We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone had a different experiance”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights because the Doctors Inn in Cape May Court House, had a fire just before our scheduled arrival. So frantically we stopped into a McD to get on their wifi and find a place. The price is $85 more than Doctors. our room is small with few pleasures, this is NOT a B & B but a hotel. The continental breakfast is some bakery items and an egg. The price on our room goes up $20. just because its Friday. We booked through hotels.com and now see that Trip advisor has a 15% discount, free bottle of wine, and a $25 voucher to eat here if we booked thru them. Valet??? We were told to park our car one block away at the Congress and hoof it back. Being on Vacation not many of us want to park the car with some items still inside off premises. The rooms have direct TV (read the instructions in the room) A cash fridge$3. for a can of pop and some nice looking chocolates (prices on the bottom of each) We did not indulge because of the price and don't know how long they were sitting out. Well this is our first night at Cape May, when you start low, there is only one way to go, right?

Room Tip: Like to climb stairs with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMandSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Like other reviewers, our first impressions were wonderful. We arrived for a two night stay and were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, the valet who brought our bags to our room and then whisked away our car and by the crackling fire in the cozy lounge. Our room, 305 was small but well decorated. It was beautiful and let you know you were at the beach without being overdone. The entire hotel was warmly decorated in deep reds and warm woods. The wallpaper had some water stains if you looked closely as did the ceiling of our room.

In our room, the bed was comfortable but the pillows were VERY soft. The lamps in the room were a beautiful red but were beginning to show their age with some torn cloth, in fact, the little glass feet of one of the lamps in our room, broke off entirely and when we spoke with a staff member she mentioned that there was no extra lamp but there were plans for the rooms to be redecorated shortly. There was a warm down duvet on the bed which was lovely but in addition to that there was a sheet and a thick heavy blanket. It was very heavy to be under all those covers, either the duvet or the blanket would have been fine, not both. The biggest problem with the rooms lies in the fact that there is no sound proofing...I mean, none. We could hear the beeping of the safe from other rooms as people put their items away at night, we could hear keys jingling in the hall as people returned to their rooms. Our second night was a Friday night and people were out later and a few rooms returned and were quite noisy talking loudly and laughing through the halls which made it difficult to fall off to sleep. The lights in the bathroom literally only go on with the exhaust fan so anytime people got up in the night to use the bathroom, it could be heard. We even heard other people's alarm clocks. This took away from the relaxation and left us feeling a bit like we were back in our dorm days...

Breakfast was more than adequate each morning. It was served on a silver tray which we had brought to our room, although some others chose to eat by the fire downstairs or on the porches that were enclosed. You have choice of juice plus coffee or tea as well as choice of two items to eat. You could have a soft or hard boiled egg, granola, bagel, muffin, fruit cup. Additional items were only .75 each so anybody with a large appetite could be satisfied and not feel take advantage of. For my part, a bowl of fresh fruit and a toasted bagel were more than enough. The bagel was in a silver basket and kept fresh and hot. I was disappointed on the first morning however, when I woke early (6:30 ish, due to our room being on the east or ocean side of the building it was flooded with light) and around 7, I called down to ask for coffee to be sent up b/c our breakfast was scheduled to be sent up at 8. The front desk told me coffee service was set up at the base of the stairs and we could help ourselves. I have two problems with this, first I was not told about this the night before and should not have had to ask before being informed of this and second, you have to get dressed and make your way down which sort of takes away from the whole breakfast in your room idea. It would be nice to have the coffee service set up for those on their way out for a walk but also have it so you can have a pot of coffee sent up.

We enjoyed a day of shopping and ate our second night in the hotel's restaurant, The Ebbitt Room. It was so nice to wander down to an elegant dinner from our room and not have to brave the cold outside. Our entire dining experience was lovely and we capped the night off with coffee and drinks by the fire.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just half a block to the ocean and half a block to the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the 12 checkout on our last morning and the fact that our bags and car were well taken care of until we left town around 3.
Overall, a wonderful amazing getaway that was so, so close to being perfect but which fell short a few times. We will return and hope some of the issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First impressions are lasting impressions but can also be harbingers of things to come. The smiling, gracious desk attendant and valet set the tone for what was a weekend of elegant service and attention to detail.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished with fine linens, a mini-bar (fairly priced), flat screen TV, individual climate control and a spa shower that was a real treat. Downstairs, off the lobby, is a fireplace warmed sitting area in which you may have your continental breakfast served (on a silver platter, by the way). A well appointed bar in the Ebbitt Room provided a quiet spot for an afternoon drink. Our bartender, Helen, was friendly and quite knowledgeable about the history of the Virginia. Later in the evening, espresso and cognac on the verandah was served by Valerie, who managed to make excellent service look very easy. In fact, the entire staff made top-drawer service look effortless.
The Virginia is centrally located and within walking distance to darn near everything!
If you're looking for a lovely, elegant getaway spot, you need look no further, in my opinion. This hotel is a real charmer.

Room Tip: Creaky, original wooden floors are charming, but not if they're above your head. Rooms on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just enjoyed a stay at the Virginia Hotel in beautiful Cape May. We were warmly greeted at the front desk and our car was quickly parked by valet. Parking lot is behind Congress Hall Inn, just a short walk from Virginia Hotel. Room 308 décor was a pleasant surprise. Light clean and very comfortable. Not dark and stuffy at all. Room mid size, but plenty of drawer & closet space.
Most evenings stopped by the cocktail lounge before going out to dinner. I am on a new dietary restriction, but the friendly bartender was able to concoct a few non-alcoholic beverages from the lengthy inviting cocktail list, while my husband enjoyed more stronger libations.
Dining in Ebbitt Room, was a special treat. Once again,dietary restrictions were pleasantly accommodated. Breakfasts were served in the lobby area, front and side porches. Great way to start each day. Would have been nice to enjoy a cup of coffee in back garden area, but this was closed. Speaking of coffee and tea, Once breakfast is over, the self serve area for coffee and tea is closed down. Why not leave out as a nice hospitality gesture to guests so that they may enjoy cup for the road or to take up to room mid afternoon?
The Inn is within walking distance to beaches, town sites and Washington Street. Just open the door and there you are . Variety of restaurants still open for season. Virginia Inn has a great bar . burgers cheese plates etc. Our morning waitress at Inn also works at Blue Pig at Congress Hall.
always pleasant and providing excellent service. Disappointing meal at Blue Pig. Not worth the price for dinner. Try Mad Batter
Thanks to all at Virginia Inn for providing us with such wonderful service and memories. Charlie & Shari Brennan P.S. Enjoyed the surprise Halloween goodies left on our bed.

Room Tip: Room 308 on third floor, faces Jackson Street, but was quiet and peaceful during this time of year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We recently stayed at two properties (cottages) managed by Virginia and, essentially, enjoyed the array of facilities, location, and services. The cottages (Red and White) were older Victorian-style places that tastefully upgraded key area such as baths, TVs, and comfortable beds. Some imaginative alterations (five closet doors in one apartment behind which were toilets, small fridges or, actually, closets) and the usual noises of places with wooden stairs and thin walls made for some challenges. Over-all, the nearby main hotel with cocktail lounge and nice dining at the Ebbitts Room as well as the nearness of Washington Street Mall made this a convenient place. Accompanied by impeccable front desk, valet and breakfast service, the Virginia will spoil its guests for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f3lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a gem!
Starting with an inviting front porch and a wecloming greeting.
We knew we there in for a treat!
A small well decorated and appointed room,awaited us on the third floor.
Then,evening was like icing on a cake.
A lovely meal in the dining room ( one of the best duck dishes I've had in years)
Ending with friendly conversation, at an intimate bar, adjoining the lobby.
I'm not sure why Cape May's beach isn't on a few of the greats beach list, as it is quite lovely!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the virginia hotel for a couple of days during the week and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very pretty and comfortable. Our room was small but nicely decorated. Service was pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £94 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing