We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our good choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Clinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We experienced excellent NJ hospitality offered by owners Owen and Monnie of the Riverside Victorian in Clinton, NJ. The property and our room was very clean and well maintained with comfortable beds. Be sure to ask Monnie to make some of her tasty strawberry crepes.

RV is located one block from the business district; during your stay try to plan a meal at The Fine Diner 2 blocks from the Riverside Victorian.

Barbara and Melvyn Levine

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding in the area and were pleasantly surprised by this old Victorian home. Rooms were a good size and nicely decorated. The hosts are very nice people and always had some sort of treat waiting for us when we returned from being out. When we arrive the first night there were two bottles of wine and snacks! Saturday we hopped on a nearby express tour bus to Manhattan ($40 round trip) for a full day of fun in New York City and came home at 1:00am to cupcakes! Breakfasts were excellent and came along with good conversation from the hosts. A five minute walk from the house and your in downtown Clinton where are an assortment of shops and an old mill and water fall. There is a cafe right on the water with excellent food and view of the falls. If you looking for a more home style stay, I would highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Bus trip to NYC was worth it and is only a mile from this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

First time at a B&B and the Experience was amazing, specially at this special place 'The riverside victorian B&B' the owners are so loving and kind, the lady is Sooo friendly and A GREAT COOK, her special Germán pancakes**you must have and i very much enjoyed talking with Monnie and Owen nice people

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I can't imagine a more welcoming B&B couple than Monnie and Owen. Many of my family were there under very sad circumstances; however, we were very well cared for, and that hospitality will never be forgotten. Thank you, Monnie and Owen. Your Victorian was everything we could have hoped for and more. Sharon Hart Sefton, my daughter wrote a wonderful review that I can't possibly top. We will always remember this experience as having met people who are devoted to making others happy.Bryan and Mary Hart, Hopedale, Ohio.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I can't say enough good things about Riverside Victorian B&B and its owners, Monnie and Owen, in Clinton NJ. My family and I stayed there for 3 nights this past weekend and it was just a lovely experience all around. First, before we came, Monnie was incredibly gracious and flexible as we jerked her around deciding how many nights we would stay with her and how many rooms we needed. I felt very bad doing this to her, but our stay was due to a sad circumstance--my brother-in-law had just passed and plans on who was coming to his life celebration kept changing. Seriously, Monnie was very accomodating and sympathetic. Upon arrival we were greeted by her husband, Owen, a very friendly man who gave us our keys and showed us into the dining room where there was an array of delicious snacks and treats and two bottles of wine for our consumption. Our 3 rooms were clean and elegantly beautiful, filled with authentic Victorian furniture and very comfortable beds. In fact, the whole B&B is furnished the same way. I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs all across Europe and Monnie and Owen get the prize for "Best B&B Breakfast Ever"! The table was beautifully set with Royal Albert china and a hand crocheted table cloth, which was wonderful, but the best part of breakfast was definitely the food served with a big smile from Owen. German pancakes (crepes) with strawberries in them, delicious Irish soda bread, pastries, fresh fruit salad, eggs and bacon to order...It was a magnificent meal every morning. Monnie would go out of her way to make sure you had breakfast just the way you liked it. If you requested something she didn't have, it was there the next day. Monnie and Owen are just really lovely, warm people and it's worth the stay in the Riverside Victorian B&B just to meet them. Their B&B is also just a short walk to the the main attractions in Clinton, a very scenic, charming little town. Thank you, Monnie and Owen, for being the bright spot in our otherwise sad weekend. You are the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our stay was relaxing and charming, with a short walk to Dora's for dinner and a fine stroll around the old mill. We very much enjoyed talking with Monnie and Owen, who made us feel at home. Highly recommended for the accomdations and great breakfast (and a very good value).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1020Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Monnie and Owen really made our stay there great. Monnie warmly welcomed us on check in and was very friendly in showing us around the house. It was my first trip to a B&B and I will be visiting more of these because of the experience at Riverside this weekend.Although, It will be tough to match the hospitality shown to us by this wonderful couple. The room and breakfast were both great and the information about the local area provided by our host couple was very much helpful. .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#2 of 2 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
14.3 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lafayette Inn
Lafayette Inn
#2 of 7 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverside Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Address: 66 Leigh St, Clinton, NJ 08809-1349
Region: United States > New Jersey > Clinton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Victorian listed on the Historic Registry, we are one block from the center of historic Clinton, one of the most photographed spots in New Jersey. Listed as one of 10 best small towns to visit by the Star Ledger, you'll find a warm welcome! Hot air ballooning, fishing, boating, biking, exploring the local sights, or just relaxing on the front porch are a few of many choices awaiting you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing