We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice campground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
South Fallsburg, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Really nice campground”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I went to this campground because the one we usually stay at did not have space. I am very happy they didn't because we had a great experience. We found the staff to be very friendly and knowledgeable, and the grounds were kept very clean and safe. There were families with kids of all ages and the campground appeared to cater to the kids. There were plenty of activities for them, day and evening. In fact one of the nights the campground staff showed movies, for the kids, on a large portable screen. The cost for the campground was reasonable. We had a pull through site that was gravel/dirt and was not as level as I would have liked but the size was very adequate and each site appeared to have a picnic table and a fire ring. There is a nice sized pool that was kept very clean. We didn't tow a car this trip and called Enterprise. Even though they are 15 minutes away they came and picked us up when they said they would. All in all I would recommend this campground to anyone that wants to visit the Cape May area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    31
    17
    2
    8
See reviews for
91
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We got a good deal through Living Social to visit this campground. We arrived and the people were all very friendly. I wish when we made our reservations that we were told about the activities that they'd have on the Saturday/Sunday of our arrival ahead of time so we could have planned to enjoy them. I also wish that we were told that the game room and snack shack would be open, as well as the fact that they had no basketball to borrow, or Bocce ball equipment. Those were definitely some things that made us unhappy. We had planned on staying on site and enjoying what they had to offer, and the only thing we really could do there was fish (with worms you got elsewhere since they didn't have those yet) or do their minigolf for $3/person. Again, everyone was very courteous, more than helpful once there, and wanted to make sure we were having an enjoyable time. It wasn't very crowded, as we seemed to be the only ones actually camping. Another recommendation is that if you get the rustic cabin option, BRING A MATTRESS TOPPER! The mattress is thin and on top of plywood. We had to go to Wal Mart and buy something to put on top to make it a little better. The sleep still sucked. I'm sure this is a wonderful place once the pool is open and all else is up and running! I would've had a worse time if everyone hadn't been so nice there! We caught some Sunny's, so bring a rod and some worms or hotdogs if you have kids. Playground is nice there as well, and they do have a laundry facility at the bath houses. I would go back for another week in season, but I'd bring something else to sleep on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCorey62580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been going to Big Timber Lake for 5 years and out of all the campgrounds we have been to this is by far THE BEST! Extremely clean, family oriented, activities are well planned and top notch, and fees are very reasonable. We LOVE this place and would never seek another site to visit. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NayiNorthfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two small dogs in our new travel trailer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a pull-through site, which was dirt/gravel and not entirely level, but I felt it was a decent size. It had a nice picnic table and fire ring. One of the things I really loved about this campground was that there was a dirt/sand walking trail behind both of the lakes along the woods. This was a great place to walk the dogs. The campground was relatively quiet, although my husband was awakened by some loud music early in the morning before "quiet time" was over. I felt the campground was quite clean and safe. The pool looked absolutely beautiful, although we didn't have time to use it. It also had a very cute miniature golf course. Our site was very easy to get in and out of. The water pressure was quite good. The campground is in a nice location-- very close to Stone Harbor and about 15 or 20 minutes from Cape May. We would definitely stay here again. The dogs loved their walks on the trail behind the lakes.

Room Tip: The back-in sites seemed much roomier and more private than the pull-through sites, although the pul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sillyyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Good family fun. I highly recommend to anyone with family. Clean Bathrooms, friendly staff... We rented a trailer for a week. It was clean and well equiped. I understand that they will replace the carpet with hardwood floors which will be more appropriate. When planning your day at the beach, don't hesitate to get your Avalon Beach tags from the office. This is one of the best beach of the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a wonderful time here! Everything is very clean and the people are very nice! If you like to photograph nature there is a lot to capture! Butterflies, fish, turtles and frogs... I found two minor setbacks. First is that there are no lounge or regular chairs in the pool area. There are no tables either. We camped with grown children but if we had little ones it would be very annoying to lug chairs to the pool area. Resin chairs are very cheap, I don't understand why they wouldn't provide "something" to sit on. Second is that the animals there are very brave. Four of us sitting by a fire when less than five feet away a raccoon attempted to get in our garbage and wasn't bothered by us sitting there AT ALL. This isn't the campground's fault but it is something you should be aware of. You cannot leave any kind of food out. During the day the squirrels are just as brave.. We camp quite often and have stayed at many places where you could leave unopened items out and they wouldn't be touched by animals. I also think that the camp store could be more stocked with items that guests might have forgotten to buy or pack. They would make a killing in that store with the right items in stock! Most of the shelves were bare.

Room Tip: If you don't want to leave the grounds after setting up camp make sure you don't forget anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've read the reviews on tripadvisor before we left so I watched out for those items. I never saw any of them. This campground is wonderful - clean - well maintained - the security is so good (especially at the front gate) that my husband accidently left his wallet out all night at our campsite on a table by the firepit and it was there the next morning! The bathrooms are very clean and the shower is 25 cents but I was done showering well before my first quarters time was over. The entertainment was fun - Cheeseburger in Paradise theme - Jimmy Buffet music. Folks were friendly - staff was very friendly and our family reunion was great fun - Bocce ball tournament was fun! - nice site for our 26 footer RV - Can't say enough except we will be back next year earlier in the summer and stay longer than the 3 nights we were there. p.s. get the bug spray that smells good and that problem is over before you walk out the RV's door to go bike riding on great bike trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
5.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
5.7 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
152 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
11.3 mi away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
11.2 mi away
Cape May KOA
Cape May KOA
#15 of 19 in Cape May
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort

Property: Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Address: 116 Swainton Goshen Rd, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-1411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cape May Court House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest in resort family camping at Big Timber Lake - in the heart of the Jersey Cape. You'll find all the wonders of life in the wilderness with all the conveniences of a modern campground.Enjoy all the fabulous recreational facilities such as a swimming pool, on-site lake, kayak rentals, miniature golf, hiking,planned events and much more.Just minutes away in Cape May, you'll find sailing and pleasure boating, fresh local seafood, sightseeing, shopping, and exciting night life. At Big Timber Lake you can have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Hotel Cape May Court House
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort New Jersey/Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing