We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and reliable - but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel was fine -
it seems to have been recently renovated and is set up sort of like a townhouse condominium neighborhood.

The only available room for a family of four - at the time I booked, was a studio. So everything was in the same room. But it was big -

The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a nice big table and four chairs.
There was a very nice sitting area and large swivel TV and two doubles (I think) not too big - but big enough for two (we had one child and one adult in each).

There was one bathroom. The sink area, which opened to the bedroom, proved to be a bit noisy.
Also the forced air cooling system was very very loud. If you happen to be a light sleeper - it might be difficult to fall asleep, and/or stay asleep.
Additionally, it was raining, and even though we were on the bottom floor (of two) the rain was very noisy falling from the roof line (and gutters?) to the concrete sidewalks.
(I don't know if the hotel could muffle this somehow - but it would be nice. Perhaps they could divert the water flow to a grassy area for a more silent fall.)

The outside was very quiet at night, but in the AM (7ish) it did get noisy outside: you could hear people coming down the steps and dragging luggage outside of the door. You could hear some talking - and you could hear the morning commute start.

Not certain about a long term stay here - but for one or two nights it was fine.

One other item -
the reception, was a bit difficult to find, as signage was lacking and it wasn't illuminated adequately.

Room Tip: take a first floor room - the outside stairs are a bit tough to do with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldsosweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Yes, we were recently renovated. Thank you for noticing. For a family of four, the studio suite with 2 double beds and a pull out sofa is large enough to comfortably accomodate everyone. Our 2-bedroom bi-level suites are ideally suited for families as these suites have 2 bathrooms and sleep up to 6 people. Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Residence Inn at Cherry Hill. Great hotel, nice grounds. Rooms perfect. Ful kitchen, good bed and friendly staf. The hotel in a bit hard to find. Nice diner facillity in the neighbourhoud. Only downside is its between two busy roads.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thanks for the nice comments about our hotel and the friendly staff. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were simply super pleased with the accomodations at the Residence Inn!
First off, Mildred, who greeted us, was warm and friendly. She was also super helpful in dealing with a booking issue that we had had. She did more than her best to work that out for us first thing in the morning! The accomodations were great. We stayed in a 2 bedroom loft and when we all walked in, we said,'Wow! Wish we had stayed here our whole trip!" The furnishings were new and modern with great colors. Super clean, well stocked and welcoming. It was excellent! our only sadness was we would only be sleeping there one night! We all agreed that we would return and even though our family lives 45 min away in another town, we would opt to stay here and make the drive because it was everything we like and more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. I was especially pleased to hear that Mildred made your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit to see your family so we can host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My family stayed in the duplex 2BR suite last week for one night. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is an old-school Residence Inn configuration with each "room" having it's own entrance from the street, garden apartment style. We actually liked this and I wish more hotels were like this since it was really easy to get the kids right in and out of the room.

The accommodations were SPOTLESS which is a refreshing change these days. Beds in our room were clean and comfortable (yes, I inspect the beds/mattresses quite closely for obvious reasons). Setup in the duplex 2BR loft suite was ideal for small kids as they have an enclosed bedroom with bathroom and, after kid's bedtime, you have the rest of the unit to hang out in.

Hotel location is right off the highway which is convenient and road noise was not an issue when sleeping. Breakfast provided was better than most other Residence Inn experiences and seating in breakfast room is ample. Overall, we were really impressed by this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

We agree with your positive review; the Cherry Hill Residence Inn is a great family hotel. It is even better in the warm weather as our outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day. Thank you for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a great choice if you need to be in Philly or nearby. The rooms are apartment like, in small separate buildings. Each has a sleep sofa, kitchenette, (the microwave popcorn was a nice touch, thanks) and free wifi. It is very quiet. Breakfast is included and very good. Scrambled eggs, hot and cold cereal, yogurt, good coffee). The staff is VERY friendly, Lisa, Lee, Dan, and especially Tyrone, who went above and beyond to get us wifi.

We much prefer to stay here despite needing to be in Philly daily when we are here. With good traffic it is 15-20 min., and this is less expensive and a whole lot more manageable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We appreciate the nice comments about our hotel. Please visit us on your next trip to Cherry Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Getting in and around this area is so difficult. There are no left turns allowed and you really must know where you are going to get anywhere. That is not the hotel's fault.
What is is that this property is not fenced/secure. It should be "marketed" as a exterior corridor hotel. None of the rooms are "secure". Typically the Residence Inns with apartment like rooms have the property fenced so that it has limited accessiblity. That is not the case here. I was staying for 1 night, so I let it slide.
The workout room is at the gym next door. Definitely not your typical hotel work out room - nice plus.
The manager's reception did not have alcohol. Not that I am a lush, but a glass of wine/beer after work is definitely a nice-to-have. The manager said he didn't want to apply for the liqour licence. Really????? I told him he should have that on his website. He should also clarify that the property is not fenced. Geez, I'm back to that!
The location between the 2 interstates makes getting up and getting going easy.
The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The tv was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so think twice when given a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wath_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I want to be clear that you did not speak to me regarding our liquor license. I am not sure who you spoke with as the Assistant GM is a woman and you stated you spoke to a man. Our property does provide an evening social 3 nights per week, but we do not have liquor available. We offer soft drinks, iced tea, coffee, lemonaid, etc along with a salad, dessert and an entree. We provide a BBQ every Wednesday.

Your comment about a lack of a fence is interesting as the back of the property has a fence. Our apartment sytle buildings are very popular as most of our guests like the home atmosphere as opposed to the typical high rise hotel. Cherry Hill is a very safe and secure area and our guests enjoy parking close to their suite entrance.

The gym deal we have is a bonus for our guests as we provide access to the full service Cherry Hill Health and Racquet Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Everything was perfect during my short stay. I was given a complementary upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit upon checking. I certainly didn't need the 2nd bedroom but I appreciated the upgrade being given. Personally I like this older style Residence Inn property were there are many separate small units on the grounds. Even though this is an older style property it is obvious that it has been continuously upgraded over the years and my room was top notch with really nice bathrooms and a great kitchen. All staff I encountered were very friendly from check-in to check-out. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for the old school reference and compliments. We think our townhome set up is an advantage and most of our guests agree. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Hill
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
Holiday Inn Cherry Hill
#1 of 8 in Cherry Hill
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
Hyatt Place Mt. Laurel
#1 of 28 in Mount Laurel
556 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia - Cherry Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Cherry Hill
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cherry Hill
WoodSpring Suites Cherry Hill
#4 of 8 in Cherry Hill
6 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
Hilton Garden Inn Mt. Laurel
#3 of 28 in Mount Laurel
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia

Address: 1821 Old Cuthbert Rd, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034-1415
Region: United States > New Jersey > Cherry Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Cherry Hill
Price Range: £94 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cherry Hill Philadelphia Hotel Cherry Hill
Cherry Hill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing