We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Virginia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$260
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Macomber(Cape May)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
348
147
52
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
147
52
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsebbitt roomred cottagecontinental breakfastfront porchsilver traythe cottagescongress hallmy husband and ino elevatorvalet servicethird floorcape resortssister hotelthe main hotelboutique hotelyogurtspa shower
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our daughter got married at "The Virginia Hotel" in Oct. 09. Our family and friends booked all 24 rooms. From the time we pulled up to unload the car (valet Eddie was a big help) to the time we checked out, the service was outstanding.Rooms very clean,maid service outstanding. Front desk friendly and very helpful. Bar staff and restaurant servers, especially Leo and Monica, top rate! The restaurant, The Ebbitt Room" *****stars,served a meal that had people applauding when we asked Chef Lucas Manteca to come to the dining room. Guest were remarking that they had stayed in other small hotels all over the world and The "Virginia" would be at the top of their list. Managers Justin, Johanna and Wedding Planner Julie... all I can say is "Thank you! thank you ! thank you! " We cried all the way home because your flawless staff made this weekend extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastimeasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is a beautiful hotel walking distance to the beach and washingon st mall on one of the most beautiful streets in Cape May. As with many of the older buildings, the rooms are relatively small but beautifully appointed with all the expected amentities. Service was excellent. Ebbitt's room restaurant downstairs is wonderful. Mad Batter is next door.
There may be better values in Cape May but I was not disappointed with the Virginia Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

1. The hotel is in a good location, but there's also about 200 other small hotels like this in the same area so don't let location sway you.

2. Parking is HORRIBLE. Yes they have valet, however, basically you stop your car on the street. No-one can get around you because the street is to narrow which means you litterially stop traffic. You get out, go into the hotel, wait in line at the front desk, tell them you have a car that needs valeted, run out to your car, grab all of your stuff and the valet drives your car away with 20 mad people starring at you. Make sure you grab everything you need during your stay.

3. Went to the restaraunt and told hostess that we needed a table for two for desert. For some reason she went back to talk to her manager. The manager said no. Really, he said no. The hostess came back and said that they don't like people to get desert because it holds up tables for other guests. Not wanting to argue, I said fine, we will just get it via room service and then her attitude changed and she said, "Oh! I didnt know you were a hotel guest! Let me ask him again." She wasn't able to speak to him and sat us anyway. We sat next to 4 empty tables that never filled up.

4. The hotel is romantic, but look, it's a victorian home, all victorian homes are romantic so don't let that sway you. There's 200 of them surrounding this one.

5. Bed was comfortable but pillows were bulky. If you like thin pillows bring your own.

6. Room had blow dryer, soap, and shampoo. Towels for only two people, for one shower each. If you go to beach, and shower when you get back you are out of luck the next morning unless you call for new towels. Look management, it's near the beach, give extra towels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shopkins1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Expect at over $400 a night - quality but all I got was attitude. Checked in and the room we had was nice #211, until we learned at midnight that it is above the restaurant. You could hear the dishwasher running and the restaurant staff throwing out bottles all night. I called downstairs three times to complain only to be told in a blase attitude - they will be finished cleaning up soon. The young lady at the reception desk could benefit in a course in customer service. Every question of her took so much effort. Maybe it is only a summer job but come on.............
Breakfast was very nice delivered to our room but one cup and the silverware was dirty. Also one cup missing.
After leaving the hotel, realized I had left an item behind. The fact that they mailed it to me pronto changed my view of the negative experience to date until I recieved my American Express and noted they charged me $5 for mailing the item. This was petty. A truly classy hotel would have sent on and not charged. Could be a first rate B&B since the restaurant is excellent but the lack of attention to detail makes it fall short and disappoints.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We loved this hotel..the location is excellent, can walk everywhere..the breakfast is lovely; fruit, yogurt, muffins and coffe on the porch, your room or the lounge..close to the beach..staff was very helpful..price was a bit much but was worth it...We would definately return!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youwhoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews