We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception at the Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception at the Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you are planning a wedding reception at the Crowne Plaza be very careful about the specifics. I was shown a Grande Ballroom and was told the reception would be in this particular room or the ones on the left of right of it which were similar in size and style.
I was also shown a very nice room for our cocktail hour. Turns out I was misled.

The night of the reception we arrived at the venue to find that we were not getting the Grande Ballroom at all. Our reception was set up in a smaller outdated room across the hall. Imagine our surprise!
To add to our dismay, we walk in to find that the cocktail hour is being held in the this tiny room as well.

What made it even worse was the fact that we arranged for a projector and very large screen to be set up so that our wedding ceremony (which took place on a spectacular beach in LaHoya California) would be shown during cocktail hour.

So there we were looking at the projector and screen along with a cocktail arrangement all set up in the same room where the reception took place.
To make matters worse, because the projector screen was so big in comparison to the small room, many of the professional pictures taken by our photographer had the screen in the background. It was very difficult to select pictures for the album. Most of them were ruined!

Next, we come to find out that there was no place setting or seats set up for a couple (friends of the bride) we had on the list of attendees. We brought it to the attention of our consultant and so to our surprise, they carried an empty table across the room to seat the couple next to the grooms parents. How awkward for them to be seated at the last minute at a table by themselves!

Finally, I would like to add that I received a call from our consultant asking if the Crowne Plaza could make things right for us (save the deal) since we had so many mishaps (there were other problems not mentioned here). They asked me to document the things that we were unhappy about and send it to them. I drafted an e-mail listing all the mishaps and received a call saying I would hear back from the manager.

That was 6 months ago and I have not heard back from anyone!
I would not recommend having a wedding reception here. We were misled and very disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms weren't too bad but don't have a wedding reception here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    163
    136
    68
    78
See reviews for
114
82
36
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Resereved a "river view" room. Arrived a day early. In a nearly empty building the room wasn't, first available-occupied, then not cleaned. This was at 4pm.

Gave me a 6th floor room with a great view of the roof and the rusting a/c units. Said it was "temporary". The next day I asked about the room change and got a "why" expression. The bathroom was damaged-- ceiling was cracked and displaced over the shower; had either rust stains or mold. The toilet DID NOT FLUSH. I fixed it myself!

Told them I paid extra and wanted the correct room. They didn't have one "available". After insisting they gave me an 11th floor room with a nice view.

Quality control is very poor. The vanity/make-op mirror was broken and the blow dryer switch was intermittent. Complementary incidentals varied between the two rooms-- item set incomplete. The closet had only one sliding door, the 6th floor unit had two.
The a/c-heat was so noisy it sounded like there was construction going on outside. Had to turn it off to sleep.

The bedsheets are so coarse that I actually have "rug-burns" all up and down my arms from them! Cable TV station array was not digital and very, VERY limited. Refridge and microwave are extra charge in a $127/nite room! Did not receive complimentary USA Today as other rooms did. Chairs were worn out.
I estimate about 10% occupancy on my floor and probably that overall.

Hallway carpets were worn and stained.

Restaurant was very expensive ($35 for a filet mignon!, $11 for a Grey Goose/rocks!) Never saw more than two other people in there when I was there-- and that was every night. Bar staff was very friendly... probably bored and lonely...

The pool was outside, therefor useless.

I left a shirt there. Called the next morning. Told them exactly where it would be. Six hours later no word back. (How much effort does it take an attentive staff member to ride an elevator to the room??) I called back and complained--had to leave voice mail. About 15 later I get a call saying they searched "everywhere" and could not find it. This in a room that had not been cleaned nor even entered by anyone since I left... so they claim. Tried to imply I was mistaken, that I hadn't left the shirt there.

Holiday Inn is less than 1/2 mile down the street. Stay there instead. I will NEVER return to Crowne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkC481361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear MarkC481361,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherry Hill hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel was a pleasant place to stay. The bed was comfy, the food was good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I used the gym facility and it was sufficient as well. I was here for work, a HS competition, and it met all of our needs. They have a Starbucks in the hotel and that is ALWAYS a plus!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherryhillcrowne, Director of Guest Services/Front Office at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Poughkeepsie,

Thank you for your time in sharing your pleasant experience during your stay with us. It is always our main goal to meet or exceed guests' expectations, and we are so happy to have met yours.

Looking forward to welcome your group back again next year. Have a wonderful day.

Suzette N. Parungao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Where to begin? We checked in and immediately checked the bed as my wife and I always do when stay in hotels. This tends to be where you discover whether or not the room was really prepared and cleaned.
We were shocked to discover the sheets had little black hairs on the pillows and right in the middle of the sheets under the dirty comforter. The pillows had mascara and drool stains, and the rug was clearly not vacuumed. Moldy tub tiles. This was the first room.
I called the desk to complain and without asking a single question, the nice female voice at the desk told me that she would be sending someone up with keys to a new room. So we gathered our things and waited about 10 minutes before someone knocked at the door. The bellhop handed me keys, a handwritten sorry note, with two drink vouchers at the bar (nice but we don't drink) and the man offered to take our luggage to the next room.
NOW RIGHT HERE, you, like myself, must assume that they would have made sure that our next room was to the T but, unfortunately it was far from it. Unbelievably so, our next bed had a dead bug (pic) under the fold of the comforter and this time there was a dried white substance on the headboard.(pic) The mirror in the bathroom had what appeared to be old hairspray spray on it and the curtains were filthy. (pic) Mildew stains on the ceiling.
Right away I called the front desk and asked for a manager to come to the room. The manager (Bob) was nice and I showed him all the problems of the second room and explained the problems of the first. He was nice enough to bring keys for a third room which he explained was an "upgraded room". On a higher floor. We thanked him at the elevator and off we went to the third room. Well, the truth is, it was the same style and sized room, only this time, it had nicer towels, ear plugs, and a set of folded bathrobes on the bed.
***NOW HERE'S WHERE IT GETS WORSE!!!***
One of the bathrobes had a curly black hair on the collar!! Now let me just say right now, that if I was reading this, I would find myself wondering how it could be that THREE different rooms had nasty hairs in various places and I myself STILL CANT BELIEVE IT. But, the reality and the pics don't lie. It was terrible!!
This morning when my wife and I woke up, we discovered up upon the wall that the smoke detector was missing with just the wires hanging out of it. That and we noticed the genius who wallpapered the room whenever he did so, just went right over an old outlet!! (pics of that too). We were next to the housekeeping cart garage and were woken up by the noise of people going in and out of the room that was propped open by a latch, so it didn't close all the way. The bathroom metal tissue caddy is about to fall out of the wall.
So, my wife tried to make coffee in the Keurig machine and IT WAS BROKE!! (Did not heat)
We received the bill, this morning under the door and THEY HAD THE NERVE to charge us MORE FOR THE THIRD ROOM WITHOUT EVEN DISCOUNTING FOR OUR INCONVENIENCE OF THE FIRST TWO ROOMS!!
Our original room was $99, but, the bill was for $119 PLUS TAX!!
At checkout, I again asked for a manager who refused to look at the pictures, and also REFUSED TO REFUND THE BILL!! She told me that taking the things I had mentioned into consideration, "it wasn't necessary to take off more than 50%"
Three filthy, disgusting rooms, HEALTH, SAFETY, AND FIRE HAZARDS and they still felt it was worth 50 BUCKS! I kept my calm and asked for a corporate number to which I was told they have none. I was given a name for another manager. She's off for the next two days of course, so I'll just write these reviews and tell EVERYONE I KNOW TO SKIP THE CROWNE PLAZA!! SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!
Thanks Crowne Plaza for not one, not two, but THREE disgusting rooms!
Youtube is my next stop.
What happened to real customer service and the knowledge of cleanliness? You wont find it at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill!!!
I didn't even mention the stains and rips in the wallpaper along the walls everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1LuckyDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear 1LuckyDaddy,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland, mi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I remember years ago Crowne Plaza was referred to as the premium chain from Holiday Inn. So when I stayed here, I expected something better than a standard Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn express. In reality, a newly built Holiday Inn Express is better than this place.
The property is tired and dated. Rooms were worn out. Not a bad place to stay but certainly not worth paying more than $80-$90.00. Location is good.
This property is a text book example of why just a having a good chain name on a hotel doesn't necessarily make it that great. The next night on my trip I stayed in another city at a Hampton Inn and that hotel was way better than this Crowne Plaza.
So if you get this place on a Priceline stay, fear not, you'll be OK. It's just not worth spending anything more than around $80-90/night on.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear travel49424,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I chose to stay here as I was put off by the cost of hotel rooms in Philadephia; the time spent travelling in to Philly, and back, was offset by the opportunities to see some of Camden from the safety of a bus seat!
I travelled to Cherry Hill by train from Philly but found the station to be around 20-25 minutes' walk from the hotel; however, the hotel was so tall it could easily be seen as I walked. Note: there were no taxis at Cherry Hill station. After that I was able to use buses (something like 1 every hour each way) to travel to and from Philly, the stops being adjacent to the hotel.

The reception staff were generally helpful and I had no problems while staying here.

There's a large shopping mall further down the main road and an excellent pizza diner/takeaway just over 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.

Next time I visit Philly I'll definitely look at booking in here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BereniceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherryhillcrowne, Director of Guest Services/Front Office at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear BereniceUK,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experiecne during your stay in our hotel. We are glad everything worked out for you with your travelling back and forth to Philly area. Our Front Desk team was thrilled to hear about your wonderful comments.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to see you in our Hotel on your future trips back in Cherry hill, NJ.


Suzette N. Parungao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I loved our stay. Our family is a best western, holiday inn type family. Nothing fancy so I have no super fancy hotels to compare this too. The room was super comfortable. The king sized bed was one of the most comfortable I have every slept in. It had a memory foam topper which was great. They give you a mask and ear plugs to sleep with which my little son loved. We had a problem with our heat but staff came right away to fix it. The front desk people were very nice. I didn't eat there or anything but overall it was real nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threehottamales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherryhillcrowne, Director of Guest Services/Front Office at Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Threehottamales,

Thank you for taking time in sharing with us your experience during your stay. We are very sorry about the heat issue and was glad our Engineering team was able to fix it immediately to your satisfaction. The Front Desk team is so glad to hear about your kind words.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.


Suzette N. Parungao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Hill
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
#1 of 8 in Cherry Hill
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia - Mount Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
#1 of 28 in Mount Laurel
519 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Mt. Laurel
4.9 mi away
The Hotel ML
The Hotel ML
#18 of 28 in Mount Laurel
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill
Address: 2349 W Marlton Pike, Cherry Hill, NJ 08002-3315 (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Cherry Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia/Cherry Hill, the largest hotel in South Jersey, outside Atlantic City. We are located just minutes from Center City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia Sports Complex and Garden State Market Place Shopping. At the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia/Cherry Hill, experience 408 well appointed guest rooms and suites that feature the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage along with complimentary high-speed Internet access! Enjoy breathtaking views overlooking the Philadelphia Skyline and beautiful Cooper River Park. We are 5 miles from downtown Philadelphia and less than 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport. The lively Camden Waterfront is close by and Atlantic City beaches and casinos are just an hour away. If you're planning an event, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia/Cherry Hill. With over 43,000 sq. ft. of newly renovated meeting space, including two grand ballrooms and numerous breakouts, we can provide some of the most flexible space in the Philadelphia area. Our Crowne Meetings Director, along with our business center and in house AV services will certainly make for a productive meeting. Our Riverside Pavilion is the premier location for Philadelphia/South Jersey weddings, Indian weddings, bar mitzvahs and bat mitzvahs, or any other special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cherry Hill
Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing