We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid B&B in wonderful surroundings”
Review of The RoseMary Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The RoseMary Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We (family with a teen) are not travellers staying very often in a B&B, in fact it has been only the second time but RoseMary Inn is really a B&B worth going to as it can rival many (luxurious) hotels we know of.
This B&B was opened about two years ago (before it was an old farmhouse). For the renovation only the best material was used. Five superb rooms – each decorated differently – and a very pleasant recreation area (amongst other rooms there was a self-service pantry with coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks as well as freshly baked cookies in late afternoon) resulted from this undertaking. RoseMary Inn is located in a rural and secluded area. On the grounds of the B&B there is a restful pond with a fountain, very nice to look at. Rooms can be booked directly on the very professional homepage of the inn. The hosts of this charming B&B (Elaine and Theo) are very warm and happy to be at your service.
Our room was called “Bender” (the only one where an extra bed can added) and was large and tastefully decorated. It had a comfortable bed, a spacious bathroom including a nice steam shower and pond view.
In the morning, a sumptuous and plentiful – daily changing – breakfast was served by Elaine and Theo, really a treat …
When you are looking for a fine, comfortable and quiet accommodation in the countryside near New York City (one and a half hours away) this is the perfect place to go!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2010

We spent two nights at the RoseMary Inn between Christmas and New Years looking to find some tranquility and quality time with each other in the middle of the hectic holiday season. The RoseMary Inn was the perfect destination. There are only five rooms, I think, so you can virtually be assured of an intimate atmosphere. The place is beautifully decorated with a lot of personal touches throughout including unique furniture and art pieces. You can show up with six bags like we did, or just pull off highway and check in if you like: the hosts, Theo and Elaine have stocked the pantry and cabinets with everything you could possibly need or might have forgot to make your stay easy and comfortable. Each room is well thought out with a unique atmosphere and style. We particularly enjoyed the Heiss room with its contemporary flair and awesome shower. The breakfast is wonderful; again with lots of thoughtful touches like locally tapped maple syrup. It was a good thing we were on the ski slopes all day because I needed to work off the three courses Elaine served. On the morning of the second day we got three inches of snow which made the grounds quite lovely. I could feel the stress just melting away as I read the paper in the living room with my glass of wine. Everything at the Rosemary Inn is first class, and the attention to detail that Theo and Elaine show in running the place is incredible. I use TripAdvisor a lot when I travel, and that is where I found this place. Trust me, the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor are right on the mark and describe the place well. It is cozy but not small. There are a lot of interesting antique pieces, but also many modern pieces and thoroughly modern conveniences. If you are looking for a great getaway in the Pocono region, you won’t want to miss this B&B Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We just got back from our visit to the charming RoseMary Inn. We had a special occasion to celebrate: our second anniversary, and we wanted something special. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place.

This little bed and breakfast is peaceful and cozy, and each room is decorated with a different theme and personality. There are only five rooms, but they range in space, decor and just plain ambiance from the modern to softly romantic. We chose the Bender room, which was large and comfortable, with a chaise lounge, steam shower, travertine bowl sink, bed and two overstuffed chairs in a sitting area by the largest window.

We had ordered a cheese platter and gifts, which were beautifully wrapped and waiting for us upon our arrival. The innkeepers, Theo and Elaine Nagelmakers, saw to our every need before we checked in, made us welcome and served breakfast each morning with details about every course and stories about the inn and the surrounding area. The breakfast was fresh, delicious and plentiful. When we praised the cookies that were left for us at night, Elaine gave us the recipe with a smile. From our table we could see the fresh herbs growing beside the building. Everything was natural and organic, from the food to the carefully-selected lotions and soaps.

There are books in the library detailing some area adventures including, skiing, the Lakota Wolf Preserve, hiking and birdwatching, and the grounds are well-maintained and beautiful. Great care goes into every detail.

It was a special occasion for us, and this lovely inn made it that much more wonderful, but with services ranging from high-speed internet to picnic lunches made to order, there isn't one occasion or need that goes unmet. We are not the types to rave about a place or event unless it is truly extraordinary, and the RoseMary Inn is just that.

If you plan on visiting New Jersey's Skylands region, call or check the website for a reservation. While you're there, talk to the innkeepers, learn about the history of the place, and enjoy. You will definitely not regret a moment of it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Rosemary Inn is a charming, Country-Home B&B, privately nestled in a tranquil setting, with lush panoramic view of the surrounding acreage, and is refreshingly different from the traditional Victorian-style B&B’s that are crammed into small-town neighborhoods.

The Rosemary Inn has a very professional and detailed Website, making it easy to check room availability & confirm on-line reservations, along with room photos, local area restaurants & activity information.

Innkeepers, Theo & Elaine Nagelmakers are genuinely warm, friendly & gracious hosts, they immediately make you feel as if you just ran away from home to stay at your favorite Aunt’s & Uncle’s house in the country.
We very much enjoyed their demur & professional hospitality.

The Rosemary Inn is like returning to a much simpler time, -a journey back to your youthful memories, and the mid-September weather there in Columbia NJ was absolutely perfect, it was a balmy & warm, -the perfect 'Indian Summer'
Every inch of the home is impressive, every attention detail is thoughtfully considered, from the interior décor, to the modern state-of the art lighting & security amenities, even a special needs accommodation for handicapped persons.
I especially appreciated all the attention to detail and thoughtful consideration for their guest’s safety & personal privacy

The modern features are whimsically camouflaged around enchanting old-country antique Chifferobe’s, Hutch’s & Armoire’s.
With very tasteful touches of elegance and home-style flare, as well as, some nice ‘top-end’ refinements like the Granite-topped wet-bar, specialty accent lights, spa-style bathtubs, and glassed-in showers (with double-headed shower faucets)
The self-serve Butler's pantry was loaded with healthy snacks & soft drinks, and includes a Keurig Café Barista with a plentiful selection of International coffees.

My guest & I found the Library (Sitting room) to be especially comfortable, with its Bay Front window that overlooks the pond.
A room that you could easily spend an entire afternoon or evening, lazily chatting away, reading a magazine, or just staring out the window at all the natural serenity outside.
There is a view of the neighboring Horse property just across the creek, (visible from our breakfast nook) and the lofty canopy of the tall Pines and large Oaks casts a cool shady awning over the raised patio porch, -a perfect spot to sit and enjoy an afternoon cup of tea.

We were served us a delicious 3-course breakfast of Egg soufflé & Gouda Cheese infused sausages, fresh Melon wedges, Yogurt & Scones served with locally made fruit preserves of Huckleberry Jam and Peach Blush marmalade.
Housekeeping was friendly & helpful and kept the house immaculately well maintained, and even put ‘Dark-Chocolate candies’ on our pillow tops -nice romantic touch.

The Rosemary Inn is most definitely a 5-Star accommodation; it has all the creature comforts and modern conveniences of a 5-Star Hotel, but with very personal attention to your comfort.
The Rosemary Inn is definitely a 'Hidden Treasure’, and for the level of elegance, charm & hospitality, the Rosemary Inn should cost more, -but it was actually ideally affordable.
The Rosemary Inn is a wonderful place to pamper yourself with easy country-style living, -an ideal getaway spot for mature relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason63SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I did not expect such superlative accomodations , service and food quality at these prices. Have traveled to Europe and stayed at five star resorts that did not come close to the ambience and personal service that Theo and Elaine provided. I never expected to find such a hidden gem right in New Jersey. The blend of antique and modern furniture and the sheer pleasure the innkeepers have in serving your every need is a charming change of pace from the chain hotels. Wonderful romatic getaway surrounded by natural beauty. Don't miss this one even if you can stay for only one night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffy335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We just returned this afternoon from a 2 night stay at The RoseMary Inn. Our stay far exceeded our expectations! Theo and Elaine are such personable innkeepers and are more than wiling to share their stories about life, innkeeping, and their travels. The food was amazing (especially the macaroons!), our room was spotless and comfortable, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful, and the atmosphere of the inn is immediately welcoming and warm. We were drawn to The RoseMary Inn because it seemed more modern than the typical Victorian style B&Bs. You will not find any flowered wallpaper here and there are only 3 doilies in the entire inn! We were able to see 4 of the 5 rooms and each one had an amazing bathroom and a great view of either the pond and the front yard or the mountain of flowers out back. The history of the Inn is reflected all throughout the Inn. This was the most relaxing weekend we have had since our son was born a little over a year ago! We plan on returning with a group of friends in the near future. the RoseMary Inn is a hidden gem of pure perfection!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank magellanSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Perfect and very comfortable B&B in a very quiet location. We were going to a Blair academy reuniion in Blairstwon NJ and it was just a few miles down Rt 94. It was quiet, beautiful location and totally renovated. The shower was to die for. The breakfast was 100% homemade and filled me up until an early cocktails and dinner. If you forget anythingm they have it from toothpaste to razors to a toothbrush. The couple who own it are wonderful and helpful. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The RoseMary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RoseMary Inn

Address: 88 Hainesburg River Rd, Columbia, NJ 07832-2648
Region: United States > New Jersey > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax amid the pastoral rolling greenery of The RoseMary Inn. Delight in the simple elegance of nature as you stroll our seventeen acres. Explore the property’s nature trails or cuddle up with a good book within the rustic interweaving of the inn’s decor. Experience the luxury of a beautifully-designed private bath, fine linens, and a well-slept night. Gain insight into the innkeeper’s culinary heritage by partaking in a traditional European breakfast prepared fresh each day with ingredients from local farms. Breathe in the fresh country air, slow down for a bit, and allow nature to surround and comfort you. Welcome to the RoseMary Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing