We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Virginia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedford Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
349
147
52
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
147
52
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsebbitt roomred cottagecontinental breakfastfront porchsilver traythe cottagescongress hallmy husband and ino elevatorvalet servicethird floorcape resortssister hotelthe main hotelboutique hotelyogurtspa shower
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We booked the Virginia Hotel as we were meeting good friends from Lewes who ferried over for dinner and an overnight stay. From the cozy lobby with fireplace, the warm reception from Julia at check-in, the comfortable rooms, a nice bar off the lobby and breakfast served in the rooms, we found it to be a perfect rendition of what a small hotel should be. Add to it the Ebbitt Room, one of Cape May's finer restaurants, and all you need during a stay was right there. It's right in the center of town.

It was a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyShoreJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Virginia Hotel and the place was very friendly and clean. The people were very so hospitable. They would do anything for you to make your stay more comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and the food was so good, and the staff was very polite and professional. The breakfast the next day was so delicious and you could eat out on the porch which made it even more special. It was so relaxing and such a great time at the Virginia. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is worth the trip, and go relax, enjoy and just have fun. Complements to the Virginia Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights because the Doctors Inn in Cape May Court House, had a fire just before our scheduled arrival. So frantically we stopped into a McD to get on their wifi and find a place. The price is $85 more than Doctors. our room is small with few pleasures, this is NOT a B & B but a hotel. The continental breakfast is some bakery items and an egg. The price on our room goes up $20. just because its Friday. We booked through hotels.com and now see that Trip advisor has a 15% discount, free bottle of wine, and a $25 voucher to eat here if we booked thru them. Valet??? We were told to park our car one block away at the Congress and hoof it back. Being on Vacation not many of us want to park the car with some items still inside off premises. The rooms have direct TV (read the instructions in the room) A cash fridge$3. for a can of pop and some nice looking chocolates (prices on the bottom of each) We did not indulge because of the price and don't know how long they were sitting out. Well this is our first night at Cape May, when you start low, there is only one way to go, right?

Room Tip: Like to climb stairs with your luggage.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMandSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Like other reviewers, our first impressions were wonderful. We arrived for a two night stay and were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, the valet who brought our bags to our room and then whisked away our car and by the crackling fire in the cozy lounge. Our room, 305 was small but well decorated. It was beautiful and let you know you were at the beach without being overdone. The entire hotel was warmly decorated in deep reds and warm woods. The wallpaper had some water stains if you looked closely as did the ceiling of our room.

In our room, the bed was comfortable but the pillows were VERY soft. The lamps in the room were a beautiful red but were beginning to show their age with some torn cloth, in fact, the little glass feet of one of the lamps in our room, broke off entirely and when we spoke with a staff member she mentioned that there was no extra lamp but there were plans for the rooms to be redecorated shortly. There was a warm down duvet on the bed which was lovely but in addition to that there was a sheet and a thick heavy blanket. It was very heavy to be under all those covers, either the duvet or the blanket would have been fine, not both. The biggest problem with the rooms lies in the fact that there is no sound proofing...I mean, none. We could hear the beeping of the safe from other rooms as people put their items away at night, we could hear keys jingling in the hall as people returned to their rooms. Our second night was a Friday night and people were out later and a few rooms returned and were quite noisy talking loudly and laughing through the halls which made it difficult to fall off to sleep. The lights in the bathroom literally only go on with the exhaust fan so anytime people got up in the night to use the bathroom, it could be heard. We even heard other people's alarm clocks. This took away from the relaxation and left us feeling a bit like we were back in our dorm days...

Breakfast was more than adequate each morning. It was served on a silver tray which we had brought to our room, although some others chose to eat by the fire downstairs or on the porches that were enclosed. You have choice of juice plus coffee or tea as well as choice of two items to eat. You could have a soft or hard boiled egg, granola, bagel, muffin, fruit cup. Additional items were only .75 each so anybody with a large appetite could be satisfied and not feel take advantage of. For my part, a bowl of fresh fruit and a toasted bagel were more than enough. The bagel was in a silver basket and kept fresh and hot. I was disappointed on the first morning however, when I woke early (6:30 ish, due to our room being on the east or ocean side of the building it was flooded with light) and around 7, I called down to ask for coffee to be sent up b/c our breakfast was scheduled to be sent up at 8. The front desk told me coffee service was set up at the base of the stairs and we could help ourselves. I have two problems with this, first I was not told about this the night before and should not have had to ask before being informed of this and second, you have to get dressed and make your way down which sort of takes away from the whole breakfast in your room idea. It would be nice to have the coffee service set up for those on their way out for a walk but also have it so you can have a pot of coffee sent up.

We enjoyed a day of shopping and ate our second night in the hotel's restaurant, The Ebbitt Room. It was so nice to wander down to an elegant dinner from our room and not have to brave the cold outside. Our entire dining experience was lovely and we capped the night off with coffee and drinks by the fire.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just half a block to the ocean and half a block to the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the 12 checkout on our last morning and the fact that our bags and car were well taken care of until we left town around 3.
Overall, a wonderful amazing getaway that was so, so close to being perfect but which fell short a few times. We will return and hope some of the issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First impressions are lasting impressions but can also be harbingers of things to come. The smiling, gracious desk attendant and valet set the tone for what was a weekend of elegant service and attention to detail.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished with fine linens, a mini-bar (fairly priced), flat screen TV, individual climate control and a spa shower that was a real treat. Downstairs, off the lobby, is a fireplace warmed sitting area in which you may have your continental breakfast served (on a silver platter, by the way). A well appointed bar in the Ebbitt Room provided a quiet spot for an afternoon drink. Our bartender, Helen, was friendly and quite knowledgeable about the history of the Virginia. Later in the evening, espresso and cognac on the verandah was served by Valerie, who managed to make excellent service look very easy. In fact, the entire staff made top-drawer service look effortless.
The Virginia is centrally located and within walking distance to darn near everything!
If you're looking for a lovely, elegant getaway spot, you need look no further, in my opinion. This hotel is a real charmer.

Room Tip: Creaky, original wooden floors are charming, but not if they're above your head. Rooms on the upper floors are quieter, if you don't mind the stairs. (No elevator)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews