We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love this place...”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When I travel back to NJ to visit family, the Holiday Inn, in Clark, is my first choice of hotels...I love this place. From the comfortable room to the friendly front desk staff, escpecially, Phelomina. She remembers me and my family each time we come. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one! It's a little pricey, but well worth it. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I especially enjoy the rooms on the first floor. But be warned, guest will smoke in their rooms, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUB_at_Holiday_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you so much for staying at the Holiday Inn Clark/Newark and for submitting such a wonderful review. We are delighted that Philomena remembers you and takes good care of you during your stays.

Your business is important to us and sharing your experience helps enlighten other travelers of the best places to stay.

Kind regards,
Tracy Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    121
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
45
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very pleasant stay with a very comfy bed. Staff was eceptionally friendly, especially Ceceilia who greeted us in dining area. A very hearty breakfast that was well worrh it. Decor of hotel was tastefully designed. I would stay at this hotel again in a heart beat

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUB_at_Holiday_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for submitting a review for the Holiday Inn Clark Newark. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Ceceilia provided excellent service during your visit. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff and special recognition will be given to Ceceilia.

We hope that your travels bring you back to the area and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Tracy Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel was very nice. The lobby and the bar was very clean and people were very nice. Rooms were clean. One of our friends had the roof fall in and get water everywhere in their room due to some one above them that kept flushing instead of calling to get it repaired. Close to NYC and easy to get to from the interstate. Would stay there again. Had a great gyn as well and a fireplace loby outside. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the ice machine, Little noisy LOL but overall really great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Evonne D,

Thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that you like our hotel facilities and room accommodations. Our team's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay at our property and we are elated to hear we made a great impression on you. I apologize for any inconvenience cause by the loud ice machine. Your comments have been taken on board for review.

Thank you for staying with us and we would hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were on our first ever bus tour to New York City. We stayed at the Clark Holiday Inn for 3 nights and have only great things to say about the hotel, staff and location, Our room was very clean, the hallways were very clean and well lit. The elevations were always operational. I went for a short walk in the early evening through the sort of 'residential' neighborhood and hotel parking lot and felt very safe. We did have a refrigerator in our room used for our medication. There was also a microwave. We were on the 6th floor. Our bus ride into Manhattan, through the Lincoln tunnel, took about 45 minutes - 28 miles. I would recommend this hotel !!

Room Tip: Sixth floor has refrigerators and microwaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for the weekend while reconnecting with friends & working in NY. Really favorably impressed - the rooms were beautiful, the staff was really helpful & accommodating. LOVED the gym - it's nicer than our local Y and they even offer a free voucher to use the local Bally's. We ate dinner twice - one brought back to our room and again ate in the lounge with friends. The food was really good, but would have preferred a bigger selection. The location is really convenient - we would come again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUB_at_Holiday_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for the Holiday Inn Clark/Newark. We vaule your comments and the information you shared will be communicated to the staff.

Your business, kind words and great review are very much appreciated.

Warm regards,
Tracy Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnpinva
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It isn't cheap but is worth the price, given that it's trendy, clean, and close to NYC and Westfield. Hotel is kept up very well with very attractive carpeting; a fresh smell in the rooms, hallways, and lobby; and very clean bathrooms. Bed is comfortable. Room was spotless. Bathroom was adequate (not the best, but very clean). Bath products were very good. The gym is good, and the pool is terrific. Staff is extremely honest (I left my wallet in the gym, and it was promptly returned) and very helpful. Staff was shooting a Holiday Inn commercial the day we were checking out, so we didn't get to try the breakfast. Bar and breakfast room looked nice, however.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUB_at_Holiday_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Clark/Newark. We appreciate your feedback and your comments will be shared with the entire staff.

We are excited to be a part of the new Holiday Inn commercial and each time it is aired, it makes me smile knowing we are a part of a wonderful new concept. Because you did not get to enjoy breakfast due to the filming, we would like to invite you back for a complimentary breakfast on your next visit. Please contact Andres Giraldo at agiraldo@hiclarknj.com. Thank you for your understanding during the making of the commercial.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,
Tracy Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st pete, fl
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not very happy with this hotel... checking in, the host asked three times if we needed help with luggage, and whether we wanted a wake up call. Not very attentive. Long, not so clean looking hallways serviced by far away elevators. Odd parking lot, hard to find the front entrance which had a bunch of equipment lying in the driveway (DJs, or photographers, or something... just not a pleasant sight). Don't recommend this one, come to the area frequently but will not repeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_of_4FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Family_of_4FL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
3.6 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
2.9 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
68 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Clark - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Address: 36 Valley Rd, Clark, NJ 07066-1559 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Clark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Clark - Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, full service, boutique-style hotel is an exquisite blend of modern luxury and impeccable service. We are conveniently located at exit 135 off the Garden State Parkway in Clark, NJ, with easy access to The City Centers of New York, Newark and all major attractions including the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and the Prudential Center. We are just minutes south of The Newark International Airport and just 2 miles from Rahway Train Station for convenient access to Newark or New York City Stay connected... with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Stay fit... choose from our state-of-the-art fitness facility or access to Bally s Total Fitness. Stay restful... our Sleep Advantage program goes well beyond the limitations of any other brand by creating the optimal sleep experience.Stay for convenience... a delicious meal, meeting or event is an elevator ride away. Stay confident...as our staff is well trained in the art of hospitality. Businesses: L Oreal, Conoco Phillips, Siemens, JP Morgan Chase, Schering Plough, Merck, Exxon Mobil, and Bank of America. Hospitals: Rahway, St. Barnabas-Union, Trinitas, JKF, and Overlook. Universities: Seton Hall, Rutgers, and Kean. Sneak nine in at nearby Hyatt Hills Golf Course with driving range and miniature golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Clark - Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Clark Hotel Clark
Clark Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing