We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good and some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    60
    96
    82
    126
See reviews for
123
74
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is nothing more than a crack house. You will fear for your life as people somke crack in the halls.Staff will not do anything about it so I think they are a part of it. This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. Take my advice and stay clear of this place.

Room Tip: Floor #3 was a crack den
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcanany1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello mcanany1010,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay.

The guest who was staying with us previous to your arrival caused the scent in the hallways. We have spoken with the guest and informed them about the serious issue and how it is affect everyone’s health. There is a penalty given to the smoker and it is clearly stated in our policy that such activity is prohibited by hotel standards. Moreover, we have installed an air fresher to all hallways and lobbies to keep the environment to be fresh and up to the guest’s health.

Again, as a manager and from our entire staffs we really apologize from the bottom of our heart for the unpleasant experience you experience at our hotel during your stay.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to New York for New Year's and we stayed here. There was a hand print on the wall and head board in our room, but we didn't mind. Sure the place was a bit run down looking, but it fit us fine for a good night's sleep.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ladyvamptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello Ladyvamptress,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay.

As a manager and from our entire staffs we really apologize for the hand print on wall and head board in your room. We have taken your comments very seriously, and have had our maintenance staff pay closer attention to this particular situation. Many times as a manager and hotel team we are unable to notice these issues where our valuable guest able to help us.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.4 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
4.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Carlstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Address: 680 State Rt 3, Clifton, NJ 07012-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing