We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find! Warm & Friendly”
Review of Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doctor's Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were lucky to find this place at the last minute. We were pleasantly surprised- it was a great value for the money. The staff were very helpful- they provided us with beach passes as well. The breakfasts were scrumptious. Truly a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dctrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We will strive to maintain our standards and satisfy our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is the perfect jumping point for all South Jersey beaches and related activities. First, you will be delighted and well-fed with a buffet style breakfast that includes bacon, eggs, waffles or pancakes, a variety of fruit, assorted breads/bagels, homemade jams/jellies, and the usual coffee, tea, oj, milk and even little boxes of cereal for the really finicky eater. Beach badges for Avalon/Stone Harbor are included in the room rate make this a great value. Walk to Cape May CH to rent a bike and ride from your front door to the zoo via a wonderful paved bike trail. Or ride directly from the hotel to Stone Harbor and back. Hotel is comfortable and quiet with large, spacious, well-appointed rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are away from the road;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We feel the same way! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Doctor's inn. It was very nice stay over all. The location in cape may court house makes this a nice quiet getaway spot. Great if you are exploring Avalon, or Stone Harbor, and still not far from wildwood or Cape May. The room was clean and had nice antiques. It was a nice alternative to the pricey bed and breakfast places in cape may that make you stay for 2 nights minimum. There is only one room on the first floor, so make sure you can climb stairs if you can't get room # 0. I had no problem with the stairs myself. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Scrambled eggs, bacon apple pancakes and delicious local farm fresh jams. They should sell the jams because they are so good! The hostess was very nice and helpful. I did notice some spider webs around the front porch outside. But the spiders appeared to be very active around the parking lot. Perhaps the grounds could benefit from a treatment for the insects to alleviate this issue. Overall the stay was nice and affordable considering it was the fourth of July holiday weekend. I would stay here again when in the area. The website has a lot of history on the building and the people who live there. I would suggest including some of the info in the rooms for those who might not have looked as closely at the internet site.

Room Tip: Only book room 0 for those who can't climb stairs with a suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senoritajanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We love getting good reviews and we appreciate your suggestions about the outdoor pest population. We hope to see you again soon. We have great rates in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Found this property after extensive searching online and was a bit concerned about the location (not in downtown Cape May). Decided to try it out for two nights right after Memorial Day. My partner and I both commute into work and couldn't make it there until late Friday night, but someone was waiting for us upon arrival to hand us our keys and to welcome us. I believe the owner lives in the house adjacent.

Breakfast is self-serve and buffet style, but there was an attendant there both mornings to greet us and make sure coffee was refilled and we had what we needed. The food was fine both mornings-- bacon, great breakfast potatoes, mini pancakes in different styles and the usual assortment of fruit, yogurt, cereals and breads. There are two rooms to dine in and there weren't many other guests either morning, so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Classical music piped into the dining room, which was a nice touch.

We stayed in the bridal suite-- more for the balcony than anything else-- but it was a spacious and accommodating room for two people, apart from the hilariously kitschy goose in a bridal costume that greets you from a table right as you walk in. The antique furniture was exquisite, and this is coming from someone not all that familiar with the world of antique furniture. The metal chairs on the balcony were a bit uncomfortable-- especially after baking in the hot summer sun all day-- but it was enjoyable to sit outside and daydream (note that half of the view is over the parking lot rather than a lush garden).

On Saturday morning we wanted to borrow the complimentary beach badges and had to call the B&B (since there is no real front desk) in order to ask about them. The young woman who prepared the breakfast signed them out for us and brought them right up to our room. They were for a beach we had never been to in Stone Harbor, but it ended up being a gorgeous first beach day of the season and a very cute and likeable little town to stroll around.

The location of Doctor's Inn ended up being a blessing in disguise since we had never been to the Cape May Courthouse area and the house was tucked away off of the main road just far enough to be a retreat. We also never would have discovered the other smaller beach towns such as Stone Harbor, in the opposite direction of Cape May 'proper.'

Not enough to ruin the experience of getting away, but two small qualms with the room-- The sliding glass door to the balcony did not have a screen, and there were an abundance of large black ants (outdoors and occasionally indoors) that made it hard to leave the door open for some fresh air. The house is old, and it was summer, so insects were understandable, but a screen door just seemed like it would add to the bonus of having a balcony.

The other off-putting experience was trying to take a bath in the Jacuzzi tub. The stained glass window was pretty and the curtains made it private, but the jets seemed like they hadn't been cleaned in a while (or hadn't been run recently) and were a bit dirty, spewing that back into the tub while it ran. The Jacuzzi also had a difficult time starting the jets and ultimately I just took a quick bath and decided to forgo the Jacuzzi experience.

With that said, the house itself was nothing but charming and has a great history if you choose to look into it. We didn't have any problems over our quick two-night stay, but I did notice scant help around the house during the day. If you are someone who really likes to connect with your Innkeeper or the B&B owners, this property was a bit more hands-off in its approach (which was fine for us).

A few imperfections, but a pleasant weekend away proved The Doctor's Inn to be far from cold and clinical. I would recommend this inn to anyone tired of the same Cape May hotels and looking for a little peace and quiet just one town over.

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite has a balcony, which was lovely for an afternoon read or evening glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreetingsfromAsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We enjoy hearing from our guests. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a very active insect population in this area that we may have to take a more aggressive approach to controlling. Thanks for the heads up. The pictures you took were better than some of the professional shots of our Inn. We appreciate you posting them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent 2 nights in this charming Victorian mansion. although we were on the 3rd floor, carrying our luggage up the staircase, it was worth it. Our room was well appointed, had AC, lovely spa tub , and comfortable Victorian bed. The innkeeper ws very gracious and friendly and was willing to accommodate any dietary needs for breakfast. A full breakfast was served. Fresh fruit, eggs, French toast, bagels, muffins and endless juices and coffee or tea. If the guests were available in the afternoon, tea was served with home baked treats. It was a charming place to stay with much to see and do in the area. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor were kept cooler than other floors. No pool or fitness center on the premises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

The review was very much appreciated by our staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I can't think of a reason why I wouldn't give this place all "excellent" ratings. It's fabulous! We paid $99 for a night in early June. Our room was on the third floor. Many people wouldn't like having to walk up three flights but it's not a bad climb. Plus there are cool antiques everywhere so it's like walking through a museum to get to your room. Our room had sloped ceilings which made it more quaint. The room was beautiful - flowered print down comforter, lace and silk sheets, stained glass lamp and more. There were candy dishes in our room and throughout the house - a nice touch!

Although the house is old - 1856 to be exact - the owners have taken great care to add new touches like a jetted tub right along with all the cool antiques.

And breakfast - WOW! Here's what was offered: bacon, fried potatoes, blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs that weren't dried out, breads and bagels to toast, butter, jam, syrup, yogurt, fresh cut fruit, whole fruits, coffee, tea, milk, juice. The grounds are beautiful and it's located right in the heart of the town.

I thinking timing kept the price low - it probably costs more in high season but it's worth it. You won't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. Kind words like yours make Innkeeper a labor of love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Rude woman left us sitting in her driveway after speaking on telephone. She should pay me for my wasted time. Would never ever recommend. If this is how they treat you BEFORE taking your money, imagine once they have your cash!! Never saw the rooms but the outside birdbath looked gross.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Anitak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doctorsinnkeeper, Owner at Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

There must be some mistake here. I'm not sure where you were or what number you called but we don't even have a "bird bath". We don't use a "reservation service" either. Reservations are made on line or by phone which we do ourselves. We never talked to someone who said they were in the driveway. Perhaps you dialed the wrong number or you were at a different place. We have never had a complaint that anyone here was rude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May Court House
4.2 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
325 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Big Timber Lake Family Camping R...
#1 of 5 in Cape May Court House
145 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctor's Inn

Address: 2 N Main St, Cape May Court House, Middle Township, NJ 08210-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Middle Township > Cape May Court House
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May Court House
Price Range: £86 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Doctor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to the shores of Cape May, Avalon, Stone Harbor, and the Wildwoods, this bed and breakfast is a quintessential Victorian mansion. Located in Cape May Court House, NJ. We offer 8 well-appointed guest rooms, each with a private bath. The mansion can also be rented for private affairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doctor's Inn New Jersey/Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing