We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an Overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK for an Overnight”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed one night over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The room was fine, but in the morning my daughter could not find her phone charger and when she looked she discovered a roach on the floor. I would give it a "3" except for that. Wish I could give it a 2 3/4. Everything worked. The bathroom was clean. In fact the room was clean, except for the roach. A good point was that there is an IHOP attached, so a really good breakfast was available. The downside of that is there was no continental breakfast provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: As for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Nike C,

Thank you for writing a review in relation to your most recent stay at our hotel. I apologize very much for the incident in your guest room because finding such mistake is not in our style of hospitality. As a matter of fact I have inspected every room and diagnosed them as well, so there will not be a problem as there was this time during your stay.

On the other hand I appreciate all the kind words you shared in regards to your recent stay and hope that you will be able to provide us with a second chance at redeeming ourselves. Thank you again for writing this critical review so we can better our efforts in improving the service for you and other guests as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    62
    100
    90
    133
See reviews for
133
77
45
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I needed a hotel for the weekend because my house was being renovated, and my family needed to relocate while the work was being done. I searched for a location that was close to my house for a reasonable price, and this hotel provided just what my family needed. I liked it because the other hotels in the vincinity was more expensive and have more amenities, but did not provide a microwave and a mini refrigerator which this hotel provided. Great location for shopping and dining within walking distance.

Room Tip: Good value for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50bdaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello 50bdaygal,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly stay.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

1 when making reservation the national desks offer free continental breakfast ... This place does not offer breakfast not even coffee
2 the reservation desk also offers free newspaper ...not here
3 opon check in the room smelled like mold
4 the bathroom shower was molded in corners and around soup dish
5 the bathroom floor was stickey like someone spilled something on it
6 on checkout they charger $1.50 for a safe that we did not use they said they took it off the bill and printed us a receipt showing the adjustment... But when we received the bill it was back on
7 when I spoke to the manager about these issues all he did was refund $1.50 and offer me a 20% discount the next time we stay there...like I will ever be back there again what a waste of money this is not what we expected from Howard Johnsons

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mikechir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello mikechir,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

I do agree that, we do not offer breakfast in the morning but we do have complimentary coffee available 24 hours in the lobby. Also, there is ihop is connected with hotel.

We really apologize for the mold but we have completely removed the mold from the bathroom and around the soap dish. Also, we have re-inspected our other rooms and bathroom to totally remove the mold and had treatment for all the rooms. Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so.

As for the safe charge, I want to reassure you that upon request, the management is able to remove the one dollar and fifty cent amount immediately without regret as long as the guest is able to alert us ahead of time.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our rooms here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Fair rating average 50% Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello Curtis M,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

Based on Wyndham worldwide’s hotel and room standards we are required to provide the most basics of amenities to our guest. And have our options open for our guests to obtain other personal hygiene products by the request to the front desk at any time. These products are complimentary and available any time of the day.

Our location is very safe and there is no suspicious behavior around the hotel. Also, I must clarify that there are security systems in place such as CCTV cameras, and an unarmed personal watchmen who reports any suspicious behavior to the manager's office immediately.

We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
525 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Address: 680 State Rt 3, Clifton, NJ 07012-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing