We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birds all Around”

Cape May Bird Observatory
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1975 by the New Jersey Audubon Society, the Observatory takes visitors on birdwatching trips to view more than 400 species of birds during fall migration.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birds all Around”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

At the observatory, there are so many different birds, you have to be really experienced to identify them all. I saw sparrows, grackle, thrush and some kind of bluebird. I think I saw a peregrine falcon. Of course, many egrets and swans. Even if you're not at the observatory, the whole Cape May Point is a bird sanctuary, and most people have bird feeders in their yards. Hummingbirds are numerous. If you walk or bicycle around the point, you can stop and use your binoculars almost anywhere. The beaches are not as manicured as Cape May itself, and thus more unspoiled. I much prefer the Point to Cape May, although both are charming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wildsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delanco, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not just "for the birds"”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We took a guided walk in the backwater area and the beach near the Cape May Lighthouse with the guides from the CMBO and it was a fun way to spend the afternoon in Cape May. For a small fee to the organization, we were provided really fine binoculars, so much better that those we brought. We also were permitted to observe the wildlife with scopes that were carried and set-up by the guides and other members. We saw and heard many birds that we have never seen before, and learned to identify them by their unique characteristics. I now can spot an osprey when they fly over me! Lots of other birds, too. I highly recommend this group for beginners, they were so enthusiastic to share information and help us discover the birds that are there for you to enjoy. I will be wandering this area all summer and enjoying it much more thanks to this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raritan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stroll”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm not an active bird watcher by any means, just a nature lover.
Walked through for a Sunday day trip over the beach.
Got some mosquito bites, so spray is a must.
Awesome staff, and great walk through. Binoculars is a plus.
Saw a swan and her chicks, protecting them it was incredible.
Walked away after an hour and a half, but got a great nature walk and a cool experience. (And a few bug bites!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JustForFunTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Amazing place. So many different birds seen from this place! Often there are volunteers from Audubon society there to assist with bird sittings and information.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayakvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love the hawk watch!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

So exciting to see the raptors! The naturalists on the hawk watch platform are very friendly and helpful ! The Swarorski scope was also awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kholmes509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May Bird Observatory also viewed

Cape May Point, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Bird Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing