We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly campground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This campground is in a good location to explore Cape May but because of the tight turns and overhanging trees this would be a difficult park for new big rig drivers. The entry way into the park is narrow with a brick pillar on each side so swing wide with your big rig when going in. Our 40ft Class A was fine on all roads leading to the park so you can avoid the tolls on the New Jersey turnpike. It is a large campground but only about half the sites are available to RVers for rent and the rest are occupied by permanent travel trailers. Of those sites to rent, two thirds are full hookups, the rest are power and water sites only. The roads in the park are hard packed gravel and the sites are level grass and gravel with a nice space for your table, chairs and fire ring. The trees are great for shade but make it nearly impossible to get your satellite to work. Sprint phone barely showed a bar and our hot spot was like dial-up at best. Bathrooms are large and clean but the showers were coin operated. Laundry room, pavilion, office and pool were all clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are a multitude of planned activities and there is a snack bar near the pool that serves fast food and ice cream.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Spent 4 nights here ..plenty of activities for everyone. Located near lots of attractions.. don't miss the free Cape May County Zoo. The pool was crowded most days because of the heat but we had the option and took it to utilize the small lake with the fish bumping our legs. The kids were having fun trying to catch the fish with their hands! We had a great relaxing time at this campground and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Rented one of their park model trailers. Was told wrong size linens to bring. Drunk teenagers running around all night and hanging out. Neighbors doing drugs out in plain view of my children. Kid puked in the pool, skimmed out and reopened in under 30 minutes. Staff could careless since we only had 2 days lefts and the druggies just got here $$$ talks I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TerrieENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spent 3 nights at BTL and enjoyed the campground very much. Large, wooded sites - ours had a great view of the lake. The kids enjoyed being able to go to the snack bar for ice cream. We felt safe letting them bike around on their own. The pool was very clean and had good hours as they stayed open a little late (8pm) due to the extreme heat. We didn't get to play mini golf but the course looked great, especially for a campground. Overall the grounds we incredibly maintained. We didn't participate in their scheduled events so can't comment on them.

We opted for the gate key card. Required a $10 security deposit but that was returned to us. I don't think we ever used the card though because the gate is generally manned.

The camp store was lacking. Not that we needed anything really but we always enjoy looking around a store for any cool camping items we find inspiring. They also didn't really have many groceries if you ran out of something. Also, their wi-fi was very funky. You could sign on for 24 hours and then use it for 2 hours per day. Something screwy like that. We never signed in.

The only thing that kept me from a 5 star rating is the bathhouse. The bathhouses close for an hour and a half twice per day for cleaning. Never really saw evidence of cleaning and the closing hours were inconvenient ones (lunch time?). We didn't end up using the showers and just stuck to our RV shower. I didn't mind that they a quarter - who cares about that - but they didn't give me much comfort in the cleanliness department.

Overall a very pleasant few days. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a site near the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMama02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon E, Manager at Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we appreciate hearing from our campers.

We have two bath houses, and they are closed once during the day for major cleaning and then again briefly in the evening. (They are never closed at the same time.) If at any time it is reported to us that the bath house needs attention, we do respond to it immediately. Unfortunately, there is not a perfect time to close the bath houses for cleaning; the shower facilities are most commonly used early in the morning and in the evening, so we schedule our cleaning around the middle of the day. As an added note, the 25-cent shower fee prevents anyone from leaving the water running and thereby ensures that our campers can have a hot shower when they want one!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - we look forward to having you back so you can try our mini golf course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yannick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC-SunRVSunshineTeam, The Sun RV Sunshine Team at Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Martine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
11.3 mi away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
9.7 mi away
Holly Shores Camping Resort
1.4 mi away
Sea Pines RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
201 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cape May KOA
Cape May KOA
#15 of 18 in Cape May
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doctor's Inn
Doctor's Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort

Address: 116 Swainton Goshen Rd, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-1411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cape May Court House
Price Range: £39 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest in resort family camping at Big Timber Lake - in the heart of the Jersey Cape. You'll find all the wonders of life in the wilderness with all the conveniences of a modern campground.Enjoy all the fabulous recreational facilities such as a swimming pool, on-site lake, kayak rentals, miniature golf, hiking,planned events and much more.Just minutes away in Cape May, you'll find sailing and pleasure boating, fresh local seafood, sightseeing, shopping, and exciting night life. At Big Timber Lake you can have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Hotel Cape May Court House
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort New Jersey/Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing