We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home--Only Better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I can't say enough good things about Riverside Victorian B&B and its owners, Monnie and Owen, in Clinton NJ. My family and I stayed there for 3 nights this past weekend and it was just a lovely experience all around. First, before we came, Monnie was incredibly gracious and flexible as we jerked her around deciding how many nights we would stay with her and how many rooms we needed. I felt very bad doing this to her, but our stay was due to a sad circumstance--my brother-in-law had just passed and plans on who was coming to his life celebration kept changing. Seriously, Monnie was very accomodating and sympathetic. Upon arrival we were greeted by her husband, Owen, a very friendly man who gave us our keys and showed us into the dining room where there was an array of delicious snacks and treats and two bottles of wine for our consumption. Our 3 rooms were clean and elegantly beautiful, filled with authentic Victorian furniture and very comfortable beds. In fact, the whole B&B is furnished the same way. I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs all across Europe and Monnie and Owen get the prize for "Best B&B Breakfast Ever"! The table was beautifully set with Royal Albert china and a hand crocheted table cloth, which was wonderful, but the best part of breakfast was definitely the food served with a big smile from Owen. German pancakes (crepes) with strawberries in them, delicious Irish soda bread, pastries, fresh fruit salad, eggs and bacon to order...It was a magnificent meal every morning. Monnie would go out of her way to make sure you had breakfast just the way you liked it. If you requested something she didn't have, it was there the next day. Monnie and Owen are just really lovely, warm people and it's worth the stay in the Riverside Victorian B&B just to meet them. Their B&B is also just a short walk to the the main attractions in Clinton, a very scenic, charming little town. Thank you, Monnie and Owen, for being the bright spot in our otherwise sad weekend. You are the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwisuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our stay was relaxing and charming, with a short walk to Dora's for dinner and a fine stroll around the old mill. We very much enjoyed talking with Monnie and Owen, who made us feel at home. Highly recommended for the accomdations and great breakfast (and a very good value).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1020Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Monnie and Owen really made our stay there great. Monnie warmly welcomed us on check in and was very friendly in showing us around the house. It was my first trip to a B&B and I will be visiting more of these because of the experience at Riverside this weekend.Although, It will be tough to match the hospitality shown to us by this wonderful couple. The room and breakfast were both great and the information about the local area provided by our host couple was very much helpful. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed last Thursday (7/25) at Riverside Victorian business associate and I had Rooms
1 & 3. Must say our visit was way beyond our expectations. Monnie greeted us warmly
and gave us a tour of the house and our respective rooms. Monnie also made of point
of asking were our needs would be for the night, and what we would like for breakfast and time
required. I typically travel for work, and must say it's been a while since I have found such stellar service. Breakfast was much more than I had requested, or expedted.
Table set in true Victorian fashion. Meal was prepared and presented perfectly.
Will be back!!
Rob in Chicago

Room Tip: Room Number One
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob11152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My lady-friend and I visited the Clinton area for my 50th HS class reunion. My intent was to find accommodations for the weekend that would lend a bit more nostalgic romance for our mini-vacation, beyond the austere hotel/ motel experience in monotony ! I was COMPLETELY blown away! Upon entering, we were greeted by our hospitable hostess "Monni", surrounded by exquisite antiques, and elegance, complete, down to the needlepoint tablecloth, beneath crystal goblets and wine glasses, crackers and cheese awaiting our celebrated afternoon arrival ! Every aspect of this handsome Victorian was clean and exceptionally well furnished, in woven rugs, and beautifully maintained and preserved antique furniture, fixtures, wall hangings , and draperies. Naturally,some upgrades were necessary, in order to facilitate overnight guests, like the super comfy beds, air conditioners and TV's , door locks and privacy panels, but I truly had the sense of walking back into a time of elegance . Monni's kitchen, partly hidden by a half door , was about the only modernized room, and the den for her culinary wizardry ! OMG ! This was about as far from a "continental breakfast", as one could imagine! The Geman pancakes ( more like a creeps) were presented with fresh thinly cut strawberries, a sprig of nice cold grapes, and made to order bacon, hot off the griddle. She, and her husband Owen , were excellent hosts, and great company. We were made to feel comfortable, and our ONLY complaint was "check out ". I will DEFINATELY go back, if ever I can make an excuse to visit that part of the world , again.

Room Tip: All rooms were desirable
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This property was up for sale when we visited. The owners explained that they are getting on in years, and it is becoming a bit much for them. It has great curb appeal. Inside, it is nice but somewhat tired. The owners served light refreshments in the afternoon: Pepperidge Farm cookies, Gummi Bears, and wine and cheese and crackers. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch. The small town of Clinton is also very pretty, and an easy walk from the B&B. We saw no fewer than three wedding parties taking photos on the Saturday afternoon we visited. The few restaurants we stopped at all operated BYOB. It is an easy hour from Manhattan, and the proprietors even suggested leaving our car there and taking the bus there and back (although this wouldn't have worked out for us).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was our second stay at Riverside Victorian, and it was once again thoroughly enjoyable. Monnie and Owen are warm and welcoming, adept at putting their guests at ease without ever hovering.

We slept well in an extremely comfortable king-size sleigh bed in an attractively furnished, unfussy room. Before breakfast we rambled through the picturesque, highly walkable town, enjoying the early-morning sounds of birds greeting the day and the town awakening.

At breakfast, guests have their choice of eating at a table in the dining room that seats six (a fun way to get acquainted with other guests) or at smaller tables on the porch. Breakfast included good-quality coffee, tea, orange juice, freshly baked treats (at our table the Irish soda bread was a particular hit), fruit compote, eggs or a heavenly crepe stuffed with sliced fresh strawberries, and a choice of breakfast meats. It was all delicious.

Even though our stay was brief, we left feeling completely refreshed and pampered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
567 reviews
12.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bridgewater / Branchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
363 reviews
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
169 reviews
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 Leigh St, Clinton, NJ 08809-1349
Region: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Victorian listed on the Historic Registry, we are one block from the center of historic Clinton, one of the most photographed spots in New Jersey. Listed as one of 10 best small towns to visit by the Star Ledger, you'll find a warm welcome! Hot air ballooning, fishing, boating, biking, exploring the local sights, or just relaxing on the front porch are a few of many choices awaiting you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing