ,mini bar , wonderful fresh fruit and muffins for breakfast delivered right to your room at your requested time and robes. The shower is excellent, you never want to get out and the toiletries are first class.
We had dinner at the ebbit room fantastic and memorable. The staff is wonderful and accomadating. We will always come back.

  • Liked — the sweet front lobby with fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bam705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    139
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
51
386
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Virginia Hotel Dec. 14th-16th to rest up before the upcoming holidays, and the pending arrival of our first child. I always find it helpful when folks review hotels if they give a little info about themselves, so I know where they're coming from, so to speak. My wife and I are young (in our early 30's) professionals, and, while not wealthy, do enjoy eating at nice restaurants and staying in nice hotels when we go away. While we generally do not stay at the Four Seasons on our vacations, neither do we slum it. We also try to make a point of going to one of the nicer restaurants in every city we visit on our vacations. That being said, on to the review:

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Virginia Hotel. We stayed in a third-floor room, and found it to be nice, although a bit small. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we both liked the more modern decor than seems to be the norm in the typical Cape May B & B. We're not real big on the whole Victorian motif, which was pretty much the main reason we chose to stay at the Virginia over some of the other hotels in the area. The Hotel itself was decorated beautifully for Christmas, on the inside at least. The outside was a little too Christmas Vacationish for my tastes (my TripAdvisor name nothwithstanding), but it was certainly festive. Also, unlike some other reviewers, we found the front-desk personnel to be very friendly and helpful.

While our stay was mostly positive, I should note that either the walls of our room were a bit thin, or the people staying in the adjoining room were very loud, as we could hear everything they said one night. Also, the shower did not drain very well. However, in the grand scheme of things, these were minor inconveniences, and quickly forgotten while I sipped a good beer in front of the roaring fire in the hotel lobby.

We also had dinner one evening in the hotel's restaurant. It was a bit expensive, but worth it, as both the food and the service were comparable to most similarly-priced restaurants in which we've dined.

As should probably be expected, the town of Cape May was less than lively while we were there, although it was decorated nicely for the holidays, and still pretty charming. My wife and I took a drive up to Stone Harbor since we used to go there in the summer with her family, and we thought it would be fun to go back while we were in the neighborhood. Stone Harbor made Cape May look like Vegas on fight night. Seriously, it was dead. We were "stuck" having to eat lunch at the only place open, which happened to be a sports bar. While I was quite happy to watch college basketball while we ate, my wife was not as thrilled. Oh well, beggars can't be choosers.

In summary, we enjoyed our stay at the Virginia, and hope to go back next Christmas, if we can find someone to watch our rugrat for a few days. If anyone has any questions, please feel free to email me.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkWGris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

We have stayed at the Virginia Hotel in the past and loved it but our most recent experience was so awful that we left early even though we had pre-paid for another night. We stayed in a front room with balcony on the night before Thanksgiving. The hotel staff had just decorated for Christmas but hung the lights wrong. Floodlights were shining directly into our windows and even with curtains drawn it was as bright as day in the middle of the night. Our first call to the front desk was around 10:30. The clerk chirped ever-so-cheerfully that she had no idea what to do and maybe we should just pull the blankets over our heads. Another call around midnight yielded the news that the lights were on a timer and would go off eventually -- "we think maybe 2 AM." At around 1:00 we went out and unplugged anything we could reach, but still got little sleep. When we decided to cut short our stay and checked out at 6AM, the clerks were sympathetic but not very helpful. We forfeited our second night's payment (which management never did refund) but at least we were able to go elsewhere and get some sleep.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Jersey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Lovely, freshly decorated accomodation, very comfortable bed, central location, and a nice breakfast with really good coffee. Very pleasant staff, but front desk a little disinterested. Parking is valet only. Nice small hotel feeling with popular but pricey restaurant. All in all, a VERY nice experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and room
  • Disliked — valet parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graces_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

The good: great location, nice breakfast, the restaurant Ebbitt room was excellent...probably the best Cape May can offer, free beach chairs and umbrella.

The bad: we had a room on the second floor which was extremely small and had a terrible view on a rooftop with a central a/c unit. Unfriendly staff at check-in/out. The blond chick working behind that counter should not be in customer service. The bell boy had more professionnalism and apoligized to us for her behavior. Also, dont be in a rush to have your car since they park them at the Congress Hall Hotel.

Even though this hotel is not bad overall, we would not stay here again just because of the awful service.

  • Liked — Restaurant and location
  • Disliked — Service and front desk and size of room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

My husband and I were in Cape May for a wedding and stayed at the Virginia b/c Congress Hall was booked. We LOVED this place! Has the small B&B feel, but still all the amenities of a true hotel. Rooms are great - we stayed in 203 and 305 - had to switch rooms because we booked late and that was all they had- but they did all the moving for us so it was a breeze. Valet parking, great beach service (chairs, waitstaff, umbrellas, etc.) perfect location near everything. Next time we are in Cape May we will stay here again instead of going to Congress - we loved it that much!

  • Liked — Cool decor and feel but not stuffy at all = plus the beach service and housekeeping!
  • Disliked — It was not cheap!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbcbNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The restaurant at the Ebbitt Room in the Virginia Hotel is amazing. Delicious, very good food. The calimari is the best I've ever had. Amazingly light. The hotel is very nice, but if you book a standard room, make sure it is not Room 101. Room 101 is on the first floor and is very noisy. It backs up to the back patio where the staff hangs out and there is also a table for large dinner parties where one was the night we stayed. Unbelieveable that the hotel would think this is acceptable. We had to keep our blinds closed the entire time. I cannot stress how disappointed we were in this room. There was no privacy and it was very noisey. The bed was small and uncomfortable. I hear the other rooms are lovely, we just got a bad one. A waste of money for sure.

  • Liked — The food at the Ebbitt Room.
  • Disliked — Our guest room.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Megan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing