We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Zoo by far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape May County Park & Zoo

Cape May County Park & Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Have a wild time as you explore more than 85 acres of beautifully maintained exhibits. With 200 different species of mammals, birds, amphibians and reptiles and approximately 500 animals, you're sure to see something new. The Cape May County Zoo is open 364 days a year (closed Christmas). Summer Hours: 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Winter Hours: 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. beginning November 1st. No admission fee. That's right! The zoo is free of charge! Donations are GREATLY appreciated! Join the FUN, where the admission is always FREE!
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Zoo by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We love going to this zoo, it is FREE and beautiful. They keep it so clean, the animals look wonderful and there is plenty to see and enjoy. They do accept donations which we love to give a few dollars each time we go. The kids love to visit here often, well worth the trip every time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heavensnorthstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    160
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Little Zoo Around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I absolutely adore the Cape May County Zoo. It isn't huge, most the viewing areas are in shade, food, drinks and rest rooms are available. Handicapped parking is available. It is well kept. The Zoo Keepers are friendly and will answer your questions. And you can get close to the animals for your viewing pleasure. The Zoo also offers different special events through the year.
I have been having a wonderful time following the breeding activity of the resident Snow Leopards, Himani and Vijay, since 2010.
I go to the zoo to do photography, even though I'm only a novice.
Earlier in the day and towards closing seems to be when the animals are most active.
For younger couples without children, parents with pre-school age children, or older couples who prefer to visit places not crowded with children, I'd suggest visiting the zoo between Sept. and May. For parents with children old enough to use such facilities, there is a nice play ground adjacent to the zoo and also a lake on the front of the property.
The zoo is "free" but is maintained by donations, so be generous! It's a real gem and deserves the support of the public.
I highly recommend the zoo to anyone who enjoys zoos!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boardwalk in the Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We loved the Savannah path and the baby snow leopards at play! The Bird house is a must-see and there were plenty of other animals to enjoy as well. We went on a Thursday at about 2:30 and missed all the school buses. The peacocks were very accommodating with their feathery finery.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bodotummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice little zoo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I visited this zoo one day last week when we were in the area on vacation. Very well maintained, clean, pleasant little zoo. It was a bit rainy the day we went, so some of the animals chose to stay inside their buildings and we couldn't see them. Couldn't see the snow leopard cubs or the tiger, and no sign of the giraffes either. The birds and small mammals were great. The reptile house was very interesting. Lots of informative signs everywhere, so it was a learning experience. It is free, so be sure to make a donation to keep the zoo open.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elkiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cape May County Park & Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is great day trip for anyone and it is free admission although donations are appreciated! My husband and I enjoyed walking around through the park and know our grandchildren would have loved it also. The grounds are very clean and there are a large selection of aninals to see, which seem to be well kept. Although some of the animals were still in their inside enclosures and could not be seen (bears, zebra, giraffes) due to clean up of their outside grounds, the day was still enjoyable and worth the trip.
Playground for children, food and drink available and clean restrooms. No smoking in zoo, but does have designated smoking area before entering zoo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank STK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May County Park & Zoo also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May County Park & Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing