We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed one night at The Virginia Hotel, it was a quick girls' trip to the beach. I loved everything about it! It is so quaint and impeccable. The room was lovely with comfy beds. The staff was attentive, very friendly and knowledgable. The breakfast wasn't huge, but very yummy and certainly enough for us. We had a special deal, and you couldn't beat the price!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    137
    49
    29
    15
See reviews for
50
384
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you're planning a trip to Cape May, the Virginia Hotel is a great option. It has the feel of a cozy New England B&B, with 19th c. decor and a wood burning fire place in the lounge. Our room on the second floor was spacious and included a rain shower and private balcony. The location is perfect for walking to shops, restaurants and beaches, in the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Virginia in early October but the weather was more like August so we lucked out. This hotel was great and I'd recommend it without qualification. The continental breakfast was the best I've ever had from room service (you can choose to have it served on the porches or in your room). We were meeting the ferry to Delaware early so we had it in our room. I would definitely repeat our stay but there were many cute b&b's on the street although I wouldn't trust that they could compete with the breakfast. We didn't have dinner in the hotel's dining room and that might have been a mistake.

Room Tip: Our double room was lovely but we did have to walk up a set of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klundberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Ebbitt Room at the Virginia is beautiful, comfortable, and fun.
I recently went to Cape May for a girls weekend with five friends.
We stayed somewhere else but wish we had stayed at The Virginia Hotel.
We loved the lounge and piano bar at The Ebbitt Room Restaurant.
Great drinks - "Ginger Lemonade" my favorite and nice atmosphere with comfy couches.
Right in the heart of all that is in Cape May - great street!
We will stay there next time!

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the rooms so N/A
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We loved everything about The Virginia Hotel - from the decor as we entered to the friendly, professional welcome. Our room wasn't ready, which we expected since we arrived early. When we returned, all of our belongings were in the room so we could just be at home. The room was a bit small and it did not seem that way because it was set up well. The one "downside" was was the Direct TV which we were not familiar with. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting The Virginia Hotel this past weekend, a visit that was postponed from last year due to Hurricane Sandy. It's a lovely hotel, with a very patient, friendly and professional staff. The room was spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. Cocktails and snacks on the porch are perfect after a day walking along the beach and shopping. Although I didn't dine at the restaurant, it was very busy all evening. Glad I had the opportunity to relax and listen to the piano player. We were particularly fortunate that the weather was so perfect. And fortunate that we were able to see a show at the Cape May Stage Saturday evening - a perfect venue for intimate, thought-provoking theater. I highly recommend Cape May in September generally and The Virigina Hotel particularly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

It was our second visit to The Virginia Hotel and we plan to return every September! So close to the beach and in the most lovely part of town. Beds are very comfortable and the Hotel provides chairs and towels for the beach. Also a delicious breakfast is delivered to the room. The coffee is excellent , the first thing you smell when you wake up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Christine_B13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Property: The Virginia Hotel
Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing