We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a DUMP!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colts Neck Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colts Neck Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a DUMP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Colt's Neck Inn for two nights over the weekend to attend a wedding in the area. What a DUMP! We knew this was an old historic hotel from the 1700's, but we didn't know that it hadn't been updated since then. It was not charming as some of the other reviews mentioned. It was old and dilapidated. When we checked into our room, we were overtaken by the musty/dirty water/mold smell. It was horrible. The bed was hard and lumpy, and left us stiff both mornings. To make matters worse, the sheets and comforter were old and ratty looking. There was a 20inch Tube TV in the room that looked to be about 15 years old. The worst part was definitely the smell! We had to drive 20 minutes to a drugstore to buy various air freshners to make it tolerable. Overall, it seemed like the owners put no effort into maintaining this hotel and really don't care about the people staying there. The only reason they get any business is probably because there are very few hotels in the area. However, if you need a place to stay near colt's neck, there in a hampton inn about 15-20 min away in Neptune. We stayed there the night we arrived in the area, not realizing how horrible the colt's neck inn would be. The 15-20 min drive to the hampton is well worth it to not have to stay in this awful place.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank missyh113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    10
    9
    15
See reviews for
15
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone because it is very charming and quaint-Great place to go and relax. Also the staff is very nice especially Courtney, Grace, Karen, and the gentleman at the front desk!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Colts Neck Inn is a wonderfully charming place to stay! If you’re looking for a quiet get away in the country I would definitely recommend it here. Living in the city for so long I almost forgot how serene and beautiful nature can be. The Hotel has a rustic ambience, great decor and a welcome home feel that is extended by the staff as well. Anything you need from directions to local information and attractions can be answered; all you have to do is ask for Grace, the hotel manager.

Room Tip: Our room had the most peaceful and relaxing tree right outside the window. It was awesome to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coppola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

There were nasty hairs in the bed so they gave us another room. Carpet felt dirty, bathroom nasty plastic with rusty shower fitting. Whole place smelled of damp. Room was dark - insufficient lighting. I have never stayed in a worse hotel during any trip to the USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colts Neck hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We just stayed at Colts Neck Inn for a night and would never go again. We booked for 2 adults and 1 child and all they offered when we arrived is a king bed for 3. Even after asking reception and room service they refused to set up an extra bed for our child.
The room was not clean (hair in the bed), the breakfast was just bagels on plastic plates, not even a table and chair! Whoever said the continental breakfast was great in a previous review is lying.
Finally the reception refused to book us a taxi - clearly a 'never go there again' experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We loved this place! For 125 dollars a night it was great. Rooms were very clean, nicely appointed and it was charming. Colts Neck has recently been remodled. It was quite nice and an incredible value for the money. The coffee was good and the continental breakfast was great.

We did a late check-in and arrive about midnight. Carol was at the front desk and she was incredible. We got 2 rooms that were ajoining due to having 3 kids in tow for an 8 AM lacrosse tournament. Carol was kind enough to print out mapquest directions to the field and slide them under our door while we slept . Additionally, due to our need for an early departure.... Carol had the continental breakfast set up an hour earlier for us. I feel like the staff went above and beyond the call of duty for us ! Everyone at Colts Neck Inn was incredibly friendly. When we come back to the area, this is the place we will stay for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmer Sands, Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

After a few bad experiences in motels on our visit to the USA this was just the medicine we needed. A beautiful place and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is in the colonial style and very impressive. I am so glad we stayed there. A special thanks to the front of house staff who made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: King size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colts Neck
5.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Red Bank - Middletown
7.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Radisson Hotel Freehold
#1 of 2 in Freehold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tinton Falls-Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hazlet Inn
7.0 mi away
Molly Pitcher Inn
Molly Pitcher Inn
#3 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colts Neck Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colts Neck Inn Hotel

Property: Colts Neck Inn Hotel
Address: 191 Route 537, Colts Neck, NJ 07722
Region: United States > New Jersey > Colts Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colts Neck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colts Neck Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colts Neck Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colts Neck Hotel Colts Neck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing