We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paella forever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliveiras da Serra

Oliveiras da Serra
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Carteret
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
194 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Paella forever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visiting a cousin who was giving her mother a 100th birthday party-we were staying in Carteret and wanted a late night supper-stopped at a cute little place near the hotel and had such good food! Chorizo sausage grilled for a taste treat of an appetizer--was followed by a nice salad and a huge pot of paella with a small whole delicious lobster on top-filled with shrimp, mussels, clams, sausage, chicken, scallops in saffron rice with peas and sweet red peppers--I ate till I could pop then we took the rest home. The next day we took the container out of the fridge in the room and had a shared paella breakfast for 2 which still left us with a few cups of saffron rice!!
My husband had delicious rack of lamb which he enjoyed --he did say he was surprised at the presentation as it was more like 2 big lamb chops than the rack of lamb he is used to--but it was very good as was the sauce. Prices are very reasonable and the wait staff is friendly and efficient. I hope we get to go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carteret, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This pllace makes you feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

From the moment you enter you are welcomed and treated as a special guest. Jorge makes it a point to welcome each and every customer. The food is great, the service is great, the atmosphere is great - so really this place is GREAT.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have been here several time and the service and food is always amazing. I've had numerous appetizers and meals which have all be delicious. The sangria is the best around!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“European Taste and Great Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

A classic style Portuguese bar and restaurant that makes you feel like you travelled to Portugal for dinner. The food is great and the service is authentic (they really are from Portugal !). If you want a bar setting for some lively dining or a quiet dining room you have the option of both.

Plenty of parking and on weekends (weather permitting) you have patio dining too !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NDCCPF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carteret, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and Sangria that can't be beat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

These guys are doing it right! The food is delicious and the Sangria is the best. From appetizers to dessert they serve up a great meal. The Chorizo appetizer and Skirt Steak on a Tile are some of our favorites! It's a little expensive for our small town but I don't really mind paying good money for good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliveiras da Serra also viewed

 

Been to Oliveiras da Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing