We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Close to the City - At a Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here to be close to an event in New York City the next morning, at a third of the price of being in the City. Modern, clean, comfortable, quiet, well appointed - the room had the usual amenities plus a microwave and fridge, large TV with cable, good reading light by the bed - the type with a focused beam so you won't disturb others in the room. Free wi-fi, which would have cost another $12-$17 in the City. A nice added touch: a cushioned chair with a small table that would slide above your lap, so you can relax and work on your laptop in comfort. Excellent free breakfast with lots of choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyineaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Heartfelt Thank you for sharing all your nice comments. I am pleased to hear that the accommodation and service were to your liking. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We strive to provide our guests with best attentive services at a value conscious price. And I am glad that we are successful in our efforts to make you most happy. We expect your future stay at our property will be your wonderful recall. Once again we do appreciate your stay and would love to have a pleasure of seeing you again on your next trip to our city.

Flore D.
GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms and common areas are clean and well kept. The hotel employees were all pleasant and friendly. The fitness center could use some upgrading to include some free weights and better air circulation. There were only two treadmills, a bike and an elliptical. The air was too warm and still in the center.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We are happy to hear that we were at your satisfaction during your recent stay with us. Our well trained friendly staff made it comfortable and enjoyable for you. We strive to provide our guests with best attentive services at a value conscious price. And I am glad that we are successful in our efforts to make you most happy. We expect your future stay at our property will be your wonderful recall.

Flore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on our way home from a tour in Jordan and Israel. It was so nice to be back at an American hotel that did not smell like cigarettes :-) We flew into the Newark airport from Tel Aviv and drove straight to the hotel. It was about a 20 minute drive from EWR. We were greeted by a kind receptionist who offered us a free upgrade to a mini-suite. The suite was great; it had a small kitchenette, dining room table, and large bathroom. The breakfast had decent choices and was always kept well stocked. Some days we loved the breakfast, some days we didn't. The breakfast items changed every day. But it came free with our stay, so we didn't mind.

Bus Routes 163 and 164 on NJ Transit stop a block away from the hotel. We personally didn't think the neighborhood was bad and had no problem walking to the bus stop every morning and evening. The round trip ticket to the port authority and back to the hotel was $8.50 per person. The bus stopped very frequently so we never had to wait long. The receptionist also gave us a bus schedule.

This was a great hotel. The price was very reasonable and the convenience to EWR and NYC can't be beat. We ate at 2 restaurants close to this hotel during our stay (mostly we ate in NYC), Vesta and Lulu John's. Vesta was a wood-fired pizza place that was somewhat pricey but had great gourmet pizzas. Lulu Johns was a traditional NJ pizzeria that sold by the slice: the slices were cheap and delicious. I would definitely recommend both places.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Hollandami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I grew up in Carlstadt. I hadn't been home in 12 years and decided to take my family for a vacation to where dad grew up. When I left the east side of RT 17 (where this hotel is) had very little other than industrial buildings, swampland, and the meadowlands sports complex. I was very surprised to see how much had changed.

I think most folks are like me and have simple expectations for the $100ish/night hotel room: Clean room, clean bathroom, friendly staff, free breakfast, etc. My family and I usually choose Holiday Inn or Hilton hotels because they tend to meet that overall expectation however there usually seem to be things that we feel could have been done better. The Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands has been a refreshing exception.

The facilities and staff were exceptional. It appears as if the hotel has recently been renovated (I imagine it was damaged during Sandy) but overall everything was very, very clean. Our room really impressed us. The indoor pool, although very small was clean, heated and very enjoyable. The fitness center consists of two treadmills (one had a loose belt but nothing that kept us from using it), an elliptical, a recumbent bike, two televisions and a water cooler. The lobby/lounge is very comfortable and breakfast was your typical hotel fare.

Two things particularly impressed me about this hotel. The first was that the WiFi was very fast everywhere in the building. The other the concern for security. One evening we came back from the city and entered a side door. It should require a key but opened without one. A maintenance person noticed us coming in and commented on how it should have been locked. When we came back the next evening, it was locked and required a key. My only complaint about the facility is they have laundry machines on the 2nd floor but only have ice machines on 4 and 5 (I'm not sure what they have on the 3rd). I booked our trip through southwest airlines and I was also a bit concerned that I had to pay for the entire hotel stay four months in advance. I've read some other reviews where travelers have had to change plans and been unable to get a refund from the hotel. I would be more apt to give this hotel a 5 star rating and stay there again if they did not require pre-payment.

This hotel is PERFECT if you are visiting Manhattan. The 163 & 164 NJ Transit Bus stop 1/2 a block away and are about a 15 minute trip to the Port Authority bus terminal in Manhattan. It is a 3 zone trip ($4.25 adult/$1.90 child). The Hudson-Bergen light rail line to Hoboken is just down the street at the Meadowlands. The hotel is about a 25 minute drive from Newark Airport.

Overall this hotel is great. Good job HIE Meadowlands.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel and you'll have a great view of the Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigpigtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We us guest feedback as a tool to improve ourselves. We love the fact that you we were able to impress you and we will strive to continue on that path.

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. Please stay with us again so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We did enjoy our stay here and actually extended another night - close to Manhattan (25 min off peak hours - 1 hr at peak) - we drove to nyc so if you will be driving i would recommend getting an E Zpass which will save you on the toll rate (cash $13 - with toll can go down to $5!!!) - there is a complimentary tea/coffee at the reception which was good to have , staff were friendly - swimming pool was ok , 1.2 meter in depth and heated , hope that helps

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Moe576Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Carlstadt NJ. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We strive to make every guest comfortable and safe. We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We just stayed over for one night after a concert at the IZOD Center.
So close! It was great knowing that when it was over we were right down the way from it!
Our room was on the third floor and it was perfect: new and updated, clean and comfortable! Our ice machine area was under construction.
Check-in and check-out went great (although this is my only complaint is that check-out is at 11am... I appreciate when they are at noon)!
Although we didn't use them the pool and fitness room were both open, they are on the smaller side but look to get the job done!
I think the icing on the cake was a really great breakfast giving the fact that it's free with the stay!
We'll be keeping this hotel marked for future use... Will be keeping an eye out for concerts in the area!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about about your stay. Our goal is to create a place for you to relax and recharge. We value the feedback and use them as a tool to improve ourselves. We love that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you select us for your future stays.

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. Please stay with us again so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is great if you don't want to pay over the top prices for downtown ....the staff are wonderful and couldn't do enough to help....the breakfast is standard holiday inn express but it suited us fine and they never run out of anything ..also coffee is available all day ...

The bus stop to Central NYC is a five min walk away which is great and the ride was only 20 minuets ....

All in all a great hotel. With great staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flore D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Meadowlands Area. I'm glad
you took advantage of our convenient location by visiting NY. Also, thank you again for your kind words about our breakfast and the service of the staff. If you’re back into town we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Carlstadt
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands

Address: 100 Patterson Plank Road, Carlstadt, NJ 07072-2015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range: £99 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from New York City and Izod Center, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is your best choice in Carlstadt. You ll find the things that are most important to whether you re here for business or pleasure. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the ideal destination. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed Internet, 24-hour business center, faxing, and copying is available to you. And if you re here for pleasure you are just minutes away from Garden State Plaza Shopping Mall, Secaucus Outlets, great dining locations, and at the end of the day enjoy our indoor heated pool for relaxation. No matter what brings you to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites your room is your personal retreat. The key word is comfort with great bedding, modern décor and all the cable, sports, and movie channels you need. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is a favorite business and leisure visitors to Carlstadt and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands Hotel Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Express Carlstadt
Holiday Inn Carlstadt
Carlstadt Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands Carlstadt, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing