We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property for groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property for groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Thank you to Econolodge for hosting our group during your busiest time of year! You are all very hospitable and organized:) Excellent location to stadium at an inexpensive price. Free breakfast included which our group loved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    92
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
60
61
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel based on some of the reviews that I read plus the fact that it was close to a bus stop. That part was good as it was just one bus over to Manhattan and one bus back but you have to cross a fairly busy street to get to the bus stop and walk on the side of raod in the dark to get back to hotel. The area seemed safe enough which was another concern. The rooms were adequate. The carpet seemed dirty so I wouldn't go barefeet on it. The breakfast area was in a tented area in the middle of the hotel but it was always freezing cold so you had to wear your jacket to get there and take the food back to your room to eat. A couple of days into the trip I called another hotel that I heard had a shuttle to NY and the rates were even better than what we were paying here. If it hadn't been such a hassle to move, I would have. We didn't have a car. Check in and check out went fairly easy. If you use the safe, ask to have it re-imbursed as I think their policy is to charge for it but if you ask to have it reversed, I think they will or that is how I read the sign that is on the front desk by the lobby. Our room was right next to the road so I found it very noisy to sleep the first night. After that I guess I was just too tired not to sleep from all the exploring in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Theresa;

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Eylem Naik
General Manager
Econolodge Meadowlands
201 935 4600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great Value, comfortable beds, easy to get to New York City. Breakfast was great as well as all the staff. It is also close to restaurant and gas stations and easy to get on the turnpike. Everything was perfect and we would stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Melissa;

We would like to thank you for taking to review us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eylem Naik
General Manager
Econolodge Meadowlands
201 935 4600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at this location when going to NYC on a bus trip. Considering the amount of people we had, the check in process went very smoothly. I was rather impressed with the gentleman at the front desk that took care of us. I was slightly nervous before checking in because it is a pet friendly hotel and my mother who was traveling with me is allergic to both cats and dogs. I was very pleased with how clean the rooms were. I was hoping there wouldn't be any traces of animals anywhere. It would have made for a miserable experience for my mom! I never used the bus from here to the city but some people in my group did. They found that to be very convenient and easy to use. I would definitely stay here again if I was looking to save some money. I do, however, prefer to stay in the city. The idea of taking the bus late at night or having to pay the outrageous fee of a cab to take you outside of the city sounds just terrible. I would say if you're not going to be alone, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We planned a getaway and did a lot of research to find the perfect spot. We thought we had found it. It was close, affordable and the rooms looked spacious and neat. I called the phone number to double check the pricing and the availability of an extra pullout. The guy walked me through the process to book and I set it up.

When we got there we were surprised that ;
1- the room had no kitchenette (although the picture did and was confirmed on the phone)
2- the beds did not even have comforters on them (not a big deal...but every other room we passed, had them)
3- the breakfast area since like it was outdoors...we had to wear jackets to eat inside. |The selection was adequate though.

All in all for the level of stars this place is...it is what it is. I can't compare really as we typically stay in higher end...but that being said...it was misleading from the booking reservation, and if I were to plan this trip again, I would pay slightly higher for more comfort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge Meadowlands.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the room type on your recent visit. I believe there was a misunderstanding when you booked the room. The rate you have paid was for our standard double bed room not a kitchenette room. As we are in the process of changing our bedding style, yes we still have some bed covers in few rooms. If we knew that you preferred to have bed covers we would have gladly provided them to you.

I have shared your feedback with our Front Desk Agents as well as our Booking Agents to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Carlstadt.

Kind Regards,

Eylem Naik
General Manager
Econolodge Meadowlands
201 935 4600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week. The rooms are clean, shower us perfect, everything you need. The only thing that need improvement is the breakfast area. Just buy a few air heaters, so people can eat without their hats, jackets and gloves. :) Bus stop is 2 minutes away, which is perfect!
The buses run every 30 min. You are in Nyc in 15 min tops.
The receptionists are very friendly, especially the lady!!! Overall is a good hotel for visiting the city. Will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miha131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Minutes away from upper NJ and close to the Sports Complex. Our room was very comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Our room was right near the breakfast area. The only downside was the lack of heating in the breakfast area. It was in the 20's so even with tents set up, we had to wear our coats.

Room Tip: We had a king. Ask for a room near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
1.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
#13 of 15 in Secaucus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carlstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands, one of the great Jersey City hotels, is conveniently located near the Meadowlands Sports Complex, a sports and entertainment complex located in East Rutherford, Bergen County, NJ. Guests of the Econo Lodge enjoy this Carlstadt hotel near MetLife Stadium (home of the New York Giants and New York Jets), the Meadowlands Racetrack, the American Dream Meadowlands, and the Timex Performance Center. The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey within 25 minutes.Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads,boiled eggs, yogurts, season fruits, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt, New Jersey
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing