We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cape may gem....”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

we spent Saturday evening here...so happy we choose this...the rooms are lovely and extremely clean....great little bar off the lobby,fire roaring in the sitting room...such history and charm...walking distance to middle of town square...ocean just a few houses away...perfectly centrally located

Room Tip: we stayed in an end room...room 301..as long as you have no issues climbing stairs it was in great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jude4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just spent two nights at The Virginia hotel as our normal favorite bed and breakfast was closed on the days we wanted to stay. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. We really appreciated the off season rates-very affordable! The front desk was friendly and efficient, the rooms were extremely clean, comfortable beds, nice quality amenities in the bath. Enjoyed continental breakfast which we was served downstairs in the lounge in front of the fireplace (can also have it served in your room or during the warmer months on the front porch of the hotel). We took advantage of happy hour with nice drink prices at the bar both nights. A few minor issues we noticed: it has been quite cold in the mid-Atlantic states and when we checked in the hotel and our room was very cold. Maintenance was able to quickly get the heat in our room working well again although it took quite some time for the room to really warm up (probably due to the building being quite chilly). With that, a throw on the couch in the room would have been quite welcome to cover yourself with while reading/watching television. The couch in the room was a bit uncomfortable as well. Minor issues though. As I said earlier, we routinely stay at bed and breakfasts while in Cape May but I would highly recommend to anyone to stay at The Virginia.

Room Tip: Spacious corner rooms are lovely. Lots of windows, very bright, lots of space to spread out within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gallactictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed during MLK weekend in room 208.
The staff at the hotel could not have more professional and friendly.
My problem was with the room, which I'm sure was specific to room 208.
The stairway to the 3rd floor is next to one wall of the room, while an ice maker was on the other end. noise most of the night from one or the other.
Decor left a bit to be desired.torn red lining of red lamp shades and wall paper that looks like big eyes all over, with an all over bordello chic style.
On the plus, housekeeping did a fine job all over the hotel.

Room Tip: Say no to room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graphixguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the most charming hotel I have ever experienced. From the moment you walk in through the welcoming red doors, you will feel the comfortable yet elegant ambiance of this lovely hotel. The warm weather months are great to enjoy the front porch, and a warm fire greets you in the colder months. The location is awesome, walking distance to everything. The only negative thing is there is no bellman to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Room Tip: The Virginia room has a wrap around balcony and spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I've stayed at a few Cape May hotels and BBs and "The Virginia" is still my favorite. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. The restaurant has been renovated and the food and service is superb. The hotel is also within walking distance of the beach. I love the modern yet warm and inviting decor of hotel...also if you go in during the holiday season it is always beautifully decorated. I'm heading there soon again and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for probably the tenth time at the Virginia, and have to say the excellence continues. The Victorian decor is elegant, and, being 3 days before Christmas, was extraordinary. The main thing that separates this hotel from so many others is the professionalism of the staff, from the desk, to the maitre'd to housekeeping and valet parking. They are obviously well-trained. The room was well decorated with great linens and mattress. The room-delivered continental breakfast was very good. Of course one of the prime reasons we return so often, is to eat at the Ebbitt Room. The new configuration of the bar makes for a very comfortable pre-dinner drink, and the meal was as spectacular as anticipated. The hotel just provides an extremely pleasant stay in Cape May. The only negative was my fault, having a bad knee and not requesting a 1st or 2nd floor room. The trek to the 3rd floor was arduous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The rooms are in the old style and the attached restaurant is exquisite. Within walking distance to the beach, we did stay in December and I would not consider staying here in the summer due to the fact that I like to be closer to the beach and usually rent near the beach. This place was perfect for seeing the holiday lights and sitting by the fire and having a cocktail next to the christmas tree.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddwillms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#13 of 37 in Cape May
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £83 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing